We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bishopton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we stayed here the weekend before Christmas and it was very reasonably priced. we arrived in the afternoon to make use of the leisure facilities. swimming pool was great as was sauna and steam room. changing rooms were good and well stocked.

our room was very nice and the bathroom was very large which was great. sleep quality was excellent and the views matched. we had dinner at the hotel which was actually outstanding, considering the price for the set menu. we all were astonished at the quality and taste and couldnt fault it at all. the only downside was the price of the wine.

the grand hall is a great place to sit and relax and the added bonus of a pianist in the evening really made it.

breakfast was plentiful and lots of choices.

all in all, an excellent escape with a bit of luxury thrown in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We returned once again to Mar Hall this week for a hideaway night after the festive season and were impressed, as ever, with the standard of service, the lovely room and ensuite and the standard of food in the Cristal Restaurant. Although we had to wait around an hour for our main course, the staff apologised and we were given a complimentary glass of wine. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have experienced (second only to Galgorm Resort and Spa!) and the breakfast selection was terrific. Finally, we enjoyed a couple of hours relaxing in the spa - we heard that the paddling pool may be replaced by a Jacuzzi - something that the spa certainly lacks and would be a welcome addition. We look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orchard65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My friend and I enjoyed our overnight spa package.The hotel is not at all pretentious maybe not 5 star. Spa treatment was lovely.The pool is a great size managed 2 swims.Dinner lovely just a bit slow in the Spike bar and it wasnt busy.Entertainment was excellent - a duo singing in the Grand hall.Breakfast was very good.Only disapointment was mix up with bill, had paid deposit but no one seemed to know cos they deal with too many outside agents.Also an addition for spa which no one knew about either .There needs to be more connection with accounts and front reception - a bit laid back attitude .But overall a nice break

Room Tip: we had a lovely view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROSALYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We attended a wedding at Mar Hall at the end of November. The hotel is definitely not a 5 star standard. The outside of the building is picturesque. However, the interior of the building is worn and the layout for weddings is very poor. A long narrow room for the ceremony which was scuffed and tatty. The noise of kids and guests through the wall could be heard over the ceremony at times which was unacceptable. Outside of the that room in the common area, the only thing separating guest from 200 people on a cheap deal for afternoon tea was a red rope. The whole place was over crowded and there was no where to sit while photos were being taken. The meal was served in a tatty looking marquee across the car park. This was completely at odds with the character of the hotel. The meal itself was good - as it should be at that price. The only issue with the service was that the room was not turned for evening guests. Rooms were okay but at £200 a pop way over priced for somewhere to lay your head for 8 hours. Not worth the money for the wedding or the stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shamazeballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Having spent a lot of time at Mar Hall I can't praise it enough.

The staff are friendly, helpful and very knowledgable.

The food is superb and the afternoon tea is a delight.

Set in stunning scenery just off the Clyde this is a must visit if in the Glasgow area.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemima T, Marketing Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

As you know our staff work very hard to ensure that everyone's stay is as enjoyable as possible and it is lovely to read such kind words of appreciation. We hope you are in the area soon and that we can welcome you back to stay with us again.

Kind regards,

The Team at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

On arrival, drive to the hotel is beautiful. The hotel is stunning but from then on I was very disappointed.
No concierge on arrival. Had to walk the length of car park in pouring rain with bags. Assistance would have been appreciated and would have been more welcoming consisting this is supposed to be a 5* hotel.
The staff not very friendly. I have stayed in many exceptional hotels in the UK and most the staff would do anything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Everything seemed an effort and it costs nothing to smile.
The room we stayed in was one of the deluxe rooms. I must admit it was lovely. The bathroom was huge and finishes were classy. It was let down by the cobwebs in the bathroom, mould in the shower, glasses missing in the room, sweetie wrappers on the floor under the curtain and a dirty sock in the drawer!! Not what you expect from a 5* hotel. The view of the gardens was lovely even in December. The building looks tired. Paint flaking off the window frames. Rooms a little cold with no way of controlling the heating.
We booked a spa treatment and on arrival at the spa we discovered we had no reservation. This was despite a call and email confirming our reservation less than 24hrs previous.
To top it off, we reported all this to the duty manager who discounted £30 off our bill! This I felt considering all these problems was insulting.
I would strongly recommend giving this hotel a miss. Cameron House which is a few miles up the road on Loch Lomond or better still, Turnberry in Ayrshire is the best 5* hotel I've stated in in Scotland. It is wonderful.
Hope this is helpful to you all.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Doctor-D-999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemima T, Marketing Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Firstly I can only apologise that on this occasion your stay with us did not meet the usual high standards we aim for and I am sorry that you not feel that the issues you brought to the attention of staff on duty were not properly dealt with at the time, which is something we would always try and do. Please be assured that we will be looking into all the points you have raised and I would also like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed account of your stay as feedback is invaluable to help us improve our offering.

Kind regards,

The Team at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had a beautiful lunch today at Mar Hall and were superbly waited on by Daniel. His friendly caring manner and attention to detail made our visit. The menu had a superb choice, the plates a work of art and the food delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemima T, Marketing Manager at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our restaurant team strives to provide a top class dining experience of great quality food, excellent presentation and friendly and efficient service and they will be thrilled to know that their work is both appreciated and enjoyed. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

The Team at Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishopton
Ingliston Country Club
#2 of 2 in Bishopton
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,418 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Earl of Mar Estate Mar Hall Drive, Bishopton PA7 5NW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Bishopton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bishopton
Price Range: £120 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hall Bishopton
Mar Hall Hotel Bishopton
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort Bishopton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing