We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in the North”
Review of Eddrachilles Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Badcall Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eddrachilles Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badcall Bay
Certificate of Excellence
St George's Grenada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Gem in the North”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a most enjoyable three nights at the Eddrachilles Hotel near Scourie. This is the perfect base for excellent adventures around the area. Our first to Handa Island - a short boat ride - and then a walk around the island to see the amazing bird life and the absolutely stunning views. Thank goodness for digital cameras as we would have run out of film in the first few paces! And back to the hotel for a most delicious dinner. Portion sizes are very generous and the menu changes everyday - fresh seafood and scrumptious desserts - what's not to like! The next day, also sunny and relatively midge free, we were all off to Sandwood Bay. The 4.5 mile walk to the Bay rewards with a glimpse of a sandy paradise. Once on the beach all your troubles will melt away! Make sure you recharge your camera! Another mouthwatering dinner accompanied by wine and followed by a few drams from the extensive whisky selection in the bar. We are looking at booking another break in the next few weeks as the hotel will close for the winter in October. Catch it while you can!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    43
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
107
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Imagine a cold wet day in the North West Highlands of Scotland, driving down from Durness to Lochinver and looking for somewhere to eat. Hungry after an hour in the bird hide at Scourie we went down the road a bit and took a punt on seeing the small sign for the Eddrachilles Hotel who claim "From 12 to 2 lunch with a view".
Lovely welcome. Very pleasant atmosphere in the conservatory dining room where 14 of the local teachers had come for their end of term meal. I say local but some had come from Kinlochbervie a good half hour drive away. They must have thought it was worth it. AND IT WAS. The food is delicious. I had hake which was tasty and moist and my wife had the venison bangers and mash which she reported as scrumptious. We only had lunch but we recommended it to people we met later that day and they gave us excellent feedback about their experience when they visited. If you are keen on whisky I understand they have a rather extensive selection of fine malts.
If you are in the area give it a try. As for the claim of "lunch with a view" - from the dining room there is a superb view of Badcall Bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smudge0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights during a tour of Scotland. We had a comfortable room at the rear (No. 10) with views to die for, overlooking Badcall Bay. The food, especially seafood, was very good and freshly cooked, served in the conservatory, also with views over Badcall Bay. We enjoyed the peace and quiet and the walks along the shore. The owner was very helpful, and we would certainly return if we were in this part of Scotland.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have the best views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Just returned after a one night stay at this great wee hotel. Wish it had been a longer.
The atmosphere and welcome is warm and friendly, the food is great, fresh and beautifully cooked.
Bar area cosy with a good selection of everything. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, if a bit dated but suits the hotel.
All folks have said in previous reviews about the grounds and surrounding area is true. It's a very peacefull setting only thing to spoil it are those infamous midgies!!!!!!!! Take plenty of deet at this time of year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

As soon as you step into the lounge and look over Badcall Bay you'll now you've arrived! It gets even better when you have dropped off your bags and get to stroll in the extensive grounds where a path has been cut through the grass and gardens benches dotted here and there so that you can sit and wonder at the shear beauty of the place - peace and tranquility at it's best.It doesn't stop there though, you've still got dinner to come with a drink in the bar first; excellent food with a good selection which changes daily, all home cooked, Good value, good service, rooms adequate and plenty of local knowledge at hand to advise on the best walks etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Blink twice, and you'll miss the turn off to Edddrachilles Hotel overlooking Badcall Bay in northern Scotland on the road from Ullapool heading towards John O'Groats. This old hotel is set in quite lovely grounds, and has a very pleasant enclosed (and heated) external eating area as part of the hotel restaurant on the Ground Floor. Apart from good pub food served by friendly and helpful staff, there's an amazing collection of both new and old Ordnance Survey Maps on the walls of the hotel, which are very good for planning local excursions.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angouleme, France
Level Contributor
235 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We recently spent 3 nights, together with a couple of friends, in this charming hotel in the Northern Highlands, a few miles south of Scourie and approx 100 miles north-west of Inverness.

It was excellent in every respect, and many thanks to Richard (English) and his spouse, Isabelle (French), the owners of this hotel for the last nine years.

From the moment when we entered the reception, Richard made us feel at home while he welcomed us, and showed us our room, No. 1, on the ground floor with a beautiful view directly on Badcall Bay.

The bar/lounge, with an EXCELLENT selection of more than 140 different scotch whiskies, together with an admirable wine list as well as a wide choice of beers and ale, was a friendly gathering spot for friends and guests, with cheery fireplaces at each end of the room.

The dining room, in the "Conservatory" with its view over Badcall Bay, was a special place because it permitted us each evening to savour the fresh culinary creations prepared by Isabelle and her team, ranging from succulent starters, through delicious main courses, and finishing with mouth-watering deserts and/or an excellent cheese selection, each day offering a different selection.

The Buffet Breakfast, served in the Breakfast Room, was also a delight, ranging from a choice of a full Scottish breakfast to lighter "continental" fare.

There are many returning clients, many of whom reserve 12 months in advance. We were very fortunate to have a "choice" room during our stay, since it was already booked for the days after our departure. Our travel plans for next year are still uncertain, but we don't want to delay too long to reserve!

We recommend this delightful hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badcall Bay
8.5 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
12.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
21.8 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
19.6 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eddrachilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eddrachilles Hotel

Property: Eddrachilles Hotel
Address: Off the A894 | 2 miles south of Scourie on the North West coast, Badcall Bay IV27 4TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Badcall Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badcall Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, seasonal Highlands hotel with a quality restaurant, and magnificent sea views overlooking Badcall Bay, in NW Sutherland. A place to escape to, a chance to experience the far North. Originally a church manse dating to the eighteenth century, the property was remodelled and sympathetically extended in the later twentieth century. It now provides a 10 bedroom (all ensuite) small hotel and restaurant. Owners since March 2016 Richard and Fiona are gradually putting their own stamp on Eddrachilles, while being careful not to change the simple, honest character of this charming but remote property. The main restaurant with original flagstone floors and stone walls, overlooks a courtyard garden. Here are served both table d'hôte and tasting menus prepared by our chefs from local fresh ingredients, including seafood bought directly from the boats in the bay, lamb from local crofts and venison from local estates. Our room-rates include a cooked to order delicious Highland breakfast and complimentary teas & coffees and munchies throughout your stay while lunches (seated or packed) and a more formal afternoon tea can be arranged for residents on request. Special diets, constraints, allergies and choices can be catered for with prior notice. The lounge and sun lounge look seaward and have an open fire and cosy wood burning stoves for those days and nights when the Highland weather is less inviting. The bar has a respectable malt whisky collection while local craft gins, beers and even vodkas offer an intriguing journey through the Tastes of the North. Eddrachilles is in one of Europe's last remaining wildernesses, at the heart of the NW Highlands Geopark and close to bird watchers' favourite Handa Island. There are opportunities for independent or expert guided hillwalking, fishing, mountaineering, sea kayaking and open canoeing, although it is best to book guides in advance. Well behaved pets are very welcome, and the hotel grounds provide pleasant walks to the shore for both two and four legged guests. The hotel can be found 2 miles south of village of Scourie, the hotel's driveway leads directly off the A894. Fiona and Richard look forward to welcoming you to Eddrachilles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eddrachilles Hotel Badcall Bay, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing