We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place but service lacking”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dornoch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carnegie Club at Skibo Castle
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place but service lacking”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

In short, we arrived with golf clubs and never saw our travel club case again. We asked for it the day before we were leaving and the staff said they would round it up. We ended up leaving our clubs to be shipped because Skibo apparently never found the travel case but didn't want to tell us - of course this ended up an expensive proposition to have to ship our clubs separately. In addition the Skibo staff took it upon themselves to ship us internationally three(!) top hats that our host had provided as costumes, without asking us if we wanted them. They did send us an email that they were shipping all this (on our bill) but it was too late for us to intercept. Warning: Our international shipping bill was quite scary after our visit, thanks to the staff's "help".

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiboTeam, General Manager at The Carnegie Club at Skibo Castle, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Paula G

Please let me apologise for not getting in touch with you sooner to discuss your post on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at The Carnegie Club.

After some time digging through our records, I am afraid that we have been unable to find any information about your lost golf bag or the fact that it and the hats were sent to you using your own shipping account.

I would very much like to resolve this for you and therefore ask you to contact me using my direct email address simon.bath@carnegieclub.co.uk so that we can discuss what happened in more detail.

Yours sincerely
Simon Bath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

You will never stay anywhere more magical than Skibo. Food is AMAZING. accommodations are top notch. Spa and Pool are over the top. Golf course is hardly used. You will be treated like kings and queens

Room Tip: We prefer the lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Maura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stunning location, with lots to do and see. I had a great round of golf as well as clay pigeon shooting and the girls went riding. The food was excellent and they are good at encouraging you to meet other guests. Very enjoyable stay, I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were very fortunate to be invited to dine and play golf at the Carnegie Club on our recent visit to Scotland. The place is like Disneyland on steroid for golf lovers (does that make sense??). The view, golf course, staff, service, food, clubhouse..... everything was top notch. The beautiful golf course was challenging but playable ... and in immaculate condition (they get very little play being a private club). If you re lucky enough to have an opportunity to play at the Carnegie Club do not passing up.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blackfriarbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Skibo Castle is outstanding. Friendly but sophisticated. Excellent dining. Huge bedrooms and bathrooms. Wonderfully comfortable beds. Choose either private dining or join your fellow guests round Mr. Carnegie's massive dining table. House party atmosphere. A wonderful heated swimming pool. One of THE best golf courses. Riding. Playbarn for children. Lodges in the grounds for families. Attentive staff. Beautiful grounds. Clay pigeon shooting and archery included. Fabulous spa. Organised walks - deer stalking - salmon fishing. You name it - you can have it! - Even a Piper to awaken you in the morning and to escort you into dinner! Do try this wonderful taste of Scottish hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judes111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We had an amazing long weekend at Skibo. We were kept busy with horse riding, Clay Pigeon shooting and spa treatments. It was a special weekend with friends and I look back on it fondly.

I would love the opportunity to go again one day.

Helpful?
1 Thank TallDadTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NSW
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Every minor detail taken care of. I spent 4 wonderful days as a guest of a member. ( a dear friend) I didn't see the bill so can't comment on value for money. However I would expect to pay a lot as it was the best. The grounds and the buildings are so beautiful, I was there in June, there were fields of bluebells and if you like walking in the mornings you will see deers cross your pathway as you meander along beautiful pathways. You can take a bike ride as an alternative option. The staff are reallly what give it the 3rd dimension as they have individual personalities and are part of the charm right down to the organ player " Martin" and the falconer as you are having breakfast. The food is very very special and I was there during the diamond jubilee so had an amaaaaazing 3 course meal. Themed english, Irish and Scottish. I will never forget this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jojoshopaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
4.0 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
444 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
3.8 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
370 reviews
21.6 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
736 reviews
22.2 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carnegie Club at Skibo Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carnegie Club at Skibo Castle

Property: The Carnegie Club at Skibo Castle
Address: Skibo Castle Skibo Castle, Dornoch IV25 3RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carnegie Club at Skibo Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
The Carnegie Club At Skibo Castle Hotel Dornoch
The Carnegie Club At Skibo Castle Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing