We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decidely Average”

Alex Chinese Takeaway
Ranked #10 of 17 Restaurants in Dornoch
Cuisines: Chinese, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decidely Average”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I had a beef curry which was nothing special and my son had fish (frozen) & chips which he said weren't very good.

At £12 I thought it was a bit pricey. I could get this from my local in Falkirk for about £9.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank seanmccabeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    37
    16
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

With all the other choices in Dornoch, this is not a place that should be on your list. It is not at all appealing from the street and the place seems very out of character with Dornoch. My suggestion would be to walk to the Cooperative down the street and pick up the fixings and call it take away (the Cooperative also has prepared foods) as an alternative.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golspie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Very Upset”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The first time I went to Alex's Chinese Takeaway, the food was mediocre, not that good to be fair. I thought I'd give it another chance today in the hopes that perhaps it was just that one time disappointment, and that it would be better today. Not the case at all. I am very upset and cannot understand how every different thing I order all seems to be Sweet & Sour! Other people may not know about Chinese food, but I certainly am very familiar with it. Today what I ordered was not only very disgusting but also nothing close to how it should have tasted or looked like. Since when does kung pao taste like sweet and sour?!?! It is supposed to be spicy! You would think they would have a little more pride in their food and culture, and serve something decent. I will never be going back again and I certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone. I am the type of person that likes anything put in front of me..this was a first!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really tasty”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Staying in a caravan nearby, on our first night we didn't feel like cooking. We had vegetable chow mein (for the two veggies), beef chow mein and chips and curry sauce. Service was quick and cheerful. The food was very tasty - would go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

There were 8 of us all having a range of meals none of which were good. I would describe at least 4 of us as the kind of people that are not fussy, would eat anything and generally easy pleased but the meals were just nowhere near up go the kind of standard that we have in our local Chinese takeaways in our small local town. The meals were bland, smallish, and just poor quality.

I would NOT recommend this even if you really have the notion for a Chinese meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alex Chinese Takeaway also viewed

Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Alex Chinese Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing