We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Park Hotel(Clydebank)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,346)
Filter reviews
1,346 results
Traveller rating
764
312
144
76
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
764
312
144
76
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursecristal restaurantjunior suiteafternoon teahuge bathroomfour poster bedmain buildingil postobeautiful hotelon arrivalfive star hotelbirthday treatkilpatrick hillsspike barchristmas giftbeautiful roomrelaxation room
Filter
Updating list...
750 - 755 of 1,346 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I booked Mar Hall for our mini-moon having got married a few days earlier and was pleasantly surprised to find a plate of chocolate truffles with 'Congratulations' piped in chocolate around the edge of the plate in our room. The welcome at check in was pretty average I thought and a little below what I would expect at a five star hotel (though a gentleman did kindly offer to take our bags to our room for us).

The room was impressively large and the facilities at the spa were lovely. Though we enjoyed the turndown service we had dirty glasses left in our room after cleaning on the second day of our stay. There was a beautiful big bath in the room, but no bubble bath to put into it! In general the staff were very accommodating, particularly the young man on the concierge desk.

Breakfast was a buffet style, and a little disappointing compared to other 5 star hotels we have stayed in. The potato cakes were inedible, and the eggs had sat there too long. On the second day we ordered of the menu and the pancakes were lovely.

I would still recommend Mar Hall, but would advise that it didn't quite feel like the 5 star experience we had hoped for - perhaps a good 4 star.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we stayed here the weekend before Christmas and it was very reasonably priced. we arrived in the afternoon to make use of the leisure facilities. swimming pool was great as was sauna and steam room. changing rooms were good and well stocked.

our room was very nice and the bathroom was very large which was great. sleep quality was excellent and the views matched. we had dinner at the hotel which was actually outstanding, considering the price for the set menu. we all were astonished at the quality and taste and couldnt fault it at all. the only downside was the price of the wine.

the grand hall is a great place to sit and relax and the added bonus of a pianist in the evening really made it.

breakfast was plentiful and lots of choices.

all in all, an excellent escape with a bit of luxury thrown in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We returned once again to Mar Hall this week for a hideaway night after the festive season and were impressed, as ever, with the standard of service, the lovely room and ensuite and the standard of food in the Cristal Restaurant. Although we had to wait around an hour for our main course, the staff apologised and we were given a complimentary glass of wine. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have experienced (second only to Galgorm Resort and Spa!) and the breakfast selection was terrific. Finally, we enjoyed a couple of hours relaxing in the spa - we heard that the paddling pool may be replaced by a Jacuzzi - something that the spa certainly lacks and would be a welcome addition. We look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orchard65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My friend and I enjoyed our overnight spa package.The hotel is not at all pretentious maybe not 5 star. Spa treatment was lovely.The pool is a great size managed 2 swims.Dinner lovely just a bit slow in the Spike bar and it wasnt busy.Entertainment was excellent - a duo singing in the Grand hall.Breakfast was very good.Only disapointment was mix up with bill, had paid deposit but no one seemed to know cos they deal with too many outside agents.Also an addition for spa which no one knew about either .There needs to be more connection with accounts and front reception - a bit laid back attitude .But overall a nice break

Room Tip: we had a lovely view of the gardens
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROSALYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We attended a wedding at Mar Hall at the end of November. The hotel is definitely not a 5 star standard. The outside of the building is picturesque. However, the interior of the building is worn and the layout for weddings is very poor. A long narrow room for the ceremony which was scuffed and tatty. The noise of kids and guests through the wall could be heard over the ceremony at times which was unacceptable. Outside of the that room in the common area, the only thing separating guest from 200 people on a cheap deal for afternoon tea was a red rope. The whole place was over crowded and there was no where to sit while photos were being taken. The meal was served in a tatty looking marquee across the car park. This was completely at odds with the character of the hotel. The meal itself was good - as it should be at that price. The only issue with the service was that the room was not turned for evening guests. Rooms were okay but at £200 a pop way over priced for somewhere to lay your head for 8 hours. Not worth the money for the wedding or the stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shamazeballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews