We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night including a week’s car parking whilst on holiday in Egypt. I had read quite a few bad reviews about this hotel concerning small rooms and poor fare in the restaurant, as well as complications regarding long delays with return shuttle transfers. However, against my better judgement I went ahead and booked the Hotel.
On arrival, check-in was adequate; the room was tiny but would suffice for one night. My girlfriend and I ate out at the nearby Braehead Centre. The following morning the shuttle to the Airport was trouble free and my worst fears were allayed.

Then the ‘Nightmare’ began!
On our return to Glasgow Airport I phoned the numbers provided to request the shuttle bus back to the hotel to collect our car. The first call went unanswered and went to voice-mail, where I left a message of our arrival. I then phoned the hotel and the receptionist replied that the bus was on its way. We stood in the cold and rain for 30 mins and our transfer never appeared. I phoned back the hotel and spoke with the same receptionist who informed me that they were very busy but assured me that our transfer bus would be with us very soon! It was a further 40 mins before our transport turned up. I complained to the driver who informed me that he was the only driver working that night and that he was covering 2 hotels. He showed me his mobile phone with over 30 unanswered calls and messages and said he was too busy to answer his phone.
On arrival at the hotel I was ‘not best pleased’ with being left in the cold & rain for over an hour and asked to speak to the manager. I pointed out to the manager (Julie Nicol) that my main concern was being left standing outside the airport for over an hour, whereas if I could have been giving a specified time on our pick-up or a return call to my mobile that the shuttle was imminent, we could have sat inside the airport with a coffee and kept warm. The manager then went on to blame the driver, then the receptionist (who scuttled away embarrassed), anybody but herself!!!
Excuse me, but does not the whole blame fall at the manager’s feet?
The manager then offered me her card and promised as a gesture of ‘goodwill’, that if I was to stay at the hotel again in the future she would offer a compensated rate.

Recently, I e-mailed the same manager to take up her offer as I was planning a 2 night trip to Glasgow. A week went by and no reply was received. I then e-mailed the sales team at the hotel two weeks ago and am still awaiting a response.
Does the Management of this Hotel care anything about ‘Customer Service’?
It seems evident they do not.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santanaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    564
    387
    213
    231
See reviews for
313
948
73
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The rooms allocated were not ones we booked, Travel cot placed just inside doorway as this only place it would fit. Fire H/S issue. Offered to move 1 set of us with cot - alternative room bigger but only 1 socket - placed behind bedside cabinet!! had to boil kettle, bottle warmer on floor!! Room shabby, bathroom door handle fell off. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Renfrew hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I am a frequent visitor to the Normandy due to its handiness for glasgow airport. Generally always book through travel republic for the best rate. Restaurant steakhouse does a fine menu with good service and simple breakfast if required.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you taking the time to review our Hotel.

All comments will be passed to all the Team.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon

regards

Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We got what I think is a great deal on an overnight stay and a weeks parking for the car including 10 minute transfers each way. I think it was £96.00 for 4 People. (2 rooms) The rooms are small, if I'd swung a cat round it would have hit all 4 walls but to be honest it was perfectly adequate. The restaurant exceeded our expectations, nicely cooked and presented and reasonably priced. We would certainly stay in this hotel again if we fly from Glasgow airport.

Room Tip: Don't know really except that there is a function room on the front which may be a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alethings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear guest

We thank you for your recent feed back in regards to your stay at the Normandy Hotel.

We will pass all comments on to all our management team.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

regards

Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

we stayed here on a package deal before flying out
on holiday the next day. with dinner--breakfast and
15 days parking included... good all round hotel for
a relaxing stay before going on holiday in sept 2013
and booked again for may this year

Room Tip: book early to avoid disapointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your feed back in regards to your recent stay.

We strive to deliver the best customer service to all our guests and we are delighted to have done so on this occassion.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

regards

Karin
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We arrived on 12th September, 2013 at 6:15 p.m. Although we had pre booked and prepaid for our hotel room, we were told that there were no rooms available. We HAD booked a twin share room and paid for it 3 months earlier. After a while were given a room and on unlocking the door found it ALREADY OCCUPIED. Back to the lounge. We were then given a very small single room so back to the lounge. Staff suggested an extra bed but you would have had to have hung it from the ceiling to get it in. Waited and waited and waited. Offered a drink, I chose a cup of tea. At 8:30 p.m. finally got the twin share room we had arranged PLUS an extra fold up bed. Linen left a lot to be desired, in fact a hand towel looked like it had been used to polish shoes with. Even the sheets didn't feel clean. We decided that we would not take advantage of their dining room after the service we were given so went to a local supermarket to buy our tea and breakfast. Had just parked in the parking area when a tour bus pulled in on the left hand side not far from the main entrance. Just after we walked past the bus, there was a strange noise - it was the bus driver emptying the toilet in the parking area. Next morning a card was completed noting our disappointment, considering this was supposed to be a 3 star hotel. I took a towel with me when we checked out but the lady behind the desk showed no interest whatsoever. We stayed in 30 hotels during out trip around the UK and that was by far the worst.

Room Tip: Try to ensure that you are not above an area where functions are being held.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Attending my granddaughters 'hen night, at the age of 71, I first of all was very pleased with our room, it was an adequate size and I slept very comfortable. The meal at the Tribute Night could not be faulted. Compliments to chef. The service of the waiters and waitresses and rest of staff was excellent, each one very friend. The evening from beginning to end was great with the music catering for all ages. Buffet breakfast in the morning also couldn't be faulted. Very good choice and quality of items.Hoping to return very soon. Would certainly recommend it for all ages.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Front Office Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you kindly for your recent feedback in regards to your stay at the hotel.

We strive to deliver the best to all our guests and we are delighted we have done so on thsi occassion.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

regards


Karin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.1 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
2.9 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Property: Normandy Hotel
Address: Inchinnan Road, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located next to the River Cart in Renfrew, 2 minutes from Glasgow airport. Secure Parking for over 800 vehicles on site.All covered with security fencing ,CCTV and manned patrols. Courtesy transport to and from Glasgow Airport & Award winning "Steaks N Stuff" restaurant. Full free Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel bedrooms and meeting rooms.Natural Heritage site located within the grounds of the hotel and 5 minutes drive from X-scsape leisure centre & Braehead shopping Mall.Ample facilities for wedding events,private functions,meeting rooms and complimentary tickets to partner Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Renfrew, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing