We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”
Review of Royal Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Golf Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I concluded our 11-day tour of Scotland by staying at the Royal Golf Hotel. First, this hotel is not just for golfers. The town of Dornoch is small, cozy, quaint and wonderful. And the people who live and work there are terrific. We stayed in Room 210, which is a corner room with windows on 2 sides, but sides overlooking the golf course and ocean. Absolutely breathtaking. We could sit and watch the golf and ocean all day long. The service is terrific, and the staff is very friendly and attentive. And for those of you who do play golf, you are in for a real treat. You will not be disappointed. And if you are like me, you will leave with incredible memories. We were blessed with great weather. Make sure you bring lots of film or extra batteries for your camera.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear TomC,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor following your recent stay here.
Yours is truly a wonderful review and we are grateful for your feedback. You are absolutely right when you say the Royal Golf is not just for golfers, however for obvious reasons due to our splendid location over-looking the first tee of Royal Dornoch Golf Club, golfers are a major part of our business. Non golfers are made to feel equally welcome and there is so much to do and see in this stunning part of Scotland. Again I agree that visitors should bring plenty of spare film (or batteries) to capture those magical pictures of our spectacular scenery.
Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    53
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
95
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We were originally booked to stay in the nearby Bay Dornoch hotel for 3 nights and were informed a few days before that the hotel was to be closed due to a norovirus outbreak and we would be moved o the Royal Golf Hotel.
We had contacted the hotel that morning to ask if we could check in early (usual time being 2pm) as we were attending a wedding nearby at 2pm, the manager/receptionist were very accommodating and said they would arrange with the housekeeping staff for our room to be ready for 1pm.
On arrival we were checked in promptly, made aware of the necessities and shown to our room. We explained to the receptionist we had originally been booked into the Bay Dornoch on a bed, breakfast and dinner basis, although the booking information she had for us was not that specific and they didn’t offer the same package, she called The Bay Dornoch to confirm whilst we were upstairs getting ready for the wedding and called to confirm they would provide dinner for us aswell.
Our room was lovely, modern and spacious with a massive en-suite, big flat screen TV, freeview etc. Although we were booked to stay in a double, the only room available was a twin but the beds were easily adjusted. Our rooms were serviced each day after we left (we put 'do not disturb' hanger on door so we could get a lay in).
We were warmly welcomed at breakfast (considering we always turned up 5 mins before the end of service!), plenty of choice and the scrambled eggs were particularly nice!
We didn’t dine on the first evening as we ate at the wedding but the next two evenings dinner was lovely and very filling. On check out on the last day, again we were rushing away to catch the Falconry display at nearby Dunrobin Castle as I left my dress hanging in wardrobe, luckily the reception staff were promptly on the phone and we collected it after we had visited the castle.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with The Royal Golf Hotel and think we could have ended up with a much better deal and hotel than we originally booked for!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Piecesandjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear Piecesandjam,
Many thanks for posting such a very good review on tripadvisor following your recent stay here having been booked out from a nearby hotel.
Naturally I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The most rewarding aspect about your comments is knowing that the team are providing a caring, friendly and professional service to our guests which happily comes naturally to them.
I hope you will be able to visit us again sometime in the future.
Thank you again and I wish you all the very best.
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I usually expect golf hotels to be somewhat spartan. This is definitely not the case with the Royal Dornoch Golf Hotel. The building is a magnificent mansion. Rooms are relatively large and extremely comfortable--all furnishing were new. The bar and leisure room were very inviting. Golfers could relax and talk about their round or watch the big screen TV over a pint. The restaurant overlooks the magnificent views of the golf course and served some of the best food I had in Scotland on my recent trip. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Best of all, the hotel is right next to the Royal Dornoch Golf Links clubhouse. You walk from your room to the first tee. All-in-all I had a wonderful stay and plan to return.

Room Tip: Ask for view of golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear StephenJ,
Thank you for your very generous and kind review posted recently following your stay at The Royal Golf Hotel.
Naturally I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. A fine compliment indeed to say chefs food is some of the best you have tasted in Scotland during your trip !
We do believe that the walk from the hotel reception to the first tee is probably the shortest in the world from a hotel to a golf course !
I do look forward to welcoming you back to Dornoch and The Royal Golf in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

When we arrived to the hotel, I though that ok another old old hotel looking quite good but providing mediocre quality. And how wrong was I.
The rooms are very nice and modern - actually when you walk the corridors you would not guess that the rooms are so nice.
The FOOD! This part was the biggest surprise for us. Head Chef (Sam) is really a world class chef. The seafood risotto that was served was so good - probably one of the best risottos I have had. Also other parts of our menu was very good. The food was supported by great wines we found from their wine list.
Excellent value!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Panu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Panu R,
Firstly may I thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on tripadvisor following your recent stay here at The Royal Golf Hotel, Dornoch.
Infact it was the Head Chef, Sam, who drew my attention to the fact we had received another review. It was no wonder he mentioned it considering the nature of the review ! You wouldn't believe how many guests are truly delighted with his Seafood Riosotto. This is his signature dish and it never fails to impress.
To say he is 'world class' is a fantastic compliment and we are very grateful for your comments and enjoyment of the food.
Thank you again and I hope we can offer Highland Hospitality to you once more in the future.
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

One of the best golf experiences lies 300 feet from your door. Inside awaits a cozy, exquisitely furnished living room/ bar area for after your round. Upstairs the rooms are fairly newly rennovated. Our Ross suite was Scottish in decor, comfy, new large bathroom with great shower. Bed excellent. Large windows overlooking the first tee, eighteen green, and Donoch Firth.

Friendly, efficient staff. And good dinner too. We ate here one night, delicious.

Room Tip: ross suite overlooks first tee. bed is an american king. the singles are tiny, but do the job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank othello1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear othello 1111,
Thank you for your wonderful review posted recently following your stay with us. You certainly appear to have enjoyed all aspects of your stay which is very pleasing and I do hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed at the Royal Golf Hotel for two nights in August, 2012: Its staff was very welcoming and helpful; the room was comfortable and clean; and the food in the restaurant served cheerfully. I would definitely stay at the Royal Golf Hotel again simply for the excellent service and, of course, proximity to the golf course.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hudsondeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Hudsondeal,
Thank you so much for your kind review posted recently following your stay here in April.
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to Dornoch and The Royal Golf Hotel. I hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Were not for its location, this hotel would not merit a 4/5 rating. The hotel is expensive and needs upgrading. The bed sagged - not really acceptable in a high-end hotel and the bathroom needed sprucing up. Carpeting in the common areas was somewhat worn and should be replaced. Breakfast was good and overall, service was excellent. People were helpful and most accommodating. We loved the views and access to the golf course and phenominal beach. This hotel has great fundamentals and could easily be ranked 5/5 if these elements were addressed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Anne D,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor following your recent stay at The Royal Golf Hotel.
I take on board your constructive comments. I have to admit I am slightly baffled by your observation about the sagging bed as the mattresses were all renewed just over two years ago and should still be in excellent condition. We will of course check all the beds in order to discover if there is a problem with one of them. During last winter we re-furbished 16 of our 22 bathrooms to a lovely stylish and contemporary standard so I can only deduce that you stayed in one of the rooms where the bathroom was an existing one.We felt these bathrooms were still in excellent condition, however we will now review this based on your comments. If you get an opportunity to e-mail me on the hotel address just to let me know which room you stayed in that would be really appreciated. As you may know we close during the winter from mid November until Mid March so will be carrying out maintenance during this period which includes the points you mention.
I am pleased you found the service to be excellent and you thought the team were helpful.
Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you get the chance to visit us again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.0 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
780 reviews
11.2 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Golf Hotel

Property: Royal Golf Hotel
Address: The First Tee Grange Road, Dornoch IV25 3LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Golf Hotel, is perfectly situated overlooking the first tee of Royal Dornoch Championship Golf Course, the 6th best golf course in the world as judged by Golf Digest. All 22 bedrooms are en-suite and furnished to a high standard, most having superb views across the golf course and the Dornoch Firth beyond. Free WiFi internet access. The Conservatory Restaurant serves locally sourced,fresh seasonal food in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Golf Hotel Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing