We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smile... Please?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Tony Romas - CLOSED

Tony Romas
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smile... Please?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Visited after going to the cinema as I had a hankering for ribs, and have dined here before and enjoyed. The staff seemed miserable, and we had to ask, 20 minutes after being seated if we could place a drinks order! Another 5 minutes later..... Anyway. Our dinners arrived, the waitress plonked the plates down and wandered off while we had to call her back for cutlery... We got filthy cutlery so had to clean ourselves on the napkin. I'd have loved mayo for my fries but nobody was near enough to flag down, and nobody came to ask if everything ok. Not once did we see any waiter smile at all. The manager kept himself busy reading the comments cards behind the bar and wandering around with the card machine. Exceptionally disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redandwhiteroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    69
    42
    45
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slow service, wrong order, and cold food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our second visit here and probably our last.
Service was poor and one of the orders was forgotten!!
10 of us were here for a birthday treat and it was disappointing-- when the food arrived it was cold and despite the place not being busy the service was slow.
Avoid overpriced food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NanaandPapa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good ribs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited here recently whilst in Soar. Restaurant was clean and staff were very friendly. We ordered food from the 2 course for £11.99 menu. I had the ribs which were delicious, my partner had a chicken salad which she also enjoyed. Overall excellent meal and pretty good value. If you like ribs then I don't think you'd go wrong if you stopped here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank de18oy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Ate in here last night after seeing a film, really wish we hadn't bothered. The service was good - friendly staff. But really that's the only good point. The tables were really sticky, the food was bland, cold, lacking any flavour, and for two main courses and 2 soft drinks the bill came to £35. Not good value at all. I would not recommend this place.
I had a chicken burger, bun was soggy, bacon was fatty, chips were cold. My boyfriend had pasta with Italian sausage and hardly touched it. Not appealing.
You don't go into a place like this expecting fine dining, but for the prices they charge; it's a total rip off.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L_hendo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best ribs in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Superb food at a reasonable price excellent service in clean and modern surroundings ....
What more can you say ...if you like steak and ribs you can't go wrong

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigHarry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tony Romas also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Renfrew, Renfrewshire
 
Renfrew, Renfrewshire
Renfrew, Renfrewshire
 
Renfrew, Renfrewshire
Renfrew, Renfrewshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing