We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Golf Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dornoch Hotel(Dornoch)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosslyn Villa(Dornoch)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (238)
    Filter reviews
    238 results
    Traveller rating
    152
    59
    19
    4
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    152
    59
    19
    4
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsdornoch firthdining roombreakfast was includedcorner roomsmall hotelwould highly recommend this hotelhotel restaurantlovely hoteldinner menuhousekeeping stafffirst classlounge areafish and chipsexcellent stayscottish highlandsvenisonsea view
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    174 - 179 of 238 reviews
    Reviewed 22 November 2012

    Loved this place. We found the staff helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable and spacious. Had the third floor room overlooking golf course and awoke to the great view.
    Food was good. The bar was a great place to spend the evening sampling various flavors.

    • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Jim F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

    Dear Jim F,
    Thank you very much for taking the time to post your kind review on tripadvisor recently following your stay at the hotel. It sounds like you stayed in one of our Suites on the top floor with their magnificent views across the golf course and Dornoch Firth beyond.
    Naturally I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and once again thank you for letting us know.
    I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.
    Kind Regards,
    Robert Ratcliffe
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 November 2012

    We declined the first room we were offered as it was a ground floor and a small double. We paid more for an upgrade and were given one of the penthouse rooms. Fine views of the bay but disturbing when the ground staff set to to mow the greens and fairways at the crack of dawn. Restaurant was fine. Didn't see much evidence of attentive staff others comment on. Indifference seemed to be the standard response.

    Room Tip: Be aware of potential for early morning noise
    • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank daloughlin
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

    Dear Morris Edward,
    Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your brief stay at The Royal Golf Hotel, Dornoch.
    When you say in the title 'Probably better if you are a golfer', - what do you mean ? If you refer to the fact that we are located only a matter of yards from the first tee of this world renowned golf course or the fact we have a club store room and purpose built drying room for those rainy days then you are absolutely right. However we welcome all our guests warmly and sincerely regardless of the purpose of their stay.
    I am pleased that we were able to offer you an upgrade to one of our two Suites, with its magnificent views across the golf course and Dornoch Firth beyond. I believe you stayed in the Donald Ross Suite, named after the famous golf course architect and son of Dornoch.
    You mentioned the green staff disturbing your sleep early in the morning. I understand from a previous review that you like to sleep with the bedroom window open - although perfectly understandable this unfortunately contributed to your disturbed sleep. Royal Dornoch is a world class golf course, ranked 16th in the world so it is a requirement and necessity that the greenkeepers work on the greens and fairways very early prior to the first golfers teeing off. Let's be honest, the noise is not really that bad and this is the first such remark I have heard in three years during my time here.
    Equally it is the first time I have heard my staff referred to as indifferent. We pride ourselves on our friendly, relaxed and professional service and hospitality. I regret if you feel otherwise and hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Royal Golf in the future.
    Kind Regards,
    Robert Ratcliffe
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 November 2012

    On arrival at the Hotel we were greeted by friendly reception staff and shown to our room. First impressions count and we were surprised at the quality of the room, fixtures & fittings, the entire hotel is sparklingly clean and has a very homely feel. Contemporary & modern in feel. We attended a function out with the hotel and were really saddened not to be able to dine in the links & sea facing dining room. Next time for sure. Breakfast was as expected. Top notch. Fantastic staff, really great hotel. So impressed. Looking forward to many return visits.

    Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    3  Thank Glen_10
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

    Dear Glen_10,
    Many thanks for your complimentary comments following your recent stay at our hotel. Yes it is a shame you could not get the opportunity to dine in the Conservatory Restaurant with its stunning views across the golf course and dornoch firth beyond. Based in Elgin you really must come back up for a weekend break next season and experience chefs cooking and the fine, relaxing ambiance of the Conservatory. Remember the best available rates are to be found on our website or better still call the hotel direct.
    Naturally I am really pleased that you found all aspects of your stay to be more than satisfactory from your kind remarks.
    Keep in touch and hope to see you again in the near future.
    Kind Regards,
    Robert Ratcliffe
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 October 2012

    It was our third time at the Royal Golf Hotel. Again everything was absolutely perfect. The staff at the reception is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. Many of them have a great view to the 1st hole of the golf course. The rooms are well equipped. The food at the restaurant is very good and again the staff is very nice.
    In summary: a great hotel in a perfect location. We are planning to go there again.

    • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank intertravel55
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

    Dear intertravel55,
    Many thanks for posting your very complimentary review on tripadvisor following your recent stay here. I am delighted that you once again enjoyed your visit to Dornoch and The Royal Golf Hotel. The team will take great encouragement from your kind comments.
    I look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
    Kind Regards,
    Robert Ratcliffe
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 October 2012

    My wife and I concluded our 11-day tour of Scotland by staying at the Royal Golf Hotel. First, this hotel is not just for golfers. The town of Dornoch is small, cozy, quaint and wonderful. And the people who live and work there are terrific. We stayed in Room 210, which is a corner room with windows on 2 sides, but sides overlooking the golf course and ocean. Absolutely breathtaking. We could sit and watch the golf and ocean all day long. The service is terrific, and the staff is very friendly and attentive. And for those of you who do play golf, you are in for a real treat. You will not be disappointed. And if you are like me, you will leave with incredible memories. We were blessed with great weather. Make sure you bring lots of film or extra batteries for your camera.

    • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank Tom C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

    Dear TomC,
    Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor following your recent stay here.
    Yours is truly a wonderful review and we are grateful for your feedback. You are absolutely right when you say the Royal Golf is not just for golfers, however for obvious reasons due to our splendid location over-looking the first tee of Royal Dornoch Golf Club, golfers are a major part of our business. Non golfers are made to feel equally welcome and there is so much to do and see in this stunning part of Scotland. Again I agree that visitors should bring plenty of spare film (or batteries) to capture those magical pictures of our spectacular scenery.
    Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
    Kind Regards,
    Robert Ratcliffe
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews