We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eddrachilles Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Badcall Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eddrachilles Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badcall Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here in July 2012 on a driving tour of Sutherland and returned to Sutherland last week just to stay here. The hotel is in a wonderful setting, nestled between the trees on the shore of Badcall Bay. Richard, Isabelle and their staff are friendly and the food is the best we've ever had anywhere. The rooms are comfortable and clean with everything you need. We will never tire of the view from the conservatory during dinner. I've read reviews criticising the breakfast room, but this beautiful room has it's own charm and is the heart of the old building with stone walls and slate floor. If you are looking for a purpose built modern hotel with identical box bedrooms, this isn't the place for you. Please don't change a thing, we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    41
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
101
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

There is something about the atmosphere at this hotel that is relaxing and warm. I'm not quite sure exactly why it came so near the top of the 9 places I stayed in Scotland in June but there are lots of plusses.

I had a very pleasant double room to myself, the bathroom - yes, I had a bath, great treat - was well maintained without any mould or other off putting features. It was one of only 2 places I stayed that had nice thick curtains so I didn't wake up at 4am due to the light mornings. The host is a bit of a character but clearly very adept at running this place with great efficiency. Bar prices were very reasonable and the food was excellent, though the waitress could have apologised for getting the order mixed up and bringing my vegetarian meal so late most of my party had finished their main courses. The only reason I haven't given an excellent rating is that I really do not like buffet breakfasts, this was the only place I stayed that had them and the only eggs on offer were fried. There were no vegetarian sausages and I do find it annoying when the vegetarian option is to do without. The packed lunch was very good. I'd certainly return here for the ambience and general standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Higgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We come to the west coast every year in June for a week and have had good, very good, and not so good experiences (mostly just to do with luck).

We enjoyed the full dinner, bed and breakfast hospitality that was on offer at Eddrachilles for a whole week, and enjoyed every minute of our time here. We were lucky with the weather, and enjoyed trips up and down the local coastline from Durness, Tarbet (Handa), Polin down to Kylesku and around the Assynt foreland. This is indeed "the big country."

Starting off at this relaxed small hotel each morning meant we were never more than 45 minutes from our daily walking, beaching, reading, even golfing destinations. The hotel has its own wooded access to the shore with a 20 minute leisurely walk on grassy paths to what feels like a private bay. The local area walk sheet is well worth following.

Returning to our comfortable room for a shower in the evening day after day, we enjoyed a really superb dinner with emphasis on locally sourced meat and fish, and cooked by an expert French chef, (Isabelle, wife of the ubiquitous and ever-helpful Richard) Flannery. The wines offered are right up and down the price spectrum and we enjoyed a couple of very good bottles priced properly. They have created a professional but relaxed atmosphere here with great service provide by a local and not so local team, all of whom worked well together. The dining room is wonderful as it affords spectacular views out over the bay as one enjoys these wonderful dinners. We thought it was excellent value and will certainly recommend this to our like-minded friends

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a lovely 'Lunch with a view' there on a quiet and wet Saturday. The welcome was warm and the service was efficient and friendly.

We opted for some of the Lunch specials. The Rabbit terrine was wonderful and the fishcakes and French onion soup were equally enjoyed. The portions were good size (and good value!) and we had enough space for pudding. The cheesecake of the day (summerberries) was amazing, probably one of the best cheesecakes we ever had. The chocolate special of the day was so much it beat us - lovely dark chocolate sorbet.

Definitely a place we will return to!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Spent one night here after reading some of the other reviews, unfortunately my experience of Eddrachilles wasn't quite so good.

The location is excellent however the hotel is pretty tired in places, most notably our room (No 11 the family room). The bathroom was not up to an acceptable standard with a shower head over the bath that refused to stay in it's holder and a spring loaded shower screen that corralled you against the wall, the bathroom desperately needs updated.

The evening meal sounded good on paper however the reality was somewhat different, mediocre at best, despite this the service and wine selection were pretty reasonable.

Breakfast was also an average effort (make sure you are there early in the allocated 0800 - 0900 window) served in the dark, stone walled dining room which was a pretty depressing place to have breakfast when the conservatory where we had dinner the night before was a much more pleasant place to be. I understand this would involve clearing breakfast then setting up for the lunchtime service but as breakfast finishes at 0900 surely this would not be too difficult?

In summary this place is overpriced for the standard of accommodation it provides which is a pity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotTraveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dornoch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Well worth a visit. The food was excellent with a good regular menu along with interesting specials. The service was friendly and we had a lovely view out of the window overlooking Eddrachilles Bay. Local seafood a feature - I had white fish and spinach lasagne which was delicious - the fish obviously fresh. We shall return!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia and Alla... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yetts o' Muckhart
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Excellent dinner with daily changing menu, splendid wine list, wonderful view from dining room, 1st class service, very reasonable price. This is by far, the best place to dine within 50 miles - this is not to say that the others are bad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whinaem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badcall Bay
8.5 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
12.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
22.7 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
21.8 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
19.6 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eddrachilles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eddrachilles Hotel

Property: Eddrachilles Hotel
Address: Off the A894 | 2 miles south of Scourie on the North West coast, Badcall Bay IV27 4TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Badcall Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badcall Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, seasonal Highlands hotel with a quality restaurant, and magnificent sea views overlooking Badcall Bay, in NW Sutherland. A place to escape to, a chance to experience the far North. Originally a church manse dating to the eighteenth century, the property was remodelled and sympathetically extended in the later twentieth century. It now provides a 10 bedroom (all ensuite) small hotel and restaurant. Owners since March 2016 Richard and Fiona are gradually putting their own stamp on Eddrachilles, while being careful not to change the simple, honest character of this charming but remote property. The main restaurant with original flagstone floors and stone walls, overlooks a courtyard garden. Here are served both table d'hôte and tasting menus prepared by our chefs from local fresh ingredients, including seafood bought directly from the boats in the bay, lamb from local crofts and venison from local estates. Our room-rates include a cooked to order delicious Highland breakfast and complimentary teas & coffees and munchies throughout your stay while lunches (seated or packed) and a more formal afternoon tea can be arranged for residents on request. Special diets, constraints, allergies and choices can be catered for with prior notice. The lounge and sun lounge look seaward and have an open fire and cosy wood burning stoves for those days and nights when the Highland weather is less inviting. The bar has a respectable malt whisky collection while local craft gins, beers and even vodkas offer an intriguing journey through the Tastes of the North. Eddrachilles is in one of Europe's last remaining wildernesses, at the heart of the NW Highlands Geopark and close to bird watchers' favourite Handa Island. There are opportunities for independent or expert guided hillwalking, fishing, mountaineering, sea kayaking and open canoeing, although it is best to book guides in advance. Well behaved pets are very welcome, and the hotel grounds provide pleasant walks to the shore for both two and four legged guests. The hotel can be found 2 miles south of village of Scourie, the hotel's driveway leads directly off the A894. Fiona and Richard look forward to welcoming you to Eddrachilles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eddrachilles Hotel Badcall Bay, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing