We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bishopton
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We recently spent one night here, a generous gift from our family. We received a very warm welcome on arrival and found all the staff to be very friendly, helpful, couteous without being 'snooty'
Room 52 was quite a long walk from the main areas but it was beautiful and very clean. Huge bed, large setttee, nice view from the window, large bathroom with bath and separate shower cabinet.
I had two spa treatments which I enjoyed and we had a very good dinner followed by a leisurely drink in the lounge whilst being entertained by a pianist and a singer.
Breakfast was delicious although we would have preferred table service rather than buffet as the food never seems to be as hot as we like it.
12 noon check out makes for a relaxed morning.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemima T, Marketing Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We always try our best to be welcoming and are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking the time to give you feedback - all points are duly noted - and we very much hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,

The Team at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    285
    133
    70
    43
See reviews for
179
649
11
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My partner and i spent a night in Mar Hall and to be honest i didnt get the wow factor that i was expecting. The room we were allocated was way down by the Spa which in itself should have been ok being 5star, but a few things in the room changed that, mainly the bathroom first impressions were not to good as the shower area was very grubby and in desperate need of regrouting and re sealing also one of the glass shelves were missing not a good impression. My partner went for a bath and i had to fix the plug to drain the water away. To top it all the bath robe she put on was full of holes at the bottom of it. I know the building underwent renovations around ten years ago but it really could be doing with a makeover as someone who carries out building maintenance i feel a lot of areas are being overlooked from lamps out in toilets to things like shades not straight in the dining room to screws missing on the gents toilet door and urinals needing silicon. Im not detracting from the character and the surroundings as it is a really nice place, it just needs management to open their eyes and notice the faults that people like myself notice. The positive things about the hotel are the staff hard working, the food excellent and great views. As i said needs tosort out the minor details to get back to the top

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in the main building as its a trek to the ones by the Spa also you can hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUBWAYGAFFER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemima T, Marketing Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and I am really pleased to hear that most of your stay was a positive experience. We are in the processes of renovating our rooms, one section at a time to minimise disruption - hopefully you will notice the difference next time you stay with us.

Kind regards,

The Team at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Spent two nights at Mar Hall on a very reasonable 'Junior Suite' offer, with wife and children aged 2 & 4. Room was HUGE, 4 poster bed very nice and double sofa bed perfect for the children. This was made up for us on arrival which was perfect after a 5 hour drive and 9pm check-in.
Bar was expensive (standard for wedding venue hotel!) but very pleasant atmosphere.
Breakfast was excellent - buffet style cereals, fruit, cold meats, plus all the usual bacon, sausage, egg, etc, but with additional a la carte options.
All staff were extremely friendly and approachable, with nothing too much trouble.
We were there for a family wedding, which was very professionally planned and executed by the hotel.
All in all, a great hotel that I'd be delighted to take the family back to - no complaints!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pch2276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

My husband's company had their Christmas dinner dance here on December 14th. Every one had a great meal(after we all walked outside to the marquee!) the hotel was very nice and our room was lovely with a comfy bed. Breakfast was good in a lovely dining room( inside this time!) the decor throughout was fabulous.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lesleydougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Very quiet rooms. Comfortable 4 poster bed. Very spacious room. Hard working staff. Best food I have had for quite a while. All in all a very nice experience. Views are amazing from the rear rooms. Would return in a flash if in the area. Thank you to the staff

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy14607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

this is our second visit to marr hall. and it always comes up to our expectations.this time it was a deal we got which was fab. on arrival at our beautiful room there was a nice bottle of chilled wine.I went down to the spa for a facial and on this deal l got twenty per cent off. it was lovely and steff did a great job.at night we dined in the restaurant which was beautiful food was great. the lanb was so tender and tasted yummy. the sweet was to die for,. we then went out to the great hall for drinks. all in all very nice.the one thing l will say about the staff they are very nice and very attentive. and very young. and do a great job.we will be back. if you stay please use the spa. the chill out area is lovely. nearly went to sleep.I have been twice to the spa before with my daughter on a day visit and always enjoy.

Room Tip: we were in room 29. which had a massive bathroom. very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel28703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just off the M8 on the banks of the River Clyde , this former baronial home exudes class and sophistication for its guests . Lovely spacious wood lined public areas including a bar filled with character. Attentive and enthusiastic staff . Really excellent menu and wide ranging wine list. Plenty of parking and things to do at the Spa and golf course. One of my very favourites in Scotland

Room Tip: All rooms are individual due to the building's layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishopton
Ingliston Country Club
#2 of 3 in Bishopton
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,663 reviews
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Earl of Mar Estate Mar Hall Drive, Bishopton PA7 5NW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Bishopton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bishopton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hall Bishopton
Mar Hall Hotel Bishopton
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort Bishopton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing