We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A TRUE PLEASURE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eddrachilles Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Badcall Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eddrachilles Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badcall Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Angouleme, France
Level Contributor
235 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A TRUE PLEASURE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We recently spent 3 nights, together with a couple of friends, in this charming hotel in the Northern Highlands, a few miles south of Scourie and approx 100 miles north-west of Inverness.

It was excellent in every respect, and many thanks to Richard (English) and his spouse, Isabelle (French), the owners of this hotel for the last nine years.

From the moment when we entered the reception, Richard made us feel at home while he welcomed us, and showed us our room, No. 1, on the ground floor with a beautiful view directly on Badcall Bay.

The bar/lounge, with an EXCELLENT selection of more than 140 different scotch whiskies, together with an admirable wine list as well as a wide choice of beers and ale, was a friendly gathering spot for friends and guests, with cheery fireplaces at each end of the room.

The dining room, in the "Conservatory" with its view over Badcall Bay, was a special place because it permitted us each evening to savour the fresh culinary creations prepared by Isabelle and her team, ranging from succulent starters, through delicious main courses, and finishing with mouth-watering deserts and/or an excellent cheese selection, each day offering a different selection.

The Buffet Breakfast, served in the Breakfast Room, was also a delight, ranging from a choice of a full Scottish breakfast to lighter "continental" fare.

There are many returning clients, many of whom reserve 12 months in advance. We were very fortunate to have a "choice" room during our stay, since it was already booked for the days after our departure. Our travel plans for next year are still uncertain, but we don't want to delay too long to reserve!

We recommend this delightful hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    41
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
101
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

It does not pretend to be a haven of luxury or wonderful food - but it is very good. The rooms are fine and the food a tad above what you might expect. Staff are very helpful. Combine that with competitive prices and you have a good place to be for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Get one facing the loch - but there are not many!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Spent a week based at the hotel. Despite 'interesting' weather we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The room was great with a sea view and all the facilities you would expect. And it was very clean and well maintained. The food was fantastic with several choices each evening. I am a vegetarian and was spoilt for choice each night. The service was great and overall the hotel is warm and friendly - even if they cannot control the weather! It is in a good location for exploring the north west of Scotland either by car or on the many walks and climbs in the area. And with patience it is possible to see masses of bird life (was saw 50+), deer, eagles and even otters. Would certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peb747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Just returned from a re- visit.This hotel is in a unique part of the globe,amid glorious scenery of sublime vistas and geological phenomena..The hotel sports a special view of the pretty bay,especially delightful from the conservatory restaurant.This place is what it is ,no pretensions,comfortable,with history,individualistic and, more importantly. Gives a warm welcome and caring service with value for money.Dining is a pleasure here breakfast in the Keep and a hea
rty one to boot.Dinner menus are French in flavour and are well cooked,varied, and well presented with Isabel's manic use of parsley!!!!! The pre dinner amuses bouches are a nice touch.
Richard mixes good whiskey macs and bloody Mary's and has an awesome collection of wee dram stuff.Other guests were
pleasant,interesting people.This hostelry is in the wilds.Don't expect.You may be surprised!!.

Room Tip: Upstairs facing the bay.clicked swimming pool and fitness centre by error.There are neither of these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In front of my computer
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stopped in for lunch - nearly missed the tiny entrance and tinier sign, Probably the reason there were so few people in there!

Very good food, very friendly staff. Lots of Michelin decals on the door, but no stars ??

Clean to the point of sterility. Glassed-in patio/Dining room relatively cavernous, needs filling. If you can find it, try it ... they are trying hard, and should be rewarded.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuffit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

What a wonderful find and great experience. This was part of a four day trip round Inverpolly.

The hotel overlooks the bay, and is set back from the road. Very quiet, beautiful surroundings.

On arrival, Richard(?) took our booking, explained everything about the hotel, where to go walks, where to park, what time dinner was etc. He explained everything was made to order and local produce.

Having booked for dinner, he said to sit in the bar, pre dinner snacks, drinks and wine ordered. Dinner was just outstanding. Scallops from Skye and Parfait. Main course of the local "Witch". (It's a relation of the sole fish). Again, simply outstanding quality. Staff were courteous, and attentive but not even remotely in your face.

There is a general pleasant atmosphere about the hotel and the friendly welcome makes it all the better. Had a good chat over a dram with the owner, who shared local knowledge and told us a bit about the hotel.

The rooms whilst not modern are spotlessly clean, the linen and bed are superb and a great night's sleep.

Would I recommend this hotel. Absolutely.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuruboyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard F, Owner at Eddrachilles Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you so much, Isabelle, myself and the staff are so happy you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed the food. If you are ever in the area again drop in and we will have another dram.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is probably the only hotel that i have stayed in where the view has been exactly as in the adverty!! Just Beautiful. We stayed for just one night during a touring holiday in the Highlands. Welcome was somewhat mediocre but dinner made up for that. The 3 courses were beautifully cokked and presentes and thew waiter was very friendly and gave good service. The Breakfast however was a little disappointing with the cooked breakfast being a bit 'greasy' and not a lot of choice for the buffet. The room was average and the shower cubilcle very small. For the view alone i would however stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back to get the view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard F, Owner at Eddrachilles Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for your review, yes we do have a bit of a view and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. As for breakfast, as you know we are a small hotel with limited space for the buffet. We know we cannot provide every bodies ideal breakfast, so we decided to stay with the full Scottish and give everybody the usual tea, coffee, toast with a choice of 2 fruit juices, 4 different cereals, 2 fruits, porage, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, bacon, sausage, black pudding, grilled tomatoes and mushrooms. I wish we could do more but we do not have the space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badcall Bay
8.5 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
12.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
22.7 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
21.8 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
19.6 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eddrachilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eddrachilles Hotel

Property: Eddrachilles Hotel
Address: Off the A894 | 2 miles south of Scourie on the North West coast, Badcall Bay IV27 4TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Badcall Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badcall Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, seasonal Highlands hotel with a quality restaurant, and magnificent sea views overlooking Badcall Bay, in NW Sutherland. A place to escape to, a chance to experience the far North. Originally a church manse dating to the eighteenth century, the property was remodelled and sympathetically extended in the later twentieth century. It now provides a 10 bedroom (all ensuite) small hotel and restaurant. Owners since March 2016 Richard and Fiona are gradually putting their own stamp on Eddrachilles, while being careful not to change the simple, honest character of this charming but remote property. The main restaurant with original flagstone floors and stone walls, overlooks a courtyard garden. Here are served both table d'hôte and tasting menus prepared by our chefs from local fresh ingredients, including seafood bought directly from the boats in the bay, lamb from local crofts and venison from local estates. Our room-rates include a cooked to order delicious Highland breakfast and complimentary teas & coffees and munchies throughout your stay while lunches (seated or packed) and a more formal afternoon tea can be arranged for residents on request. Special diets, constraints, allergies and choices can be catered for with prior notice. The lounge and sun lounge look seaward and have an open fire and cosy wood burning stoves for those days and nights when the Highland weather is less inviting. The bar has a respectable malt whisky collection while local craft gins, beers and even vodkas offer an intriguing journey through the Tastes of the North. Eddrachilles is in one of Europe's last remaining wildernesses, at the heart of the NW Highlands Geopark and close to bird watchers' favourite Handa Island. There are opportunities for independent or expert guided hillwalking, fishing, mountaineering, sea kayaking and open canoeing, although it is best to book guides in advance. Well behaved pets are very welcome, and the hotel grounds provide pleasant walks to the shore for both two and four legged guests. The hotel can be found 2 miles south of village of Scourie, the hotel's driveway leads directly off the A894. Fiona and Richard look forward to welcoming you to Eddrachilles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eddrachilles Hotel Badcall Bay, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing