We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay again”
Review of Dornoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dornoch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
shc77
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would never stay again”
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We arrived with our small baby asking for baby changing facilities to be told to change him on the bar....
Then when unpacking our car trying to get past all the staff on the door way having their very frequent fag breaks with all our stuff to be watched struggling having to ask for help,
Our 'family room' was above the function room, very noisy so our baby did not sleep the three nights we were there. We were 4 minutes late for breakfast, so we were told straight 'No' so no breakfast was given.
There were buckets to collect water coming in from the roof......should I go on, this is without a doubt the worst hotel I have stayed.
Very unhelpful staff, when complaining when leaving we were just told that they specialise in over 50's ...... why have family rooms at all then and was not made clear at all when booking this was not a family friendly hotel at all.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    126
    94
    45
    22
See reviews for
42
224
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We visited the Dornoch Hotel on 24th. to 26th. July and found it to be the usual excellent value from Shearings. The bedroom, food, bar etc were perfectly adequate and would not hesitate in returning at any time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balgover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2009

This is a very impressive looking hotel but closer inspection reveals its air of genteel decay. When we arrived we had to walk past several members of staff all crowded round the hotel's front entrance.[ They were all on their ciggy break ] Hardly a good first impession.
Our room on the third floor was quite small but clean and cosy. However, the bathroom had black mould on the tiles and my husband could hardly squeeze into the shower.
The meals were fine and the service excellent.
Having said all this, we still had an enjoyable stay and found all the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehamptin Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Went with Shearings Coaches on an 8 an day holiday Going up we stopped for the night at Hotel on the hill " Swallows in Carsile ( Revue later) then on to Dornoch . This is one of the best hotels that Shearings offer Even though we had not pait fof the sea view we were given one. When you looked over the grounds and the golf course to the sea at the Firth of Dornoch it was enough to take your breath away.
The only disapointing thing was the fact that as the hotel was very old the floor creaked quite loudly when you walked on some of them.
Well worth the money to up grade to Sea view and a lower floor than the 4th floor which is what we stayed on

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazz336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Another Shearings hotel and run in exactly the same way as the others I've been to. Inexpensive, great staff and good value for money, in an older but well 'done up' building. I spent a long weekend there with friends, visiting (not so) local sights and doing some walking. Some other self-drive visitors were there for the golf course, which is opposite the hotel. Most people were there as part of a Shearings coach trip, but don't let that put you off, they might be mainly of the older variety, however they are there to have fun and generally manage it. Breakfast and evening meals, which are fairly regimented but efficiently handled, are included, as is six evenings entertainment a week. My only gripe is that the car parking slots are a bit nippet, but that seems to be a local as well as a hotel feature. 'Nippet' is Doric for 'tight'.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilt-scale-gyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
4.7 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Hotel

Property: Dornoch Hotel
Address: Grange Road, Dornoch IV25 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Bay Dornoch Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dornoch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own grounds overlooking the Royal Dornoch Golf Course and the beautiful sandy beaches of the Dornoch Firth this is a truly grand and impressive building. The exterior of the hotel has recently undergone tasteful redecoration and on the inside you will be greeted by a fine sweeping staircase and a warm Highland welcome. From the relaxing Sun Lounge you can admire the superb views and watch the world go by or enjoy a drink in the wood-panelled Links Lounge Bar. For the more energetic, there is a (seasonal) pitch and putt golf course in the hotel grounds where you can enjoy a round to build up your appetite for dinner. The Four Seasons and Links Restaurants within the hotel offer great dining options. This is an excellent base to visit the remote scenery of the area and to explore the lochs, moorland terrain and charm of Scotland’s far north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dornoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing