We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Trentham Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Steading(Dornoch)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dornoch Hotel(Dornoch)
US$132
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
at No 9(Dornoch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fionn Lodge(Dornoch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
50
30
8
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
30
8
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschicken curryhalf sizecast ironsoured creamhome cookingwrapshome madean evening mealguacamoleenchiladaspuddingyoung waitresspiegranthamportionsmainstrimmings
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We visit the trentham restaurant each year we come to dornoch. We did not and have never stayed in the hotel but return time and time again to sample to delicious food which is served here. The rest rooms are delightful and its the homely finishing touches such as individual face cloths to use to dry your hands to "Scottish fine soap" hand wash and lotion. You are always made to feel very welcome by the owner/bar man and seems to love running front of house. I can guarantee there would be something on the menu to suit everyone from steakpie to pasta to Mexican foods. The portions are big enough to feed an army. I love the oat cakes and haggis to start usually but was tempted by the breaded brie and wasn't disappointed. 2 huge bits of deep fried brie welcomed me. The men had cock a leeky soup followed by steak pie and chips. Perfectly cooked fresh veg not your frozen rubbish. I then enjoyed chicken quesadias (sp) with chips and some garlic bread with cheese and even that was to die for. Sorry for such a long winded review. I just believe that it all needs to be said as we can't fault this place. Value for money is second to none. Our 2 course meal each with some alcoholic drinks for 3 was well under £55. Compliments to the chef.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank nicolatam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stumbled upon this hotel as we were driving out of Dornoch. It's a small, family-owned hotel and restaurant. The double room we had was quite large. The restaurant has great food for dinner and an endless bar. Breakfast in the morning was one of the best ones we had the whole trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed in Dornoch for the weekend 9-11 March. The Trentham Hotel was recommended to us as having good food by a local resident. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. All freshly prepared in the kitchen to order. Would certainly recommend a visit to this hotel for a meal. Very reasonably priced menu also.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

A small family run hotel with bar and restaurant serving food. Ample car parking for those stopping for a quick bite on their journey.
We camped as part of the beer & music festival held at the hotel so I can't comment on the rooms this time but we did use the bars, ate at the hotel and used the toilet faclilites and communal area over the course of the weekend. I have stayed here in the past and have had no complaints, guests should not that the rooms are not en suite though, there is a bathroom and a shower room, from memory I think there are maybe 6 bedrooms in total. We were in a double room (no.5) which had a sink in the room. The rooms were clean but dated (although see below...).
All the staff were really friendly and helpful and the choice and quality of the food and drink on offer was great. While we were there the hotel was in the process of getting a facelift, the loos had just been done up and new windows had been put in. From talking to the staff the restaurant and main bar are next.
The hotel is not in Dornoch itself, it is a short drive away or a scenic longer walk away!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LozHammersbaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

I stayed at the Trentham Hotel when I was up doing some work at the Dornoch Show. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and checking in late in the evening was no problem. They were happy to serve us in the residents' bar late on and went far above and beyond to ensure we had a good stay.

Service and the quality of the food at breakfast was excellent. It's a family run business and the service was very personal, rather than the standard and disinterested service you sometimes find with national chains of hotels.

I can't recommend this place highly enough and would encourage anyone needing somewhere to stay in the local area to try this place first. Excellent value too - my single room was a good size and only £20!

Excellent all round!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mistyconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews