We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mid-week break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“mid-week break”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Beautiful location and otherwise good break, spoiled by Manager who agreed to reduce bill for room problem, saying he would deduct amount from cleaning staff. Nominate "mean manager of the month"!
Restaurant and all other staff very nice and helpful but policy of assigning to same table for whole of stay meant no chance of getting window table with view, even though tables may be unoccupied. Hotel was not near full during our staying.

Room Tip: If getting "room at front", check if it has a view of the Loch, or is it actually room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
……….” Restaurant and all other staff very nice and helpful”……….Many thanks for your review and feedback. Re the room problem it seems a pity that you did not point this out at the time, and allow us to remedy it. Table allocations are always an issue and we try to be reasonable, especially to our regular guests on full rate who therefore have the highest expectations. In closing I can’t see “loch view requested” on your reservation form so if this was requested at the time of booking then please accept my apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    214
    61
    35
    31
See reviews for
135
568
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just spent the week at The Four Seasons and again it's been fine (we've been four or five times now). We now have rooms we "prefer" (and ask for them) and the view to wake up and go to sleep to is awesome; looking west up the full length of Loch Earn. Staff are friendly, location is hard to beat, food is good (breakfasts are ace). We tend to go B&B and eat in in the Tarken Bar rather than the full DB&B "fine dining" stuff (which I'm sure is fine too).

St Fillans itself is very quiet so if you want to drop out the rat race for a few days and do hee haw then it's recommended. If you want to do the hill walking, water sporty stuff, etc too then obviously that's there and as a centre to explore the surrounding area it's ideal.

It'll be 50 years this year since The Beatles stayed there too.

Room Tip: Basically get one facing the loch and you'll be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
………” Just spent the week at The Four Seasons and again it's been fine (we've been four or five times now)”……… Many thanks for taking the time to review, most heartening to hear such compliments from regular guests. W look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I'm Suzy the Westie and my age is uncertain but I had a great stay at this hotel and didn't feel like i was a nuisance at all!! I got my own welcome letter with a few ground rules and best of all a big bonio biscuit! All the staff were really friendly and helpful and understood that I'm quite shy but made an effort to speak to me. My 2 people companions also thought the hotel was really nice and the Bistro where they ate twice had lovely food - although rather a long wait on the second night for their order - 45 minutes - and only 2 tables occupied. Breakfast was also a treat and the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon was excellent they tell me!
They cater for special diets like gluten free too and the menu makes this clear so theres no problem when ordering. Get a front room to have the superb loch view - we were at the back but could enjoy the view from the dining room.

Room Tip: Room 22 looks out the back to the chalets which look down on the hotel - blinds need to be down for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Guest Relations Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
………..” my age is uncertain but I had a great stay at this hotel and didn't feel like I was a nuisance2………Way to go Suzie, and thank you for giving the instructions to you two legged charges. Sorry about the wait in the Bistro, this can sometimes happen bearing in mind we do have two restaurants within the hotel. Always do book a loch view, and how about a great value three nights for two in dbb…a great bargain. Kind regards from Sham and Pagne, the K9 Reservation Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were touring Scotland seeing family and friends, and chose the hotel for location on the side of Loch Earn, what a brilliant choice it was, rooms were comfortable, but food was exceptional only to be beaten by the best half bottle wine list I have ever seen, covering a full range of pockets

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romantic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Director of Sales at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
……….” but food was exceptional only to be beaten by the best half bottle”………Many thanks for the great feedback, and delighted to hear that you enjoyed one of our best kept secret .. the wine list. I could go lyrical on this, but suffice to say beyond the half bottle list is a serious list of mostly clarets (no apologies there) at some truly bargain prices, (less than shop prices)…the way to go !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strichen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned from a very restful couple of days here. My husband and I had a room at the back so unfortunately no lovely view of the loch. It seems to be policy if your room doesn't have a loch view you get allocated a window seat in the restaurant - we very much appreciated this gesture.
The food is excellent - everything both restaurants served up was so tasty. A special mention has to go to the Lemon Curd Creme Brulee!!! The staff without exception were both friendly and efficient - nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is quirky with lots of varying decoration - I believe the owner travels a lot and probably are souveniers! Such a view!!

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel will give you an amazing view of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
……….” The staff without exception were both friendly and efficient - nothing was too much trouble”………. Dear Brulee Lover, many thanks for the great review. Have passed on your kind feedback to the Team, and am delighted to hear you enjoyed the individuality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were so lucky to have perfect weather for our2 night stay. The staff were, without exception, well trained, courteous and efficient. The view up the loch from our upgraded room was well worth the money. The breakfast buffet was exceptional for a comparatively small hotel and there was a more than adequate choice of cooked breakfasts. The evening dinner was something else! Absolute magic!! The bedroom was spacious ,clean, fresh and with the longest bath I have ever seen At 6ft 2 in, I was persuaded ( by my wife- not the management) to have a bath and play with the provided rubber duck for the first time in+65 years. Bliss!! Negatives:: the food was a tad expensive but it was cooked to order and , as I said, it was absolute magic. Perhaps, you get what you pay for!!Perhaps it was just me, feeling guilty for using an Itison voucher, but I found the proprietor Andrew a shade supercilious.Perhaps he should go on some of the training courses I suspect he sends his staff on. Having said that, he runs an exceptionally well organised hotel in a superb location for touring some of Scotland`s most spectacular scenery Would I recommend this hotel to others? 100% yes!!

Room Tip: It is well worth upgrading to a loch view room. It is there in the evening when you retire and it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Guest Relations Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
……….” The evening dinner was something else! Absolute magic!! The bedroom was spacious ,clean, fresh”………Thank you very much for taking the time to submit such a great review., and it is wonderful to hear that you so enjoyed your stay at the Four Seasons. Thank you also for recommending us. We are proposing to send Andrew on a training course over the winter (sadly, he is needed at the moment) He proposes a minimum of six months should suffice. Thank you once again for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for a 3 for 2 nights with breakfast and Dinner included in price. We picked a chalet as we had our young Westie, Brodie who was coming with us on his first holiday with us. On arrival we found a clean well spaced chalet (No 4) and the view up the Loch was impressive especially with the excellent weather.
Welcome shortbread for us and a big doggy biccy for Brodie. The food in the hotel was excellent and the different staff were all courteous and very attentive to any requests by us.
Loved how on both occasions we had a bar lunch the waitress brought a bowl of water and three biscuits for Brodie, oh and gave us our menus to choose our meals, priorities right according to Brodie.
Location cannot be beaten for scenery, wildlife and a lovely big Loch for Brodie to try and drink dry as he had his daily paddle which was needed due to the great spell of hot sunny weather.

Room Tip: Chalet 4 gives good view over Loch but is further up steep hill but you can drive down to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoatthe, Manager at The Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
………” On arrival we found a clean well spaced chalet (No 4) and the view up the Loch was impressive especially with the excellent weather.”………Delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your great value three nights for two break with us. All the top chalets have good views and have the benefit of being a wee bit secluded. Look forward to welcoming your back for another great 342 Break soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Fillans
0.1 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
7.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
11.1 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Four Seasons Hotel

Property: The Four Seasons Hotel
Address: | Lochside, St Fillans PH62NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > St Fillans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St Fillans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Loch Earn, offering complimentary WI-FI and free parking, this hotel is surrounded by breath-taking scenery of the Scottish Highlands.The Four Seasons was built in the early 1800s and was converted into a hotel in the 1900s.The hotel is cosy, comfortable and well-presented with unique furnishings, with warm colours and light creating a fun and relaxed atmosphere for guests. Views across the Loch are ever-changing throughout the seasons: fresh new colours of spring, long, light summer's evenings, spectacular sunsets to the west, morning mists shrouding the loch and the snow covered Bens, making this one of the most beautiful locations in Scotland to visit. The 12 bedrooms are all en-suite and individually styled and spacious, with hairdryer, colour TV, direct dial telephone, radio/CD player and tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms over-looking the Loch boast picturesque views whatever the weather. There are 6 chalets situated within a secluded hillside behind the hotel with double/twin beds and a bunk room for two, all have the same amenities as the rooms within the hotel. For an extra special stay we have our elegant 4 poster rooms for that bit of added luxury.For an extra special stay we have our elegant 4 poster rooms for that bit of added luxury. The Four Seasons has a choice of two restaurants, the stylish Meall Reamhar offers fine dining (evenings only) serving a contemporary Scottish cuisine, consisting of fresh fish, Scottish beef and lamb, and locally grown vegetables. The Tarken Bistro offers the same standard of cuisine in a more informal setting, providing light lunches, blackboard specials and suppers. A range of fine wines, champagne and whisky are available; enjoy a cool glass of Chablis on a summer's evening or malt by the warmth of the log fire in autumn! The hotel is the perfect location for that special occasion whether it is a traditional dinner party, birthday or wedding. Facilities for business meetings and conferences are available for up to 70 delegates. The location of the hotel makes it the perfect place to explore and admire the natural beauty of the Scottish highlands. Enjoy great dog walks in some of Scotland's finest scenery. The resident friendly canines welcome fellow pets free of charge. The beautiful village of St. Fillans has a 9-hole golf course and offers water sports, hill walking and fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons St Fillans
Four Seasons Hotel
St. Fillans Four Seasons
The Four Seasons Hotel St Fillans, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing