We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Creme Brulee Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned from a very restful couple of days here. My husband and I had a room at the back so unfortunately no lovely view of the loch. It seems to be policy if your room doesn't have a loch view you get allocated a window seat in the restaurant - we very much appreciated this gesture.
The food is excellent - everything both restaurants served up was so tasty. A special mention has to go to the Lemon Curd Creme Brulee!!! The staff without exception were both friendly and efficient - nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is quirky with lots of varying decoration - I believe the owner travels a lot and probably are souveniers! Such a view!!

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel will give you an amazing view of the loch
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

……….” The staff without exception were both friendly and efficient - nothing was too much trouble”………. Dear Brulee Lover, many thanks for the great review. Have passed on your kind feedback to the Team, and am delighted to hear you enjoyed the individuality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
There are newer reviews for The Four Seasons Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were so lucky to have perfect weather for our2 night stay. The staff were, without exception, well trained, courteous and efficient. The view up the loch from our upgraded room was well worth the money. The breakfast buffet was exceptional for a comparatively small hotel and there was a more than adequate choice of cooked breakfasts. The evening dinner was something else! Absolute magic!! The bedroom was spacious ,clean, fresh and with the longest bath I have ever seen At 6ft 2 in, I was persuaded ( by my wife- not the management) to have a bath and play with the provided rubber duck for the first time in+65 years. Bliss!! Negatives:: the food was a tad expensive but it was cooked to order and , as I said, it was absolute magic. Perhaps, you get what you pay for!!Perhaps it was just me, feeling guilty for using an Itison voucher, but I found the proprietor Andrew a shade supercilious.Perhaps he should go on some of the training courses I suspect he sends his staff on. Having said that, he runs an exceptionally well organised hotel in a superb location for touring some of Scotland`s most spectacular scenery Would I recommend this hotel to others? 100% yes!!

Room Tip: It is well worth upgrading to a loch view room. It is there in the evening when you retire and it is...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Guest Relations Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

……….” The evening dinner was something else! Absolute magic!! The bedroom was spacious ,clean, fresh”………Thank you very much for taking the time to submit such a great review., and it is wonderful to hear that you so enjoyed your stay at the Four Seasons. Thank you also for recommending us. We are proposing to send Andrew on a training course over the winter (sadly, he is needed at the moment) He proposes a minimum of six months should suffice. Thank you once again for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for a 3 for 2 nights with breakfast and Dinner included in price. We picked a chalet as we had our young Westie, Brodie who was coming with us on his first holiday with us. On arrival we found a clean well spaced chalet (No 4) and the view up the Loch was impressive especially with the excellent weather.
Welcome shortbread for us and a big doggy biccy for Brodie. The food in the hotel was excellent and the different staff were all courteous and very attentive to any requests by us.
Loved how on both occasions we had a bar lunch the waitress brought a bowl of water and three biscuits for Brodie, oh and gave us our menus to choose our meals, priorities right according to Brodie.
Location cannot be beaten for scenery, wildlife and a lovely big Loch for Brodie to try and drink dry as he had his daily paddle which was needed due to the great spell of hot sunny weather.

Room Tip: Chalet 4 gives good view over Loch but is further up steep hill but you can drive down to the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

………” On arrival we found a clean well spaced chalet (No 4) and the view up the Loch was impressive especially with the excellent weather.”………Delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your great value three nights for two break with us. All the top chalets have good views and have the benefit of being a wee bit secluded. Look forward to welcoming your back for another great 342 Break soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

One night away with our 4 year old and one year old, stayed in one of the chalets at the back of the hotel, with a stunning view of the loch. Chalets themselves clean, comfortable, full of character, and the peaceful setting is hard to rival. We were made to feel very welcome, and even 2 lollipops left on kids beds! On a practical note for families, full size bath handy for bathing kids in ( useful for shower refuseniks) and the cute little bunk room had ample room for our travel cot for the little one. Breakfast was delicious, and staff were helpful in accomodating the wee ones too. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We emailed after booking to ask if we could have one of the higher chalets after reading other revie...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

………” Chalets themselves clean, comfortable, full of character, and the peaceful setting is hard to rival. We were made to feel very welcome”………Thank you very much for the great review. Very good to hear that you all enjoyed the Four Seasons Chalets. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our stay was short, only 1 night, but the experience was memorable. The Hotel is in a beautiful location and for us was an overnight stay before travelling further north. We stayed in one of the lodges behind the Hotel which was ideal and had lovely views. We ate in the bar so we could have our dog with us and the food was excellent.An extremely dog friendly hotel which also makes their owners very welcome!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

………” the food was excellent. An extremely dog friendly hotel which also makes their owners very welcome! “………Many thanks for taking the time to review, and lets hope you can plan a longer stay next time. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a two day break, dinner, bed and breakfast, at this hotel. It is set right on the shores of Loch Earn and our spacious, immaculate and dual aspect room overlooked the loch.

The food was amazing: breakfast included an array of fruit juices, cereals and a varied
selection of fresh and dried fruits and yoghurt to start with. This followed by full Scottish breakfast including the best black pudding I have ever tasted.

In the evening, the meal comprised five courses of exceptional quality. There was an extensive and high quality wine list.

The staff were friendly and efficient, and nothing was too much bother.

I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

………” In the evening, the meal comprised five courses of exceptional quality. There was an extensive and high quality wine list”……… Many thanks for the positive review and it is wonderful to hear that you so enjoyed your stay with us in so many ways,. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Why not book a bargain three nights for two on DBB, can only book this great deal direct. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The first thing to note about the Four Seasons is the beautiful setting directly facing the lake which allows the hotel to offer wonderful views from the bar and rooms/chalets. It is right beside the road but traffic was never particularly bad for that to be a concern. The location was a bit out of the way as we were on our way back to Glasgow but not too far that it added too much to our journey.

We booked one of the chalets which were located on the hill behind the hotel which meant that the view out of the main room was fantastic. The chalet itself was nice (although we were given a twin when we ordered a double) and well stocked with plenty of tea and homemade shortbread. The only major issue I had with it is that it absolutely stank of smoke. I know it would be incredibly difficult for the hotel to enforce no smoking in the chalets but maybe it should have been emphasised on check in (it was never mentioned to us when we checked in).

It definitely put a black mark against the hotel for me unfortunately as the food in the restaurant/bar was great for both dinner and breakfast and the service was good too. It is a shame as it was probably the nicest hotel we stayed in during our time in Scotland and a lovely setting in which to spend our last night.

Room Tip: We stayed in chalet 4 which was a twin (when we booked a double) and stank of smoke. Avoid if possi...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

..........” food in the restaurant/bar was great for both dinner and breakfast and the service was good too”.......... Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear you had an issue with the chalet smelling of smoke, it is a pity you did not alert us to this problem. Though we still by popular request have some smoking rooms, all the chalets are designated no smoking with relevant signage, but there is little we can do to enforce this though you deem us responsible for others inconsideration. I note you say you requested a double room. Often Reservation forms are double or twin, thought as you stayed in Chalet 4, I am unable to see the issue as it a double bedded chalet with a great view. Good to hear that you otherwise enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Fillans
0.1 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
7.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
433 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
803 reviews
19.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
21.5 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Four Seasons Hotel

Address: | Lochside, St Fillans PH62NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St Fillans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Price Range: £116 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Earn, offering complimentary WI-FI and free parking, this hotel is surrounded by breath-taking scenery of the Scottish Highlands.The Four Seasons was built in the early 1800s and was converted into a hotel in the 1900s.The hotel is cosy, comfortable and well-presented with unique furnishings, with warm colours and light creating a fun and relaxed atmosphere for guests. Views across the Loch are ever-changing throughout the seasons: fresh new colours of spring, long, light summer's evenings, spectacular sunsets to the west, morning mists shrouding the loch and the snow covered Bens, making this one of the most beautiful locations in Scotland to visit. The 12 bedrooms are all en-suite and individually styled and spacious, with hairdryer, colour TV, direct dial telephone, radio/CD player and tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms over-looking the Loch boast picturesque views whatever the weather. There are 6 chalets situated within a secluded hillside behind the hotel with double/twin beds and a bunk room for two, all have the same amenities as the rooms within the hotel. For an extra special stay we have our elegant 4 poster rooms for that bit of added luxury.For an extra special stay we have our elegant 4 poster rooms for that bit of added luxury. The Four Seasons has a choice of two restaurants, the stylish Meall Reamhar offers fine dining (evenings only) serving a contemporary Scottish cuisine, consisting of fresh fish, Scottish beef and lamb, and locally grown vegetables. The Tarken Bistro offers the same standard of cuisine in a more informal setting, providing light lunches, blackboard specials and suppers. A range of fine wines, champagne and whisky are available; enjoy a cool glass of Chablis on a summer's evening or malt by the warmth of the log fire in autumn! The hotel is the perfect location for that special occasion whether it is a traditional dinner party, birthday or wedding. Facilities for business meetings and conferences are available for up to 70 delegates. The location of the hotel makes it the perfect place to explore and admire the natural beauty of the Scottish highlands. Enjoy great dog walks in some of Scotland's finest scenery. The resident friendly canines welcome fellow pets free of charge. The beautiful village of St. Fillans has a 9-hole golf course and offers water sports, hill walking and fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons St Fillans
Four Seasons Hotel
St. Fillans Four Seasons
The Four Seasons Hotel St Fillans, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing