We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfer Scottish Paradise”
Review of Royal Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Golf Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Golfer Scottish Paradise”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

10 Canadian golfers had an excellent stay! Hotel is right next to the Royal Dornoch Championship and Struie courses. Hotel rooms over looking the course and the Dornoch Firth and the course were excellent. Our best meal in Scotland was in the Observatory Dining room. I think the excellent wait staff enjoyed our apres dinner guitar sing along! The lovely Gail had a nice chat with 'Wee Freddie'. We will return.

Room Tip: Firth and course view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Peter,

A huge thanks for posting your a most complimentary review following your recent stay here at The Royal Golf Hotel. Naturally I am pleased that you all enjoyed your visit to Dornoch.
Your after dinner guitar accompanied sing along was enjoyed by everyone and certainly contributed to a memorable evening.
I hope to welcome you upon your return before too long.

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    52
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
95
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This is a perfect location for golfing in the Dornoch area. It is steps from the pro shop at Royal Dornoch. The food is very good. They have an excellent bar and the rooms were very comfortable. I would recommend it

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Andrew,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your very recent stay here and naturally I am delighted you would recommend us. I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Family weekend away turned out to be ok. Location is quite out of the way right up north of Inverness. Nice little town. Initially not impressed with room but got a better renovated room as the hotel is getting refurbished. Staff was helpful. Beds great. Room slightly cold even for the spring. Bathroom fab. Dinner was superb and probably worth a visit just for that! Breakfast was perfect and lots of variety. Prices are fair and I would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upnleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for posting your recent review following your stay here with us in April. I am pleased that were able to offer you an alternative bedroom more to your liking. It is true to say that we are located just under an hours drive north of Inverness. Dornoch is a lovely small town 2 miles off the A9 having a beautiful Cathedral, and I always think very reminiscent of a Cotswold village with its abundance of sandstone constructed cottages and character buildings. There are miles of unspoilt sandy beaches about half a miles stroll from the centre of town.
We did refurbish all the bedrooms four years ago and latterly bathrooms about 2 years ago but nothing very recent.
Thank you again for your kind words.

Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our family arrived at the Royal Dornoch Golf Hotel after two nights in London and we were thrilled with our rooms. Our children shared a twin room that was actually larger than my husband and my room. The staff was warm and friendly, Gail greeting us at check in and Cameron later at the bar. The food was a special surprise-two of the best meals we had during our stay in Scotland. The haggis appetizer was fabulous as was the seafood trio and the lamb but my favorite of all was sticky toffee pudding.
We enjoyed relaxing with drinks overlooking the golf course through the "wall of windows" that faced the golf course with the North Sea just beyond. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Beverley & Family,

Thank you very much indeed for posting your most complimentary review following your recent stay at The Royal Golf Hotel, Dornoch.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel, in particular the magnificent views from Conservatory Restaurant. It is good to hear that you thought the meals you had were two of the best during your stay in Scotland.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you to The Royal Golf Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Beautifully located overlooking The Royal Dornoch links and Dornoch Firth this traditional coastal hotel has recently been sympathetically refurbished. Our bedroom comfortable with commanding views over the first hole albeit no wifi reception and you'd have to be in excess of 8 feet tall to open the windows! In fairness management very sympathetic to former criticism and promised future signal booster. Staff very friendly and helpful. Dinner excellent (Western Ross salmon and scallops followed by pear tarte tartin) if somewhat pricey. Breakfast disappointing with eggs patently pre cooked. All in all a very enjoyable visit given flexible budget constraints.

Room Tip: If you prefer splendid view and don't require reliable wifi 209 / 210 will fit the bill
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 323RobinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Robin,
Thank you very much for your review posted on Tripadvisor, following your stay here last Wednesday.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Dornoch and the Royal Golf Hotel. Your room 209 certainly does afford terrific views up the first fairway of the world famous golf course and across Dornoch Firth beyond. The window in your room was newly installed last winter and deliberately designed to allow the very best uninterrupted view of the golf course which it undoubtedly does. To keep matters in perspective, I feel compelled to point out a couple of things for the benefit of future guests who may wish to stay here. I am just over 6 feet tall and am able to open the window in your room without the use of step ladders. A bit of a stretch admittedly. For vertically challenged guests we would be more than happy to offer assistance opening the window should this be required. With this glorious weather just now it is good to open the windows.
Eggs at breakfast time have always been cooked to order (yes, even scrambled and poached). My chef would be seriously insulted if I accused him of pre-cooking eggs to be quite honest. Not only that he would probably want to sack the breakfast cook !
Finally I would like to thank you for highlighting the WiFi issue. As a result of your comments during your stay I have purchased an additional access point and am just waiting for a sparky to install power to the corridor adjacent to your room. Hopefully tomorrow ! This should resolve problems with weak signal in the few rooms along your corridor.
Once again Robin, many thanks for your constructive feedback. I don't agree with all of it as you have probably gathered - except the WiFi. We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Robert
Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scot in West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The whole experience here continues to be excellent.Great rooms, service and attention to detail.

Thanks to Cameron, Gail and all the team for making this an excellent stay.

We look forward to returning.

A golfers paradise with the incomparable links course 50 yds away.

Room Tip: Rooms to the East side are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxyrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Foxyrobin,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay here at The Royal Golf Hotel.
I am sure Cameron, Gail and the team will be delighted with your kind comments.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Dornoch in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We drove up and parked just metres away from the front door and could not believe the view and the location of this wonderful property. The Royal Dornoch Golf Club (one of the ten best in the world) was steps away. Our room had a wonderful view of the first and eighteenth holes and of the sea - just breathtaking. We enjoyed a pint in the lovely lounge and an excellent dinner another night in the solarium which also looked over the course and the sea. The breakfast - included in the room price - was also excellent. And, it was only a three minute walk into the wonderful little town of Dornoch. The hotel has a drying room for your clubs (a must in Scotland). All in all, a great hotel and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESJEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review following your very recent stay here at the Royal Golf Hotel. Naturally I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you may get an opportunity to visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.0 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
771 reviews
11.2 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
196 reviews
4.7 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Golf Hotel

Property: Royal Golf Hotel
Address: The First Tee Grange Road, Dornoch IV25 3LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Golf Hotel, is perfectly situated overlooking the first tee of Royal Dornoch Championship Golf Course, the 6th best golf course in the world as judged by Golf Digest. All 22 bedrooms are en-suite and furnished to a high standard, most having superb views across the golf course and the Dornoch Firth beyond. Free WiFi internet access. The Conservatory Restaurant serves locally sourced,fresh seasonal food in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Golf Hotel Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing