We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shearings holiday”
Review of Dornoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dornoch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just back from Dornoch went with shearings picked up at Gretna green had a lovely run up John the driver was very good and pointed out lots of interesting places. when we arrived hotel staff all ready with keys to our room. We found the food very good and staff served us very quickly and politely. the trips we had were all good and Tom the driver very good went out of his way to make our holiday one of the best yet. I would recommend going sat to sat if travelling from down south because it is a long journey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with shower not all rooms have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lesley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear lesley r

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay and John and Tom have asked me to thank you for your kind comments regarding your excursions.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Dornoch in the future.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a great looking hotel, with lovely views overlooking the golf course. The entrance and reception area are dominated by a grand sweeping staircase. The rooms are comfortable (pity about the tv) and clean and the housekeeping staff are very efficient. But the meals!! The first night, the "chef's special" had run out after 15 minutes. On the following 2 nights, the chicken was hard and dry and uneatable. Could it have been microwaved? We did not enjoy any of the meals during our stay. What a pity as this was the only thing that let the hotel down,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Robert H

Thank you for you comments and we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your meals during your stay. I have past on your comments to our Kitchen Team - and I can assure you we do not microwave any meals.
We are pleased that you enjoy all other aspects of your stay .

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

just stayed at the dornoch hotel with shearings. we had a very enjoyable stay. the impressive entrance with the wide sweeping staircase was very inviting. all the staff were very friendly and helpful. the food was also very good with lots of choice, Our room 212 was very spacious and had excellent views over the golf course and dornoch firth, well worth paying the extra for rooms with a view. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the village. the museum is well a visit, and all for a small charge of £2.50 with children going in free. we would certainly return to this hotel

Room Tip: pay the extra for room with a view room 212 was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank karenSouthendOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear karenSouthendOnSea

Thank you for you lovely review of your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. I agree the view from the front of the hotel is great and well worth paying a little extra for. Historylinks - the museum in the Dornoch is definitely worth a visit and is great value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

my wife and I stayed here for 3 nights while on a coach trip
the hotel looks nice from the outside and has a grand staircase you see when you arrive
the restaurant and public rooms are nicely decorated - maybe a bit old fashioned but in good general order apart from a leak in the front conservatory area with a stain on the wall and some paint coming off the ceiling

the first room we were given was not very nice and did not have a shower only a bath - not what you expect in the 21st century so we paid an extra £30 per night for a superior room and this was much nicer and bigger with sea view and modern bathroom with shower

the food was o.k, not fine dining but acceptable for the price we paid on a half board basis the only bad thing was I had a view of a dead plant in a pot and it was there for the 4 days which did not look good at the front of the hotel (it would take someone 30 seconds to move it but nobody did)

the hotel is a shearings hotel and if aimed at coach parties and older guests - the evening entertainment was o.k but definitely not my style and aimed at the 60 + age group

the staff were mostly pleasant and helpful and the overall service at the bar and in the restaurant was o.k

I would consider staying there again due to the location and price

Room Tip: pay the extra for a superior room there is a big difference in room quality and they have a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mmcquade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear mmcquade

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review of your stay with us. We have taken you comments on board as we work to meet all our customers expectations. I can confirm the offending plant has been moved and we are awaiting a roofer to carry out repairs to the sunlounge roof before being able to do repairs inside.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Dornoch Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Cant complain about anything,everything was spot on,staff,room,food,views were the best ever looking out over the golf course and out to sea,Donna was a star and i hope she gets the promotion she truly deserves.Thanks again from John room 222.These are for Donna xxx.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank screenjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear screenjohn

Thank you so much for your kind review of your recent stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed the time spent here and Donna is delighted and thanks you for your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Dornoch in the future

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked an 8 day holiday with Shearings at the last minute and arrived on 26th July. We picked up our main coach at Stretton, departed early, good journey up, our driver Richard was very knowledgable an polite. Hotel in beautiful location, views of Golf course and Dornoch Firth. Public areas of hotel very nice, lovely reception area and staircase. We requested low floor and room with shower and we got both. Donna Deputy Manageress greated us, very nice, helpful and pleasant. All the staff very pleasant, smiling, helpful. They coped with four coaches and car drivers, over 200 people were in, no one seemed to wait for their meals, they were certainly efficient. We had two early starts and the waiters and waitresses were all on for breakfast and served breakfast quickly so we could leave on time, Edit was our waitress and she was excellent. The unsung heros must be the Chef's and kitchen staff who must have also worked non stop and I pass on my thanks to them. The food was always warm, there was a good choice for everyones taste, the Haggis my favourite! You certainly got enought to eat and nice choice of desserts. The room we had was a basic standard, it was clean, had tea facilities small tv and was a nice size room, room 102. The cleaning lady was always very pleasant and came back when we wanted to go in our room on one occassion to clean our room. Hopefully one day the basic standards will have an upgrade on the bedding and curtain colours and have a small flat screen TV, but the room is certainly very good value overall. You were seved coffee or tea after the meal and the lady serving you was always pleasant. The bar area an lounge area had plenty of seating, and the sun lounge was very nice, although a small leak when we had a heavy down pour, which I hope they manage to get fixed soon as a lovely place to sit and admire the view of the Firth. The trips we had out were again excellent. Because so many were in the hotel the optional trips were on a first come first served basis, we managed to get on them. Not badly priced, worth the money. We visited Inverness and the Black Isle and also a scenic tour of Durness through the mountains and by the sea. The drivers shared the tours. Richard did some, John the other driver we had on one half day tour, who was also very knowledgeable and pleasant. Tom the resident/relief driver we had for the Durness tour and was every bit as good as previous reviews. Told you a couple of funny poems, as did Richard on way home, and also some jokes. Knoweldge excellent and he also helped out serving teas and coffee's on morning stop and also helped served lunches too. We also got a drink on board his coach on the way back. All three drivers very good. The included trips were very enjoyable too, especially the Orkneys, beautiful place, we had a lovely sunny day, but take Richard's advice to take some something warm with you and waterproof as even on a warm day it can be a bit cool. Very well organised, coach to meet you on other side and driver takes you round and tells you a lot of information, excellet trip. The whole tour was excellent and the journey back was fine, back at Stetton for 3.45pm, earlier that expected. Would recommend this holiday and the hotel. Yes it needs a little money spending on it, but overall it is fine and the enternaintment again very good, the night with the piper is really good, every night was good. I am a younger traveller under 50 and although it may be some of the older songs played they are easy to listen too and at least everyone knows them. Well done all at the Dornoch hotel and Shearings. Hope to go back again sometime. One last tip, if you want to make sure you have a shower in your bathroom request it as I think there are still some rooms awaiting them to be fitted.

Room Tip: Request a shower to ensure you get one in your bathroom, still some rooms to have them fitted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tbag2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Tbag2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are al please to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and Donna and the drivers have asked me to thank you for taking the time to mention them personally. The excursions are great that are offered on the tours and the Durness run is one my own particular favourites.
We hope we can welcome you back to the Dornoch Hotel in the future

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Went to Dornoch bay hotel Mon-Fri Self drive with my Grandson and Husband 28th July we were on the 3rd Floor great view from window looking onto Golf course and beach. Room was great bathroom never had a shower that was my only complaint.Food was good even James my grandson ate it.entertainment was good really enjoyed the break. would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for one with a shower not unless you like a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMoutrie, General Manager at Dornoch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Mary C

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you and James enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you both back in the future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
4.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
217 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Hotel

Address: Grange Road, Dornoch IV25 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Bay Dornoch Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range: £42 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dornoch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own grounds overlooking the Royal Dornoch Golf Course and the beautiful sandy beaches of the Dornoch Firth this is a truly grand and impressive building. The exterior of the hotel has recently undergone tasteful redecoration and on the inside you will be greeted by a fine sweeping staircase and a warm Highland welcome. From the relaxing Sun Lounge you can admire the superb views and watch the world go by or enjoy a drink in the wood-panelled Links Lounge Bar. For the more energetic, there is a (seasonal) pitch and putt golf course in the hotel grounds where you can enjoy a round to build up your appetite for dinner. The Four Seasons and Links Restaurants within the hotel offer great dining options. This is an excellent base to visit the remote scenery of the area and to explore the lochs, moorland terrain and charm of Scotland’s far north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dornoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing