We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dornoch Hotel 332 Room with a View”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dornoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dornoch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Annan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dornoch Hotel 332 Room with a View”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Once again were back on a 5 Day Break with Shearing`s Dornoch is 284 miles from Gretna left around 13:50 arrived @ the Bay Dornoch Hotel around 20:10 so you just head in for your Evening Meal. Bea the young waitress served us throughout our stay Thank you for looking after us. Food breakfast time good,but the evening meals a little disappointing,Reception & bar staff very helpful. We went on the 2 included excursions Tom & George our drivers were very informative Thanks Guys. A good value break & superb scenery.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtritchie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear gtritchie5

Thank you for you recent review. Beata is delighted that you mentioned her and thanks you for your kind comments. I have passed on your comments to the chef regarding your meals and thank you for your comments. George and Tom are pleased you enjoyed your excursions with them too and we all hope to welcome you back to Dornoch in the future

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    121
    87
    43
    20
See reviews for
39
213
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
leeds yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

just returned home after a week with Shearings coaches to Dornoch in Scotland
we had a great time even though the journey was 10hrs we did not feel as though it was that long our Driver John was great and knowledgeable and kept us entertained. We arrived at the hotel around 8:30pm our bags were taken to our room and a lovely meal was ready and waiting on arrival, the food was great through out our stay with a choice of 3 meals each night.
My only critique would be that the photo advertised in Shearings brochure of a typical Standard room was misleading as the room shown is a standard plus room that you could upgrade to for an extra £7 per person per night. The room we got although nice was nothing like advertised and was in need of up dating but as we were only sleeping in there it was fine the bedding towels ect were spotless and the bed very comfortable.
We enjoyed all trips especially the one to John O'Groats with our relief driver Tom with his poems of Jess!!
Would travel again with Shearings value for money.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmillie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear madmillie2013

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us. All the staff are please that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Can I just say that the room shown on the website is not a standard plus room as we do not have any at this time at the hotel.
I hope we can welcome you back to Dornoch in the future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Having just returned from a 4 day Shearings break at this hotel I would say that yes our room was drab and dated, no shower facility and the most uncomfortable, creaky bed that I have ever slept on, but you don't go on coach holidays expecting 5 star luxury. The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean except for the window and curtains which obviously hadn't been cleaned for years. The meals were good and well cooked with several choices available and the waiting on staff could not have worked any harder ---- but more staff needed here as meals were lukewarm by the time they arrived. Entertainment was average and drinks were dear.
On the plus side, hotel was very clean and dining room cheerful and bright. Staff were very friendly and helpful, location was good with great views and a short walk took you to the small but very nice town..
Overall its not the worst place we have stayed in but would definitely benefit from some investment in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda_d499509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear lynda_d499509

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I have passed your comments on to the relevant departments as we strive to improve at all times. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Dornoch Hotel in the future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just returned from this hotel.Stayed for 4 nights with Shearings.First impressions where good.We arrived at 8.30pm after a 10 hour trip from Lancashire.We had 15 minutes to go to our rooms and then we had to be in the restaurant for our evening meal.The food had obviously been cooked earlier and reheated so was quite poor quality but got better as the week went on.The hotel was spotless but very very cold but maintenance came to our room and said there was an issue with the heating so maybe this was not a regular occurance but Reception did say it was on a timer which when its 3 degrees outside we did think it should of been on more often.Entertainment was hotel quality but people didnt really stay up so the room was quite empty but we did play bingo which was fun.The staff where very helpful but a word of advice do not get the £30 drink voucher that comes as an extra with the holiday as there are too many rules attached to this so check before purchasing.All in all it was the perfect location which breath taking views but I would pack a few more jumpers next time

Room Tip: We paid for a seaview but no-one complained about their rooms who had not
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melissa1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear melissa1970
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with ourselves. I am sorry your meal wasn't up to expectations on arrival and have passed on your comments to the kitchen. We did have an issue with the heating system at the time of your stay and tried to get this rectified as quickly as possible. The drinks vouchers are very popular and the drinks allowed are listed in our brochures, it is disappointing you didn't find it value for money.
We hope to welcome you back again to Dornoch
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tal-y-Bont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here in October for 3 nights.for which I enjoyed.all the staff were excellent,and went out of their way to help you.The food was tasty and plentiful.the only downside is the bedrooms are very dated and in need of a refurbishment,and cold,as the heating never came on until 5pm,which isn't good,when you've been out all day in the cold and wet

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were based here for a week. The hotel is impressive when viewed from the road, but does look a little unloved close up. The room and all the staff were excellent and the food was acceptable.The local area was beautiful and well worth seeing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suet1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear suet1959

Thank you for taking the time to review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have taken on board your comments as we strive to improve all aspects of our guests stay. I hope we can welcome you back to Dornoch in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our golf group stayed at the Bay Dornoch Hotel in August whilst playing some courses in the area. The half board room rate was exceptional value but the rooms were extremely disappointing, with many in our group not having a shower facility. The evening meal was poor on our first night so despite paying for half board, we went elsewhere on the other 2 nights. Nothing wrong with breakfast and service was excellent. If you're on a budget, I'd recommend it, but the interior of the hotel is showing its age, so be prepared.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a shower when making your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erchie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Erchie01

thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay with us in August. We are pleased you found your stay good value as this is one of our core values. We were however disappointed you did not enjoy your meals as many of our guests do and I have passed on your comments to our head chef. As you will note from my responses to other reviews we are installing more showers this winter so that the majority of rooms will have them for next year.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
179 reviews
4.7 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Hotel

Property: Dornoch Hotel
Address: Grange Road, Dornoch IV25 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Bay Dornoch Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dornoch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own grounds overlooking the Royal Dornoch Golf Course and the beautiful sandy beaches of the Dornoch Firth this is a truly grand and impressive building. The exterior of the hotel has recently undergone tasteful redecoration and on the inside you will be greeted by a fine sweeping staircase and a warm Highland welcome. From the relaxing Sun Lounge you can admire the superb views and watch the world go by or enjoy a drink in the wood-panelled Links Lounge Bar. For the more energetic, there is a (seasonal) pitch and putt golf course in the hotel grounds where you can enjoy a round to build up your appetite for dinner. The Four Seasons and Links Restaurants within the hotel offer great dining options. This is an excellent base to visit the remote scenery of the area and to explore the lochs, moorland terrain and charm of Scotland’s far north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Dornoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing