We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at the Normandy ”
Review of Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Normandy Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
2 reviews
“My stay at the Normandy ”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed on the 18th june l was attending a conference for people we support at Quarriers was a good venue we thaned staff in our summing up but l would like to thank them again the hotel was very nice

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Operations Manager- Julie Nicol at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Caroline G,
Many thanks for your kind comments to our Conference and Banqueting department. We have four conference rooms for hire within the hotel to accommodate a wide variety of needs. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    608
    405
    218
    242
See reviews for
338
1,013
81
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel because of the excellent deal for long stay secure parking. 28 days parking, overnight accommodation before we flew, dinner and B and B and shuttle to and from airport all for under £150! The rooms are basic but clean and the bathrooms fine! The only point I would make is that if you are thinking about dining at the hotel, think about what you will eat! The deal for dinner was £17.50 per person! The menu is varied and you can actually dine for less than the £17.50 thus you will lose money as you have to pay for drinks over and above! There is a good bar snack menu where you can dine very reasonably. The shuttle bus was fully booked in the morning but the hotel arranged a taxi for us, brilliant service!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Operations Manager- Julie Nicol at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear gailm,
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay at The Normandy. In regards to your feedback for the restaurant menu I will discuss this matter with our chef's to ensure that we are continuing to provide quality cuisine with good value for money to all our guests. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We needed a hotel close to the airport for one night. The Normandy seemed perfect as it is close to the airport, has a shuttle, and was reasonably price. Well, I guess you get what you pay for...the rooms were clean but very small, uncomfortable beds, tube televisions(which I had no idea still existed) and just overall shabby. I will say the staff was friendly but just felt it was overpriced for what it was. And to top it off, someone pulled the fire alarm on us in the middle of the night.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Operations Manager- Julie Nicol at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Katie O,
I would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are at present spending substantial time and money in upgrading the furnishings and fittings within the bedrooms. Unfortunately we cannot foresee the fire alarm being activated and fire regulations stipulate we evacuate the hotel on every occasion. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Renfrew hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Brilliant hotel. I went to this hotel for a hen night with a friend as part of a group from Edinburgh. When we arrived the check in was swift and efficient and as we were a big group very straight forward. Our room was on the first floor and was quite basic and small but there was everything you needed and the bathroom was clean and tidy with nice fluffy towels. Our friends room was on the second floor and was in slightly better condition a little bigger and had a flat screen tv (ours was a box portable with only one channel working). We were not there for the TV.
The evening was a tribute night to Michael Buble and what a night we had. The DJ was brilliant keeping everyone going with great music and games to entertain us. When the food came it was for a large number of people about 250+. It was hot and very good and served with precision. The room was served and cleared and the evening entertainment was brill.
The breakfast was great good coffee lots of choice and again great staff. The shower in the room was good pressure and hot not like a drippy tap at all.
I would definitely come back here for a similar night out and think that although it may look a little tired in parts all the things you want to be right are. Well done Normandy Hotel

Room Tip: Second floor rooms seem to be a little better condition. All rooms can hear the flight to the airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaSpence42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Operations Manager- Julie Nicol at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear YaSpence42,
Thank you for your comments about the Michael BubleTribute night that you attended within the hotel. We are at present upgrading all the furniture and fittings within the rooms. We apologise that the standard of the room did not meet your expectation on this occasion. We will pass you kind comments onto the chefs and our banqueting team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A group of us stayed here for my cousin's hen night as we had booked the meal and Jersey Boys Tribute act. The entertainment was good, the Jersey Boys singers were very talented and entertaining, the three course meal was also nice.

The rooms are very basic and as there is often Tribute Nights and weddings held here, don't expect to get a sleep through as the walls seem to be paper thin and you can here a lot of noise from down the corridor. The bathroom and beds were clean but there was stains on the pictures on the wall. The breakfast was ok, you had a choice of a cooked breakfast or continental such as fruit, cereals and toast.

For the price, which I believe is around £70 per person, I think the hotel is good value for money, if you are going to a tribute night and getting the three course meal. However, I would not stay here again unless I was attending another tribute night as there are many other lovely high standard hotels in Glasgow CIty Centre and even if you are staying here for access to Glasgow airport, I would recommend chosing another one of the hotels close by.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire_mcshane7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Operations Manager- Julie Nicol at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear claire_mcshane7,
Many thanks for your kind words regarding your stay at The Normandy. We specialise in Tribute Nights from groups to individuals, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed The Jersey Boys. Your comments regarding the rooms will be brought to the Housekeeping Manager's attention. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

if you plan too book this hotel beware that there are no tribute nights and if there is make sure you request a room well away from the room where the function is,we stayed on the 6th july and their was two birhtday parties and an abba tribute night we did not get a wink off sleep all night because we where given a room right above this function room 322 and after the parties where finnished the people just mingled outside and in the reception area off the hotel the noise was unbearable their was security on the reception they just stood there doing nothing young girls where running aroud the reception area singing shouting while security did nothing we asked for a early morning call as our flight was 6 am and we where being picked up at 3 am we never got this call because off all the disturbance in reception, when we arrived back from our holiday we had too go back to the hotel too pick up my car i spoke to the manager on duty that day 20th july and she said that she would investagate my complant and took my name address and e-mail and phone number it is now the 17th aug iand i have still heard nothing back i have e-mailed them twice and stil have not heard nothing back form them yet there where also other people complaining about the same night that day do if you book this hotel make sure you get a room away from the these function rooms and dont bother too complain your just wasting your time you wont ever hear anything bcak form the normandy hotel

Room Tip: get a room as far away form any function room as possiable where their is a party going on
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hendo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Operations Manager- Julie Nicol at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear hendo58,
Thank you for your response on trip advisor about our hotel. I apologise that we failed so much during your recent stay with us. I have taken some time to investigate the issues you had and I would like to discuss them with you if you could contact me at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlethen, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We booked this hotel for a night in late July, because we couldn't get any of our usual hotels - thanks to the Commonwealth Games taking place.

We have several friends who have stayed there, and they all agree that this is a perfectly adequate 3-star hotel. Granted, it is looking a little tired, and the décor could do with a good refreshing throughout. However, the room was more than adequate for a one-night stay - pity there wasn't air conditioning and the window overlooking the front car park needed to be kept open, hence the noise from arriving guests at all hours of the day. Still got a decent kip before very friendly bus driver took us to the airport at 4.20am when he saw us outside, and not at the 4.40am booked time.

Staff and meals were brilliant, absolutely no complaints there. ~Our car stayed there for the fortnight we were away, and the rates for the 2 x rooms and 1 x car were brilliant. Return to the hotel to retrieve our car were very easily performed. 15 minutes from departing the airport to being back at our car.

We would most definitely consider this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Try and book a room facing the long-stay car park, they should be free of the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveStephen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSPurewal, Operations Manager- Julie Nicol at Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
DaveStephen16,
Thanks for your comments in relation to your recent stay at The Normandy. We are in the process of spending substantial time and money in upgrading and refurbishing the rooms and public areas within the hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.1 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
2.9 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Braehead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Hotel

Property: Normandy Hotel
Address: Inchinnan Road, Renfrew PA4 9EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located next to the River Cart in Renfrew, 2 minutes from Glasgow airport. Secure Parking for over 800 vehicles on site.All covered with security fencing ,CCTV and manned patrols. Courtesy transport to and from Glasgow Airport & Award winning "Steaks N Stuff" restaurant. Full free Wi-Fi facilities throughout the hotel bedrooms and meeting rooms.Natural Heritage site located within the grounds of the hotel and 5 minutes drive from X-scsape leisure centre & Braehead shopping Mall.Ample facilities for wedding events,private functions,meeting rooms and complimentary tickets to partner Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Renfrew, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing