We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatstaff, fine food, needs updateing”
Review of Dornoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dornoch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, very welcoming staff, as help full as they could be, the food was, quite good, the rooms, clean ,the downside would be that it is out-dated, very disapointed in the fact our room has no shower, not even over the bath. After asking at reception for a room with shower,and double bed, we were told they had only twin beds, but were given the chance to use the shower in another room. It was still a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quietl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear quietl13

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. We are installing more showers this winter and will have the majority of rooms with them by next year. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We found the Dornoch Hotel to be a comfortable place to stay.We were there on a dinner bed and breakfast basis.The food was tasty but being a bit greedy I would have liked larger portions. However the portions were big enough for my wife.The room was a decent size,warm and comfortable.There was an en-suite bathroom which had a bath but no shower.As the majority of the guests were knocking on a bit I think most would have appreciated a shower more than a bath.Getting out of the bath is not easy when you are growing old.The service at the hotel was excellent it could not be faulted and all the staff we encountered were friendly andhelpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear JohnW

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Having a "larger than average" appetite myself (sounds better than greedy) please do not hesitate to ask for a little more. This winter we are installing more showers that will leave us with the majority of rooms having them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Dornoch in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just returned from another stay at this friendly hotel.
Staff very helpful
Excellent food and service
Room was comfortable yes a bit dated but very clean beautiful views and spacious so we were not disappointed however you can upgrade if you want to.
Good value for money
Look forward to our next visit

Room Tip: Higher floors had stunning views Standard rooms are standard however you can pay for an upgrade if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbarasbistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Barbarabistro

Thank you so much for you lovely reveiw. We are delighted that you enjoyed your second stay of the year again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A group of seven mature motorcyclists had a lovely two nights at the Dornoch Hotel.
We've used this hotel several times before so we know that it has a high standard for everything.
Excellent value of £94 for two nights half board.
it is quite central for touring the far north of Scotland.
Staff were good . Excellent food. Entertainment was enjoyable.
We visited CROICK church which is about 8 miles west of Ardgay/ Bonner Bridge.. Croick church was involved in the 1845 clearances when 18 crofters were evicted to make room for sheep. The families took shelter outside the church and they scratched messages on the windows, showing how badly treated they were.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view cost a bit more. But we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiskyman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Whiskyman24

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. It was great to see your group return and we looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

ideal place to stay, good location, ideal for the golf course, staff very helpful, altogether a friendly hotel. you can travel self drive, or join a coach tour to this hotel. weather can be unpredictable depending on time of year. this is a shearings bay hotel.

Room Tip: ask for room with scenic view, or an upgrade but this will cost extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank remmingtonLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear remmingtonleeds

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

,My wife and I have today returned from an 8day holiday [with Shearings Holidays] at the above hotel..... First of all this holiday in no way detracts from Shearing`s ability to provide and excellent 8 day break in any way whatsoever. The Hotel is superbly sited on the Dornoch Firth and any faults indicated below may appear picky but patrons should be aware of them,given good money is spent in the hope that its enjoyed. Faults 1] Staff in the restaurant tried their level best but appeared to be mainly of Eastern European descent and they did do their level best to be extremely helpful and courteous,but appeared to be let down by lack of numbers on most days,,[there was four coaches in each day] and maybe the times given for each meal sitting was not enough[7-45 to 9am for breakfast and 6-45 to 8pm for dinner] as on four out of 7 evening meals there were several tab les still eating after 8pm and this was caused by not being served quickly between first and second courses which resulted in some patrons leaving their tables without having their sweet course.and those that did were still there 15-20 mins after 8pm...2] in our bedroom we had to watch what television we wanted. on a small[14"screen] with a black section both top and bottom of the screen..reducing this to about 8-9 ins.....When this was reported to reception we were given a reply of " we know but cannot do anything about it!!!!" [even cabins on cruises taken have flat screens] in this day and age we think this could be improved upon,but maybe wont concern us as another visit doesn't look good......On the plus side all meals were of a good level and choice/portions as with most other similar standard ones....Days out were first class and Shearings,omn this trip provided our coach with TWO optional excursions albeit a little expensive,but their two drivers--George and Tom where without question the best we have had on a lot of coach holidays with several operators,,,,TOM being to tops-- his commentaries had the coach in tears sometimes with laughter and his poems terrific. he travelled with a great sense of humour. first class difference to everyone who went with him,,, our main Coach driver [John]for the eight days break also showed an attitude of wellbeing to his passengers which was appreciated be all his subjects...other that the faults at the start it was an enjoyable 8 days
Mr and Mrs B.PITTS [HULL]

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dorianHull_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear dorianhull_

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with. We are disappointed that you were not happy with the service you received and I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments as we strive to correct any issues. The staff work hard to serve as quickly as possible but unfortunately at times, the majority of people enter the restaurant as soon as the restaurant opens and they serve people as fast as possible. When this happens this sometimes does cause a slight delay.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Booked a weeks holiday here with Shearings Self-Drive earlier this month. We have been twice before but the service at the hotel was even better this time. We had a room on the top floor so had a view of the town and the Cathedral and a table near the window in the Dining Room.
Our allotted waiter, Peter, who was Hungarian was excellent. My husband goes mountain climbing and thought he might be too late back one evening to be able to get his Evening Meal so Peter took our order in the morning and offered to have it saved until half an hour after the Restaurant normally closed. The food was delicious, especially the soup which was home made, not like in some of the other Shearings Hotels. Apparently the Chef has been there over 35 years.
I have M.S. and need to rest in the afternoons so the Housekeeping staff made sure they did our room in the mornings.
There are plenty of areas to sit and read your newspapers which you can buy at the Hotel each morning and lunch is avaialable to buy if you require it. Packed lunches can be ordered the evening before if you really need one.
As we had booked early we were given a complimentary bottle of wine, a bowl of fruit and a box of Roses Chocolates which were in our room when we arrived.
Dornoch itself is a lovely village with a few nice small shops and cafes with a small but beautiful Cathedral which we visited. We also attended their Sunday Service which we thoroughly enjoyed too. It is not far to walk from the hotel but it is an uphill walk on the way back.
We really enjoyed our holiday and will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Denise E

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your recent stay. Peter has also asked me to thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meals and were pleased with the celebration pack in your room. I have to agree with you - Dornoch is a lovely village which we are lucky to live in.

I hope it is not too long before we can welcome you back to the Dornoch Hotel

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
17 mi away
Lairg Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Hotel

Address: Grange Road, Dornoch IV25 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Bay Dornoch Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range: £58 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dornoch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own grounds overlooking the Royal Dornoch Golf Course and the beautiful sandy beaches of the Dornoch Firth this is a truly grand and impressive building. The exterior of the hotel has recently undergone tasteful redecoration and on the inside you will be greeted by a fine sweeping staircase and a warm Highland welcome. From the relaxing Sun Lounge you can admire the superb views and watch the world go by or enjoy a drink in the wood-panelled Links Lounge Bar. For the more energetic, there is a (seasonal) pitch and putt golf course in the hotel grounds where you can enjoy a round to build up your appetite for dinner. The Four Seasons and Links Restaurants within the hotel offer great dining options. This is an excellent base to visit the remote scenery of the area and to explore the lochs, moorland terrain and charm of Scotland’s far north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dornoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing