We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK overnight stop”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here on return from 5* plus stay in Madeira (welcome home to Scotland!!).
Not really a bad hotel, but somewhat 'run on a shoestring'. One of our reasons for staying here was the promise of a dinner, and it was very reasonably priced and the steak was very acceptable. Next morning, the same staff were serving breakfast as had been on duty the night before, but they were very amenable. Overall Ok for one night, but not a hotel to choose to stay longer. In fairness to the staff, every question was answered correctly and efficiently, and the service was very acceptable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,621 - 1,627 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here last Friday as part of a airport hotel package. To be honest it did everything it said on the tin. Reception very good ,bar and restaurant staff very good and the young guy who did transfers excellent . Would be happy to recommend ,and hopefully use again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank primax125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Once again a value for money deal. Clean comfortable room. Good choice at breakfast and friendly and helpful staff. Fast and reliable service to airport. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for your feed back in regards to your stay at the hotel.

We strive to deliver the best to all out guests are we are delighted we did so on this occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

regards


Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My partner and I booked the hotel through a deal on Superbreaks mainly for the airport parking and shuttle bus to and from the airport.

We arrived around 6.30 we were checked in quickly and efficiently and after dropping our suitcases in the room we went down to the bar area for a drink and ordered some food- all i can say is If you are staying here steer clear of the bar food, my partner and I had a pizza each and some chips, the pizza was like cardboard and tasted disgusting and the chips cost £2.50 for a tiny little cup!

After our dinner we went to the transfer desk to hand our keys in and were told by the hotel receptionist that the driver was out on hotel business but she would give us a ring when he was back, nearly half an hour later we looked out the window and happened to see the bus so my partner went down, the receptionist hadn't called at all which was a bit frustrating as it meant we couldn't relax for the night.

The hotel room itself was fine, the room was small but for one night wasn't bad and was clean with a working TV which after reading some of the other reviews I understand was a problem for some people.

Our night was quiet and didn't hear any noise but we did stay on a Monday night, when we got our transfer from the hotel to the airport the driver was very nice and made good conversation and pointed out the bus stop that we would be picked up at.

When we arrived back from our holiday at Glasgow airport we tried calling the numbers on the transfer form to get picked up but there was no answer, after trying to get through for a further 10 mins during which time we walked to the bus stop where we were supposed to be picked up, the hotel reception answered the phone and said that she would send a taxi and we were to go to the holiday inn across the road from the airport.

The taxi took a further 15 minutes to arrive during which time a group of us had formed and were all waiting to be taken back to the Normandy. I assumed that the minibus was out of action and thats why they had to send taxis but when we arrived back at the hotel there were 2 minibuses sitting outside reception and when we went to our car the minibus that took us to the airport initially was parked next to our car! Not impressed at all! After getting our keys from reception all the girl said was- your car is parked round the side! No mention of where so we just had to walk around pressing our keys until we spotted our car!

Getting out of the car park was a nightmare, there is minimal lighting and the cars were parked too close together, as this is used as an airport carpark facility its something they defiantly need to sort out!

I wouldn't stay here again, if i was taking the deal again I would chose another hotel and hopefully avoid having to stand in the rain waiting for a taxi!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for your feedback and have taken note of your comments.

We would like to point out that the hotel has an extensive service and refurbishment project planned for 2014 and wish to advise you that we take any feedback on board to constantly review out product and services.

regards

Karin Rock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here twice in Dec. 2013 and never will do so again. Thomson booked the hotel for us it was their recommendation!! We arrived to a friendly reception and helpful advice about parking. The room was 'bijou and compact', hardly room for us and out luggage. there was noise from the next room, whether that was the occupants talking or the TV hard to tell. We were scheduled to leave th hotel at 3 am next morning. My 6 ft husband as too long for the bed and we just fitted on the bed. At 1 am ish we were awoken by partygoers (Ikea) knocking on other doors, why put people who are leaving early next to partygoers (this seems a pattern when I read other reviews)? Next morning the night porter was a sullen chappy who did not ask if we'd had a good night. The shuttlebus driver was cheery 2 minutes down the road he discovered he had no diesel and we had to return.
On our return trip I was told when I phoned 'oh you'll have to wait I have to go twice there are so many of you!!!' Planning not a strength at this hotel. We did get on the bus and we had bought suitable clothing for our return. Reception was friendly again and we were asked if we had enjoyed our holiday. Our night was marginally better, still noise from adjacent room, no party. Towels by the way are really nice. We had breakfast at the hotel, very basic, but hot. The restaurant was filled by a crowd of young Japanese travellers who with their suitcases crowded into the room creating an obstacle course for other guests. We were amazed when the lovely lady who had been frying eggs came to us for a moan about these guests!
Never again.

Room Tip: Don't even go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieO060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for your feedback and have taken note of your comments.

We would like to point out that the hotel has an extensive service and refurbishment project planned for 2014 and wish to advise you that we take any feedback on board to constantly review our product and services.

Regards

Karin Rock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stay here a fly and stay package for my wife and daughter (5) and my inlaws on a Sat night. This was the worst night sleep I have ever had. There was a party night on and when the music stopped the partying went on in the rooms with people prowling between rooms all night even when we left at 4.30 am they we still at it. I complained at reception in the morning about this and got a card to fill in and invited that the manager call me to discuss and left my contact details but alas I have heard nothing. Is this there standard not to attempt to resolve a problem. I have nothing against people partying but this does not mix with people wanting a good nights sleep and that is poor management to think otherwise.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for your feed back.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

Can I please ask that you write to me directly.

regards


Karin Rock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Never again. arrived back into ggw called for bus back to hotel to collect my car. No response for abt ten mins so called the hotel to be told the bus was unavailable and they would send taxis which didnt arrive for abt twenty mins!! freezing cold night and there was a baby and two disabled people also waiting. Their only comp a cup of coffee!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sooocold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to apologise for the delay in your transfer back to the hotel.

We do hope you will consider staying with us again as we strive to deliver the best to all out guest.

regards

Karin Rock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.1 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Braehead
2.9 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,414 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: Inchinnan Road | 0.5 miles from Glasgow International Airport, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range: £30 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located next to the River Cart in Renfrew, 2 minutes from Glasgow airport. Secure Parking for over 800 vehicles on site.All covered with security fencing ,CCTV and manned patrols. Courtesy transport to and from Glasgow Airport & Award winning "Steaks N Stuff" restaurant. Full free Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel bedrooms and meeting rooms.Natural Heritage site located within the grounds of the hotel and 5 minutes drive from X-scsape leisure centre & Braehead shopping Mall.Ample facilities for wedding events,private functions,meeting rooms and complimentary tickets to partner Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Renfrew, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing