We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Dornoch basecamp”
other travellers have booked this property
Decking outside the Fitness Room (with  heated pool & sauna)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Decking outside the Fitness Room (with  heated pool & sauna)
Endless Pool and Sauna Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Decking outside the Fitness Room (with  heated pool & sauna)
Endless Pool and Sauna
Lounge
Bedroom 1 - Super King or twin (zip link beds) with en-suite & jacuzzi bath
Bedroom 2 - Super King or twin (zip link beds)
Bedroom 3  can be twin or single
Bedroom 4 - double
Shower Room
October Sunrise
View of adjacent Fishing Lochans, with golf driving range
Cottage from rear patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeff K
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great Dornoch basecamp”
Reviewed 14 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We entirely enjoyed the very comfortable four bedroom house. It’s set on the owner’s property and is essentially a guesthouse. Owners were warm and welcoming. Out the front door you see the ocean across the farm field, and out the back there are sheep and cows. A perfectly relaxing setting.

The property itself is finished to a high standard. The owners have thought of everything necessary to make a stay comfortable. In addition, it is constructed/finished to a high standard of craftsmanship- the woodwork and trim are beautiful. Someone should be very proud of that job.

Located a mile south of Dornoch and easy to find. I would not hesitate to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2018
Thank you, Jeff, for a great review - so glad you enjoyed your golfing trip and staying at Weser Whinhill. It was a pleasure to have your group stay with us. Best wishes Joan & Jerry Bishop
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely bungalow in excellent location”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Really comfortable bungalow with everything we needed for an enjoyable week. The pool was definitely an added bonus with our three teenagers wanting to be in it permanently! The location of the bungalow is perfect, so quiet with amazing views all around and an easy walk to the beach. Will definitely be staying again on our next trip to Scotland!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Thank you for a great review Karen. it was a pleasure having you to stay and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Best wishes Joan and Jerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMT1962
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful location which is very peaceful as well. Directions from the owner were spot on and very easy to follow. We were made to feel welcome on arrival. The facilities are fantastic, all the little bits and pieces you need for self catering are provided e.g. toilet paper, hand wash, dish wash, scrubbers and wipes etc. Everything is as described yet better than described. On the first day I was checking to see if I could come back next year (sadly already booked). I would definitely recommend this place to everybody. There were no minuses. I should also say that there are plenty of things to do and places to visit in the Highlands of Scotland and this is an absolutely perfect base.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Thank you for a great review Mark, just sorry we are booked when you want to come next year! Best wishes Joan & Jerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiso...
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant time”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second visit to Wester Whinhill, would highly recommend, has everything needed for a first class holiday with the added bonus of the pool & sauna. Can't wait to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
Thank you Trish - look forward to seeing you and the family again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonpat...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dornoch”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Cottage its self is really good all mod cons plenty of reading material and information on whats coming up in Dornoch and its only a 15 to 20 minute walk into Dornoch. Close by is a golf range and fishery and the views arent to bad either

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you Gordon & Emma, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Joan & Jerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela m
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday rental”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What a lovely place, house has everything you need and more, lovely garden space and the pool was great. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Thanks for a great review Angela - we enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again. Joan and Jerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickyjack...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cottage”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very good indeed - every amenity you could want - swimming pool, sauna the tv is able to download films and box sets
The rooms were a very high standard and comfortable

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you for a great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Joan and Jerry Bishop
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing