We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seagulls Apart......”
Review of Dornoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dornoch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Reviewed 25 July 2010

......Shearings provided my Wife and I with a very affordable and enjoyable two day break (self drive), apart from the seagulls, hundreds of them, squawking day and night time too! Naturally Shearings cannot be blamed for these very noisy birds but can be congratulated for providing excellent value and service.

It must be borne in mind we are not talking The Ritz or The Grosvenor hotels here and as long as that is realised you will not be disappointed if our visit was anything to go by.

All the staff we came into contact with (including the manager who was criticised heavily in an earlier review) treated us with courtesy and friendliness. Wherever we were in the hotel and came into contact with the staff we were acknowledged with a smile and a cheery 'hello' or 'good morning'.

The restaurant service was fast and professional with all serving staff immaculately turned out, the food portions were more than adequate and of a good standard.

We paid extra for a sea view room and were not disappointed, adequately furnished, clean, serviced well and included a shower.

Despite the pesky seagulls a return visit is planned.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdforte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2010

We booked with Shearings- two rooms with showers and paid by credit card on the internet. Our friends got a room with shower-we did not.
The manager said only a fraction of rooms have showers. When I pointed out that I had booked two rooms with showers he said they only take requests not bookings! If they have a room with a shower when you arrive you may get it otherwise tough luck!
Of course they ahd rooms with showers -I had to pay £30 extra. He was very abusive, aggresive and arrogant when I said I expected to get what I booked and not be made pay extra.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BuarianK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My boyfriend booked this trip away for my 21st birthday! To be honest i was dreading the whole thing! I thought the hotel was going to be horrible and outdated ( from what i read on here). However I suppose if you expect the worse only good could happen!It took a really long time to get up there however i was surprised to find the most gorgeous room over looking the golf course and the sea! The room was modern with a flat screen tv and the bathroom was that new there was still some protective seal on the door frame! Didnt go on many of the excursions .. however went for a walk along the beach and explored the town! I thought all the people in the hotel were lovelly and made us feel so comfortable (even tho we were the youngest people there by about 30 years). The entertainment wasnt my cup of tea but i enjoy the company and the relaxing time i had (the free drinks made it more bearable)On the last night i received a bottle of champagne from the staff at the hotel to celebrate my birthday! The food wasnt amazing but it wasnt the worst i had eaten by far! I really enjoyed myself .. what a relaxing time! :) thank you 2 everyone xxx

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missclays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Well what can we say, a 5 day break in lovely Dornoch was superb! Yes the hotels a bit dated but its clean and food and staff were more than acceptable, our room was also a bit dated but very clean and well cared for. The value for money was superb, and now for the famous GEOFF mentioned earlier, this chap is very shipshape but a mind of information,a careful and considerate host and took us to some lovely spots, His commentary is very interesting and he knows his stuff, we liked him a lot and we had complaints from other coach parties that their drivers were miserable and lazy and funnily enough they were always back well before Geoff got us back,he has been doing this for 36 years and is a complete star! Well done Geoff we certainly enjoyed your time with us.....The bar is worth a mention we had free drinks from 7.30 to 10.30 plenty of choice and quick service - The entertainment was good, Ronnie Ross was superb - look out for him.Snow was all around us making our time in Dornoch quite magical

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

stayed monday 22nd to friday 26th feb, Hotel was clean and nice but maintenence work should be carried out in a few areas, eg, buckets in a few areas to catch drips from the ceiling,our room radiator didnt work although a hot air blower was put in our room. Windows are old and rattled, had to stuff tissue paper in them to stop it. Food was eatable, previous remarks stated they were small portions and they were, but three courses didnt leave us hungry. Entertainment was ok but wouldnt rave over it,one night the lady in the duet sounded like a cat with a paw stuck in the door, awful. Everyone seemed to have a good time, the all inclusive bar 7.30.to.10.30 did help.The staff in all areas of the hotel were nice,restaurant staff consisted of a mix of foreigners and communication sometimes was difficult. Now for Geoff our coach driver, having read a review that mentioned Geoff I can only say we were wary when we found we had the same driver.The previous review of a passenger who was on the same holiday as we were mentioned he ran a" tight ship"well that may have something to do with his bossy attitude,it was almost like being on a school trip and not an adult holiday.people were to scared to get on the coach a minute late incase they got the cane. his trips out seemed only to take you to a shop or a cafe for cream teas that he reccommended,must be on a backhander from these places.he pointed out areas while we were on the coach as being good for photos and to get your camera out,but by the time you had he had zoomed past them,so no photo. All in all it was a nice break,first time with Shearings and would do it again,having been to Dornoch we would not go again as there is not much there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Went with brother and sister (all 50+) for a Monday to Friday all inclusive break with Shearings. Paid extra for a seaview and was given a lovely large twin bedded room on second floor, overlooking the golf links and beach. Room was exceptionally warm - we slept with the window slightly open to cool the room down (Rm 216). Brother had a single room which was nicely furnished. Really enjoyed our excursions with Geoff. He was a mine of information, run a very "tidy" coach and even got his bagpipes out a few times to entertain us. The punctuality and coach rules made a more pleasant experience for everyone. The hotel restaurant served lovely food and the waiters and waitresses were all extremely helpful and cheerful. The hotel guests made good use of the bar and entertainment and everyone seemed well pleased. We nearly had to stay another night as the snowfall was heavy but Shearing head office reckoned we could get home via a 3 hr detour, which we did. It was interesting travelling through Glencoe amongst snow drifts. Apparently the road was closed behind us so our driver did well to get us through. Thank you Dornoch Hotel - it was a long trip but a memorable one.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank EmmCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We travelled with National Holidays and can honestly say that we had a wonderful time. We were in room 334 and were surprised when we saw the size of it. It was a corner room with a double and single bed and ample furniture and storage space. It was very clean apart from a couple of stains on the carpet but chilly. Craig, the trainee manager, saw to the heating straight away but the fact that it had two windows which are a bit draughty meant that it always had the chilly element. It didn't matter that much cos we used the bedding off the single bed to keep warm in the night. We didn't spend enough time in the room otherwise to feel the need to make an issue of it. The bathroom was a bit snug but adequate albeit no shower. The staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful. We liked the fact that they refused bar service to certain people who were there just to get drunk. The same group were smoking in their rooms and in the toilets but were dealt with swiftly by Craig and staff.
The view from the hotel is lovely - especially at sunrise - and the clear night skies were wonderful for stargazers. The food was good - the desserts were to die for! I am so glad I turned down Eva's offer of second helpings! Thanks again for your impeccable service! The entertainment was ok. Don't pay these prices for A/I and expect chart toppers. It's all good fun - we're in our early fifities and had a good time. We didn't go on one of the organised trips, opting to wander round Dornoch instead. Even in the pelting rain it's a quaint village with nice gift shops and lovely views across the Firth. All the locals we met were most welcoming. The cathedral is well worth a visit. Thanks to the lovely lady (laden with shopping) who insisted on accompanying us and ensuring we could gain access. We went on the trip to John O'Groats on a beautiful clear day which enabled us to enjoy the marvellous scenery and our optional trip to Ullapool was full of fun in the rain thanks in no small measure to our driver Alan Summerhill. (Shearings customers were even asking to come on our trips cos we were having so much fun and they were complaining about the miserable driver they had). Thanks again to those on the bus - Sorry, Alan, coach :-) - who helped us enjoy a wonderful week away. We hope to see you all again at another time. Will definitely be checking before booking that we can have Alan as our driver again - you're a star, mate. And a big thank you again to all staff at the hotel. Till we all meet again - Happy Christmas and best wishes for 2010.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boddamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
817 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
4.8 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
10.9 mi away
Sutherland Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Hotel

Address: Grange Road, Dornoch IV25 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Bay Dornoch Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range: £58 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dornoch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in its own grounds overlooking the Royal Dornoch Golf Course and the beautiful sandy beaches of the Dornoch Firth this is a truly grand and impressive building. The exterior of the hotel has recently undergone tasteful redecoration and on the inside you will be greeted by a fine sweeping staircase and a warm Highland welcome. From the relaxing Sun Lounge you can admire the superb views and watch the world go by or enjoy a drink in the wood-panelled Links Lounge Bar. For the more energetic, there is a (seasonal) pitch and putt golf course in the hotel grounds where you can enjoy a round to build up your appetite for dinner. The Four Seasons and Links Restaurants within the hotel offer great dining options. This is an excellent base to visit the remote scenery of the area and to explore the lochs, moorland terrain and charm of Scotland’s far north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dornoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing