We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at Glynhill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great stay at Glynhill”
Reviewed 12 July 2005

We are four ladys from Fleetwood Lancs who have just returned from a three day stay at the Gylnhill Hotel. We found the hotel great. The rooms were clean,tidy evrey thing in them that you needed, beds comfortable. The food was great there was so much choice if you dident like it then you were very fussy.The staff were frendly, very helpfull.& ,cheerfull. The bars were good the hotel pub was very nice no football when we were there. So thanks to all the staff who made us very well come.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cassden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    310
    187
    96
    89
See reviews for
206
226
42
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2005

Stayed here like previous reviewer on visit to see family. In new club room which was smallest we've ever experienced, with very poor quality pillows. The hallways in the club section were unbearably hot, took the breathe away.
Breakfast was farcical, very loud music from start to finish (even at 7.30am!) which appeared to be to suit the staff, and I'm talking heavy metal! Scrambled eggs could be cut into slices they were so solid and everything else greasy and cooked a long time before.
The hotel has a residents' bar which very oddly doesn't open until the evening, this being one of the reasons we booked (rather than go B&B) we were seething. In the mornings the final rounds of drinks glasses and full ashtrays were still waiting to be cleared from the lounge areas.
Never again. It's not cheap either. Agree with the taxi problem.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lexipup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Renfrew hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 June 2005

Oh where can I start...Firstly we booked this because it is local to our families on a visit home, so we dont really spend much time in the hotel. On arriving we noted that there was a prom dance for a local high school - alright so it might be noisy but as the students were under 18 we might have expected it to finish relatively early - but more on this later. We got a good rate for our room, however the room was a smoking room - as recent givers-up that was not appreciated! - and it was uncomfortably hot, with windows which opened about two inches. It also overlooked the front of the hotel. The room was a bit out dated, dusty and the fruit bowl contained an apple which i would guess at being two weeks old. The bed was like board, and the pillows had seen significanly better days. Still, not to worry, it was really only a place to sleep. Little did we realist that after midnight the hotel seems to turn into an unofficial taxi rank. Lots of late night revellers congragate here to get taxis which are dropping off here. We had a group of around 10 drunk people sitting in front of the hotel. We asked reception to move them - after a half hour we asked again, only to be told that 'we asked them to move, what can we do?'. Well, actually move them would have been an idea. It quitened down at three, and then at four a bus load of American tourists (god bless them) arrived with comensurate finding luggage, bus engine etc. We got a grand total of about one hours sleep. Checked out after one night of a two night stay. I personally would avoid at all costs, poor hotel and worse staff.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 March 2005

Having stayed at the hotel more than 50 times on both business and pleasure over the course of the last 8 years or so, I am sad to say I will not be visiting the Glynhill any more. The atmosphere used to be really nice in the hotel, with friendly staff in all areas and departments. Unfortunately, nowadays there seems to be a constantly bad atmosphere which you can sense coming from the staff, who are clearly nervous and uncomfortable, especially around certain members of management who seem quite dominating and clearly are not suited to the positions they are in. I have seen on more than one occasion, staff members being unjustly given a dressing down in full view of the public, which is a shame given that they clearly are trying their best under difficult circumstances. The food ranges from excellent in the Gourmet restaurant, to lukewarm and tasteless in the Carverie, but all is very much overpriced given the level of competition which exists nowadays. In addition, the menu seems to me to reflect more the tastes of the owners as opposed to the tastes of the general public for whom they are catering. Sadly, this hotel has gone down and down in my estimations to the extent I would no longer recommend the Glynhill to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 November 2004

I stayed at the Glynhill during a residential course and found the place a bit dark and hot. The pool area is nice and the staff were really helpful. The food was good and the cubes of macaroon and tablet with the coffee were a nice touch.
The room was clean and comfortable if a little dark and dated. With a facelift this could be a really nice hotel.
I would stay again.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2004

Stayed at the Glynhill in August 2004. Not impressed. There was a small pub that you had to walk through to get to fine dining room and this was filled with smoke and on the other side of the lobby there was a smoking lounge that you had to walk through to reach the other dining area. There are LOTs of stairs, and didn't seem to be anyone to help with luggage. Our luggage was late arriving from airline and they just left it beside the staircase until we happened to see it and took it to our room. Breakfast was included in the room price this was okay. It was a buffet and nothing changed in a week, always the same. The rooms you see on the internet are not what you get. We found out when we were checking out that we were given the wrong room, however we made specific reservations months in advance. Weather was warm for the most part and hotel was hot and stuffy. Would not stay here again, there are better places by the airport.

Helpful?
9 Thank sparkieBCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfrew
1.1 mi away
Normandy Hotel
Normandy Hotel
#3 of 3 in Renfrew
1,919 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: 169 Paisley Road, Renfrew PA4 8XB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Renfrew
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Renfrew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This commended 145-bedroom hotel is ideally located only 1 mile from Glasgow International Airport (not in flight path), 5 minutes from Braehead Arena & Shopping Centre, Xscape Leisure Park and 10 minutes from Glasgow city centre. The hotel now boasts 97 rooms of the modern, contemporary club style. A new guest lift has been installed to service 3 floors of bedrooms; facilities also include 3 bars, Carverie, Bistro and Gourmet restaurants with weekend entertainment and an exclusive leisure club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glynhill Hotel And Leisure Club
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club Renfrew, Scotland
Glynhill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing