We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical christmas”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dornoch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carnegie Club at Skibo Castle
brighton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magical christmas”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We spent a wonderful magical Christmas at this unusual beautiful hotel it was seamlessly perfect in every way highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms seem superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brightondaisychain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We were fortunate to be guests at someone's 40th birthday, which meant we didnt have to pay the bill or join the club so I cant comment on value for money. This kind of luxury does not come cheap as is probably reserved for those who are very well off indeed. The castle is very comfortable and well run, the food and service are excellent and the setting is lovely. Most of the rooms are different with some spectacular and none, as far as I could tell, less than very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EpsomMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a private and very exclusive club which you can visit once, then need to join if you want to return.

This is undoubtedly the best country house in the UK, if you are fortunate enough to get the opportunity to stay at Skibo, do not turn it down.

The service, quality and atmosphere is second to none. The rooms/suites, food, spa and swimmingpool are amazing.

The private golf club on the estate is possibly one of the best in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fish-and-Steak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

i wouldn't mind hanging out here for a while. we were fortunate enough to be invited and like our hosts, most of the members here are really friendly and low-key. you can feel the history of the castle just walking thru the rooms and hallways. the golfcourse is a fun track and challenging. the pool is magnificent. it has a stainless steel floor and is housed in a glass pavilion. we also did some shooting. the food is really well-done too--the breakfast spread, lunch and bbq dinner at the clubhouse, hosted formal dinner. i was doomed when i discovered the chantilly cream on the dessert table. they make their own ice cream including an after eight mint chocolate chip flavor which is the most perfect mint choco chip i can remember. it's a great place to meet people, relax, really do whatever you want.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This has to be seen to be believed.

An absolute dream to stay here, something very special about the entire place, very difficult to put in to words that do it justice. If you can go...go don't think twice.

Made all the better by some amazing people that work there.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Offshog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Simply Awesome !!

We are so relaxed - it's £1,000 a night but worth it !

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yoshy5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Water Mill, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2007

Our stay at the Carnegie Club at Skibo Castle was unlike anything we have every experienced before...The grounds were breathtaking, the Castle was beautiful, and the service was by far the best we've ever seen in our travels.
Skibo Castle is a special place, a treasured piece of living history, and we highly recommend it to anyone who has the means and the inclination to travel to the highlands of Scotland for a unique experience that will not be soon forgotten.

  • Liked — The setting of the castle and the grounds
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AustinHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
3.8 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
731 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
4.0 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
335 reviews
21.6 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
689 reviews
5.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carnegie Club at Skibo Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carnegie Club at Skibo Castle

Property: The Carnegie Club at Skibo Castle
Address: Skibo Castle Skibo Castle, Dornoch IV25 3RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carnegie Club at Skibo Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
The Carnegie Club At Skibo Castle Hotel Dornoch
The Carnegie Club At Skibo Castle Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing