We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for Commonwealth Games”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here during our 4 night trip to Glasgow for the Commonwealth Games and we had a good stay.

The location of the hotel to the airport is fantastic as it's only around a 5 minuet drive away. However, the location to Glasgow city centre isn't ideal. It was around a 45 minuet bus journey into the city but an advantage is that there is a bus stop directly outside the hotel and bus number 23 will take you into the city. Alternatively, a taxi will take around 25 minuets (theses are times during the games so I'd imagine it's slightly slower due to traffic compared to normal times).

The hotel itself is average. The corridors and rooms are clean and tidy but are in desperate need of new furnishing/décor/carpets as they do look rather tatty. However, as I said the rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds were very comfy, the bathroom was big and had both a bath and shower, there were tea/coffee making facilities and TVs. Only downside is noise from the airport but there didn't seem to be planes in the night just late and early hours which woke my mum up on occasion, but it is an airport hotel.

The restaurant downstairs was fantastic. We had 3 breakfasts at the hotel which were great value, had plenty of options and very nice. Items available included;

- Tea/Coffee
- Juices
- Cereals
- Pastries like Croissants
- Muffins
- Meats
- Cheeses
- Toast
- Full Scottish breakfast including; Sausage meat, Sausages, Bacon, Tomatoes, Eggs, Beans, Hash browns, Black pudding ect

Evening meals also very nice, plenty of options and good value including Steaks, Chicken, Curries, Fish ect

The staff are also fantastic at the hotel. They were all very helpful and friendly. Kirsty in reception was great - we practically quizzed her on arrival about various things in Glasgow and she was very helpful. Also Mac, Jackie and Hannah in the restaurant were all fantastic with great personalities and very good service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Julie Nicol, Operations Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Joanna, we appreciate very much your insight into your stay with us. We are, at this present period in time, in the process of investing substantial time and money in refurbishments with the view to enhancing our existing qualities. The Management and staff would like to thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,499 - 1,505 of 2,188 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

stayed night before flying very happy with our twin room good size plenty of room , good view of planes coming in but good sound proof didn't hear anything when the windows were shut. had a meal at night was very good and very reasonable and child ate 3 courses if he wanted free he had 2 and enjoyed it .breakfast was buffet style and very good also. only small gripe was waiting on bus from airport did text no response waited 15 mins then phoned said they would be 5 mins but was another 15 was ok but would think they know your flight times and when planes come in so should be there just after, not a big gripe but with young child who just wanted to get going was a little annoying

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank roccoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Julie Nicol, Operations Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Rocco, thank you for your comments about your stay, we always strive to deliver a first class service at The Normandy. We have currently introduced a new computer system for our pick up and transfer buses which are free of charge to all our guests.The management and staff hope this unfortunate occurance does not prevent you experiencing The Normandy in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is one of the few hotels that did not put up their prices during the commonwealth games well done. The staff were friendly and helpful. In particular the waitress in the resturant who was on her own due to a no show and she managed to still talk to guest and make people welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank proudtobescottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Julie Nicol, Operations Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear guest, thank you for your kind words, they are appreciated very much by all management and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The night itself was fine ! However I paid £25 for a MEAL I am vegetarian I was served a small soup bowl with a handful of pasta in a tasteless cheese sauce covered with withered rocket salad and a small slice of garlic bread stuck at the side. This could not ever in my opinion be called a main course as part of a three course meal. You really need to look at and improve your menu. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marjorie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Julie Nicol, Operations Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Marjorie, we apologise that the vegetarian meal that was served to you was not up to your expectations. We have taken your comments on board and passed them onto our Executive chef's who will look at improving the menu for people with specific dietry requirements. We look forward to seeing you again at another one of our No.1 Tribute events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Went to the tribute night last night, it was one of the hottest days of this year so far. when I walked in you could feel a cool breeze off the air-con . When entering the room where the dirty dancing was to be held the heat was stifling, their were hundreds of women there for hen parties and the heat was unbearable. many of the women were complaining when I was in the loo saying they had complained to the stewards about the lack of air con, only to be told it wasn't working? Or they only had air con in the kitchen, many women spent most of their time outside. The whole place had been reduced to a sweat shop, would I go their again never . Also didn't have any bottled water sparkling or flat, so had to drink jugs of water all night, it made for a cheap night , but would have been nice to have some sparkling. It seems to be a stack them in pack them high kind of place. There were 2 large doors open but even that wasn't enough , so come on Normandy get your air con fixed or get a new one , show a little consideration for the well being of your paying customers !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Julie Nicol, Operations Manager at Normandy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Betty, we appreciate all your comments regarding the heat at one of our recent fabulous party nights. Due to unprecedented weather which was out of our control, our air-conditioning system was unable to cope with these record temperatures. Our plan in the near future is to install a superior system. We hope that this does not prevent you experiencing another of our tribute events in the future. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Went last night for my daughters Hen Night !
When we arrived and went into the function suite there where hundreds of people already seated, there where loads of hen nights taking place along with some birthdays etc. Far too many !
The hall looked great and the tables all set looking fantastic ! but the heat would have killed you in that function suite !!
Glasgow temperature was 28 degrees on arrival I at least expected air conditioning in a hotels function suit, how wrong was I !!
It was hell on earth to sit in that suite with no air conditioning especially in the heat wave that Glasgow is experiencing right now. Don't get me wrong I love the weather we are having but to cram hundreds of people into a hall with no Air Con is an utter disgrace !!
Hundreds of people sitting fanning themselves with bits of paper from the table for advertising just trying to get a bit of air is no joke.
Not to mention the bar prices ! They are a disgrace for two vodkas and coke it was £8 a bottle of Koperberg cider is £5, two glasses of lemonade and a half pint of lager was over £5 ! Shocking the price of drink, so if your going to any function you better have plenty of cash !!
The meal was served, it was a set menu of soup to start (28 degrees) chicken bacon in a leak sauce with veg roast potatoes and boiled (scorching hot) and cheesecake ( mine actually melted into a puddle) it was that hot, the alternative was a pasta (vegetarian) this was also scorching hot. But it was really nice I enjoyed the pasta.
The Dirty dancing tribute act was ok, nothing spectacular to be honest.
I can't say I enjoyed myself at all and I wouldn't be alone on my feelings, how can there be any enjoyment sitting melting without a breath of air !!
On a whole I would never go back to this place ever !
They don't mind taking your money but no air con in that heat with so many body's in one room us just NOT ON !! So anyone going here in the upcoming days or weeks beware the heat inside is serious !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JaniceMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed overnight waiting for connecting flights free. Shuttle to and from airport. Good value for money and average rooms Did not have anything to eat there so can't comment on the food. Only problem had great difficulty with the electronic door locks but was told they were being replaced

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tom-sue-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.1 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Airport
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Braehead
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
2.9 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Address: Inchinnan Road | 0.5 miles from Glasgow International Airport, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range: £32 - £795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located next to the River Cart in Renfrew, 2 minutes from Glasgow airport. Secure Parking for over 800 vehicles on site.All covered with security fencing ,CCTV and manned patrols. Courtesy transport to and from Glasgow Airport & Award winning "Steaks N Stuff" restaurant. Full free Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel bedrooms and meeting rooms.Natural Heritage site located within the grounds of the hotel and 5 minutes drive from X-scsape leisure centre & Braehead shopping Mall.Ample facilities for wedding events,private functions,meeting rooms and complimentary tickets to partner Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Renfrew, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing