We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't understand why Nick Nairn puts his name to this place!”

Vanishing Willows Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Bishopton
Restaurant details
Scotland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Can't understand why Nick Nairn puts his name to this place!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Vanishing Willows by Nick Nairn? It is basically a cafeteria in a Garden Centre. Nothing special and would like to know Nicks special recipe for the cheese and onion toastie and the plastic cakes on offer! The layout of the serving area is dire as you have to order the hot food at the till apparently. This system causes an unnecessary holdup, especially as the woman at the till then left to take our order elsewhere. Organised chaos. There are two large glass display units which had nothing in them. Cakes were boring and not homemade. The special tea section was understocked so wasn't able to get my preferred choice. Who's in charge here?

This could have been a far better attraction for visitors because the quality they have on offer would not make you leave the motorway to come here. Shame as Erskine Hospital is a fantastic place! Where is Nick Nairn when he's needed? In a proper restaurant cooking from scratch no doubt.
ps the toast was nice enough.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginger005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
349 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Lovely garden centre cafe”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Visit here regularly with my elderly parents . Access is excellent and staff are very helpful and friendly . Food is very fresh and while the selection is not huge everything is well prepared and of good quality . Ideal for morning coffee/afternoon tea and light lunches .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank visit09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok,but nothing special”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The good points are: good staff, very clean and lovely decor. The bad points are: disappointing menu, some food can't be ordered after 2.30 we got there at 3.00. Toasties are already made up which made my cheese and tomato toastie soggy. It's not what I thought it would be.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food, great service”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We visit often when we come to see family. It's always busy but the service is great, food is great with plenty of choice of just a quick snack or a full meal. We like to support this cafe because the profits go to erskine hospital to support ex-servicemen and women. It will always be te first place we go when we visit the area. Always enjoy the soup and a panini.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Currylover1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renfrewshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bright and Clean and Helpful and Happy Staff.”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I regularly use Vanishing Willows at Erskine Garden Centre, I cannot for the life of me understand anyone saying the staff are not friendly!! Gina, Jane and the rest of the ladies always so polite and friendly and can't do enough to help. Good food, spotlessly clean and a good sized restaurant with beautiful views.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rovermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vanishing Willows Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Vanishing Willows Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing