We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 18 Dornoch B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

A lovely home-like place.

The room was very comfortable, spotless, good bed and with some great extra's (DVD library, free WiFi, well-stocked tea & coffee place, iPod docking and more).

Tom & Mary were very kind and friendly, and they really seemd to be enjoying running the B&B.

Breakfast was a real treat: Great Scotish breakfast with fresh fruit salad, fresh eggs and excellent tea. All served in a very nice dining room.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

When a last-minute trip to the north of Scotland was arranged, I was thrilled to find this B&B. Tom and Mary are two of the kindest hosts we've met on our travels. I am disabled and they were sure to clear the parking place just outside the front steps and door to make my walk a bit easier. Our room was immaculate and had every possible convenience you could imagine. The towels and toiletries were arranged so beautifully on the bed - as another reviewer said, the attention to detail is faultless. After having dinner in nearby Dornoch (at a restaurant Mary recommended), we were so happy to come back to a comfortable bed and complete and total silence. Breakfast was delicious - the fruit salad so fresh and appealing. The eggs were cooked perfectly. We simply wouldn't be able to fault this B&B in any way. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernBelle52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Interesting property (former fever hospital) with fabulous views. Every need/wish catered for. Tom and Mary were very kind and friendly and it was so good we stayed a second night.Very convenient for exploring the Highlands. Breakfasts were excellent. We also appreciated the potted history of the building placed in each room

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EENR1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed here with my husband for an overnight on route to John O Groats. We were pleasantly surprised when Mary showed us into our lovely double room with balcony. The room was immaculate, tastefully decorated and very comfortable and had all those added little extras that you look for but dont often get! Great value for money, especially when you experience the full scottish breakfast in the morning, no expense spared. Will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it and hope our onward accommodation lives up to it. Only one little snag, their website advises that the cost is £25 per person, however it was actually £35 per person. Needs up dated. Overall a really nice experience, thank you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magken11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlandpenny, Owner at Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you so much for your review we really appreciate it. I would just like to say that the problem you had with the pricing on our website, it doesn't say the price IS £25 per person it is FROM £25 per person and that price is for low season or I should say was for low season, as they will be increased this autumn. sorry if it's not clear, i will try to address that. but once again a million thanks for your review and we hope you do come back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Stayed form June 30 to July3 . Excellent welcome from Tom and Mary who showed us to a large well furnished room. Leather Setee! Comfy beds and large ensuite Bathroom with shower and balcony overlooking Loch Fleet. Good reasonably priced trout fishing in the area and free sea trout fishing on loch Fleet Estuary. Very handy for golf at Tain, Dornoch and Bonar but the star is Golspie 10 to 15 minutes away. Breakfast is outstanding with high class cutlery and table linen. High quality food whether full Scottish or continental. Lovely balcony which even has a midge control machine. Four miles from Golspie and Dornoch with a 15 minute run to Tain. Great Centre for touring to Lochinver Ullapool Scourie , Durness John O' Groats and for trips to Orkney.We enjoyed great weather with NO rain, four rounds of golf and three fishing trips.An easy four hour run from the Central Belt with excellent fuel economy of 57 mpg on our two litre diesel. We also returned to Stay on July 7 after watching golf at Castle Stuart. We returned home after driving to Lochinver and Ullapool For some spectacular Sight seeing

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnycMotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Strathview is an excellent B&B. The room is spotless, nice furnishing and has the wonderful view. I love the idea of "the plate" for us to put our shoes and the charger for i-phone in the room. From many details, we could feel that the host is dedicated to form the excellent B&B. We felt very relax and slept very well at that night. The breakfast was amazing......all kinds of fresh fruit, bread and excellent full Scottish breakfast. If I have the chance, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IVYHUANG51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Strathview is a very nice bed and breakfast where they pay attention to detail and they make feel you at home.

In the room there were everything that we could need. The shower was very nice and the room view´s very relaxing.

The breakfast was amazing, all the fruits and the excellent croissants as well as the full British.

The only issue is that it is at a few kilometers distance from Dornoch, but other than that, they really deserve a visit.

Thanks for the nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlandpenny, Owner at Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
We would like to thank everyone who has given us a review on Trip Advisor, I was not aware that we could respond until now so a huge thank you to everyone so far
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
4.7 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
442 reviews
8.7 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
9.8 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Sutherland Inn Hotel
4.6 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
780 reviews
4.7 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: Cambusavie, Dornoch IV25 3JD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our tranquil four star en suite accommodation guesthouse is situated close to Royal Dornoch with its world renowned Golf Courses, award winning beach and twelfth century cathedral. All rooms are on the ground floor although the house is reached by a number of flights of steps, there is more than ample private car parking space, and storage for cycles is available. Both Dornoch (6.5 miles) and Golspie (5.4 miles) offer a good variety of restaurants. Free Wireless Internet is available for our guests. Strathview is no smoking inside the building, but smokers are free to smoke in the gardens away from the house. We do accept pets, subject to certain conditions, available on request. Strathview offers full Scottish and Continental breakfast, with vegetarian meals on request. Packed lunches and evening meals available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathview Lodge Bed And Breakfast Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing