We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”
Review of Dornoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dornoch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed here on 5 day break with National holidays. The setting is perfect, lovely views from bedroom window. The hotel is lovely building with lots of character but like lots of them needs an update here and there. Bedroom and bathroom were clean but had no shower, didn't bother me but it might be problem for some people. Food was good with plenty choice at dinner and an adequate serving breakfast was also good and served quickly. The staff were all friendly and helpful.I would recommend and would return but would ask for an updated room next time.We paid extra for sea view but this did not include updated room.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarboroughlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Scarboroughlover

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your break. A request can be made through National Holidays or Shearings for showers - we are installing new showers on a regular basis too. The house staff work very hard to maintain a high level of cleanliness at all times and the chef is delighted you enjoyed your meals.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    133
    97
    47
    26
See reviews for
43
233
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Impressive old style hotel easy to forgive little bits which are in need of some TLC :O)
Good base from which to explore the surrounding area`s/attractions of which there are plenty to see & do :O) Golf course on doorstep :O)
Spent 3 nights there H/B ....Service @ mealtimes was excellent and choice of food varied & of a reasonable standard.
All in all a pleasant/enjoyable experience :O)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrandadScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear GrandadScotland

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the lovely local area. All the staff work very hard to make everyones stay as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while playing golf at Royal Dornoch and found it very friendly and efficient.
Rooms were fine, nice and clean and the shower was boiling hot !
Had an early breakfast - not a problem and staff were very attentive.
All in all I found this hotel great value for money and woud definitely use again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Ian G

Thank you for your reveiw of your recent stay with us. Its great to see our guests enjoying themselves and seeing the great value for money we give in our Hotel Breaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just spent 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast at The Bay Dornoch Hotel which is in an absolutely stunning location, the hotel itself a beautiful old building however the rooms and decor are dated but spotlessly clean, the facilities especially in the bathroom are i'm afraid inadequate- no shower is not really acceptable in this day and age. The staff make this hotel, very friendly and helpful but the food was not to my taste - quite basic so we ate out the second night, nice bar area with entertainment at night if that's your thing and the bar prices are very reasonablke for a hotel, personally if i were to return i would book bed and breakfast only.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshall1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Marshall1965

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel and your short break with us recently. We are installing new showers on a regular basis. We do have a special request available when requiring a shower - this can be placed when booking through Shearings. I have to agree with you regarding my staff, I am extremely lucky to have such an attentive and caring staff.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dornoch and the Dornoch Hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

stayed in april,on a trip with national coaches,with friends to celebrate a birthday.this hotel is lovely,the views and the scenery are second to none.rooms are nice,we had a seaview which was an added bonus,clean,plenty of room.had a slight problem after being given wrong room on arrival,however this was sorted immediately,the staff are lovely,very welcoming.the food is great,very fresh,and served efficiently without any fuss,and most importantly-with a smile.its just a short stroll in to the village,which has some basic,but very nice shops,and a couple of pubs,if you fancy a change..hotel entertainment is mostly good.and prices average..the beach is also a short walk away,and a golf course just a stones throw from the hotel..would definitely recomend this hotel,and would certainly stay again..

Room Tip: we paid a little extra for seaview-well worth the money..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilkowitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Wilkowitch

Thank you for your lovely review and we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We do apologise for the mix up on the night of arrival but are pleased that it didn't spoil your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dornoch in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county durham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel .......excellent views from the hotel as well. The staff were lovely. We had a bit of a problem with our rooms when we arrived just simple a mix up and the manager couldn't have been more helpful to sort it out. We celebrated a birthday and the restaurant staff were brilliant bringing the cake out and actually getting everyone to sing happy birthday...... The food was lovely. A good selection and served fresh and hot ..... Delicious. ...... Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank durhamwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Durhamwitch
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I am very lucky to have such a good staff and it is great to see that guests appreciate them too. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future (maybe for the next birthday?)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This was our second trip to Dornoch . The weather was very good and the hotel is welcoming in a lovely location near village and beaches. Also a good base for Highland tours etc.
It is,of course, an old grand hotel and is welcoming with easy parking and grand old public rooms and staircase. The staff are also welcoming and helpful and efficient. The meals reasonable and adequate considering the price paid for the holiday.
Unfortunately ,unless one pays for an upgraded room, the bedrooms are very tired. The room was warm and bed comfortable. Amateurish ( it could not have been done by a professional )attempts to fix plumbing and decorate spoil what was otherwise a good short visit.
We will possibly be there again some time as the hotel, apart from the above, is still a good value short break.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AberdeenMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear AberdeenMatthew

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay with us. We are constantly striving to upgrade the hotel and take on board your comments. We are glad to see your enjoyed the meals and that you found your stay value for money.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
755 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
191 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Hotel

Property: Dornoch Hotel
Address: Grange Road, Dornoch IV25 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Bay Dornoch Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dornoch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own grounds overlooking the Royal Dornoch Golf Course and the beautiful sandy beaches of the Dornoch Firth this is a truly grand and impressive building. The exterior of the hotel has recently undergone tasteful redecoration and on the inside you will be greeted by a fine sweeping staircase and a warm Highland welcome. From the relaxing Sun Lounge you can admire the superb views and watch the world go by or enjoy a drink in the wood-panelled Links Lounge Bar. For the more energetic, there is a (seasonal) pitch and putt golf course in the hotel grounds where you can enjoy a round to build up your appetite for dinner. The Four Seasons and Links Restaurants within the hotel offer great dining options. This is an excellent base to visit the remote scenery of the area and to explore the lochs, moorland terrain and charm of Scotland’s far north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Dornoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing