We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Joy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dornoch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sule Skerry Homestay B&B
Ranked #3 of 18 Dornoch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Absolute Joy”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have come to the end of a 2 night stay at Sule Skerry homestay B&B, and what a wonderful stay I had. Kate and Terry gave a lovely welcome. The rooms are beautiful, a lot of detail has went into creating comfortable and relaxing rooms. The continental breakfast- brought to you in your room- is perfect. I can honestly not suggest Sule Skerry enough. If you are planning a trip to Dornoch, get in touch with Kate and Terry.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrenb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuleSkerryHomestay, Owner at Sule Skerry Homestay B&B, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you Darren - your comments are very much appreciated. We are delighted that you were able to have a restful and enjoyable 'day-off' to recharge your batteries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
36
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here en route to john o'groats and was given a wonderful welcome. There is a lovely guest lounge to relax in and the rooms are beautifully furnished and warm with heavenly comfortable beds. The breakfast was served in the room and was superb with warm toast, roll and croissant along with fruit, cereals, juice and tea and coffee. The village is very picturesque. Would love to go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuleSkerryHomestay, Owner at Sule Skerry Homestay B&B, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you Steve for your kind comments - it was a pleasure having you stay with us. I hope you raised your target for your charity ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, BC
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Sule Skerry in Dornoch. We were in the twin room—spacious, prettily decorated, with a comfortable sitting area that I really appreciated, and even a lovely fresh orchid and a little pot of sweet peas. Beds were deluxe, with super linens, and on the night table was a basket with shoe polish, notepaper, a sewing kit, etc. Nothing was too much trouble for Kate! When my husband casually mentioned that he was too warm at night, she reappeared in ten minutes to replace his heavy duvet with a summer-weight one. I came back every afternoon for a rest and tea break, and very much enjoyed the selection of teas and biscuits available in the room. The bathroom was small, but immaculate, and had the best shower we experienced in our month in Scotland! Breakfast is continental style, brought on a tray to your room. After so many large breakfasts earlier on in our travels, we enjoyed the lighter breakfast of yogourt, fruit, toast, pastries, muesli, etc. We certainly didn’t go hungry. The one thing to mention is that the bedrooms are at the front of the house, which sits on the main street into Dornoch, so if you’re a light sleeper you will hear some vehicular noise in the morning. It isn’t a large town, though, so this isn’t something that should deter you from staying in this charming B&B.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thrumpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuleSkerryHomestay, Owner at Sule Skerry Homestay B&B, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for very detailed review - we really appreciate you taking the time to write it. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dornoch and at Sule Skerry Homestay in particular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Dornoch in Sutherland is a lovely old village with a beautiful beach and a championship golf course. Sule Skerry is an excellent Bed and Breakfast in a great position in the village. The owners have gone to a great deal of trouble to make the rooms comfortable as well as classy and pretty. Beautiful comfortable beds in period style but with a great modern en suite. Breakfast(continental but with plenty of variety) is served in one's bedroom on a pretty table. You are guaranteed a great welcome as the owners are friendly and outgoing willing to attend to guests needs in a discreet manner. All in all I'd say best value for money in the village.

Room Tip: Both rooms we have occupied are to the front but as Dornoch is not a metropolis any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuleSkerryHomestay, Public Relations Manager at Sule Skerry Homestay B&B, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your very detailed review - we really appreciate your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a great stay. Very nice people. Simple but good breakfast served in the room. A place to go back to. They are intrested and very helpfull. If on a bike you can park at the back. A place you go back to.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuleSkerryHomestay, Owner at Sule Skerry Homestay B&B, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you Rob for your very kind comments. I was pleased to hear that your bike troubles were resolved and you all got home again safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I had a recent night's stay in Sule Skerry, and can recommend this B & B to anyone visiting the Dornoch area. Kate was very welcoming, the accommodation was excellent, and I really enjoyed the continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Sule Skeery has one double, and one twin room. I had the twin room, with seating area, and en-suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy d c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuleSkerryHomestay, Owner at Sule Skerry Homestay B&B, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - do come back - we'd love to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed in. Kate made us very welcome and there was everything in the room that you could ask for. The continental breakfast served in our room was a delight. If you are thinking about staying in Dornoch make the Sule Skerry your first choice you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BillyC632013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuleSkerryHomestay, Owner at Sule Skerry Homestay B&B, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We work hard to maintain a high standard and it is great when we feel it has been appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.4 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tain
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
at No 9
at No 9
#1 of 18 in Dornoch
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fionn Lodge
Fionn Lodge
#2 of 18 in Dornoch
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sule Skerry Homestay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Skerry Homestay B&B

Property: Sule Skerry Homestay B&B
Address: Sule Skerry 2 Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sule Skerry is a sand-stone, town house in the centre of Dornoch town, famous for its golf course and beautiful beach. Sule Skerry, Dornoch is an ideal location for golfers and those wishing to take day trips within the Highlands of Scotland. There are cafes, restaurants and shops within a few minutes walking of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sule Skerry Homestay B&B Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing