We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear”
Review of Castaway Fish & Chips - CLOSED

Castaway Fish & Chips
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This chippy opened last year and after a few teething problems the food turned out to be first class. Over winter and it's changed hands. I've been in twice over two weeks. Quality not as good now and batter stodgy. My wife went in on Saturday just in case the first visit was a bad day. She ordered a Scampi and chips and a chicken. After 10 minutes the scampi was ready but another 20 mins before the chicken was. She said that the scampi would be cold now but was told it'd be ok as it was wrapped. When I opened my chicken I couldn't believe it. It was like a massive bit of batter floating in grease. I tried to remove the batter but it was stuck to the chicken like super glue. The wee bit of chicken I did manage to get was tasteless and tough as old boots. I have been waiting for a decent chippy again in Dornoch and I thought after it opening last year we had it. Unfortunately after the last two visits I won't be back. Just have to go to Tain or Golspie. I am so disappointed with this.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WillieHuggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    5
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“needed a shave after waiting so long”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

visiting dornoch for the weekend,so went for a chippy,young lassie serving was very polite.ordered a scotch pie and tea,chicken and chips for the wife,this was at 6pm.
at 6.20 the chap asked my wife if she would like batter on her chicken,he then started cooking it
6.30 he said he was just waiting for the pie,i can only assume he was making it from scratch,"wrong".we eventually got our chippy at 6.45 the scotch pie was actually a steak pie,the pastry was soft obviously microwaved "very slowly".the chips were lukewarm,but the wife said the chicken was lovely,at least the birds had a good feed.we would have been quicker going to tain and the chips would still have been more edible by the time we reached dornoch.castaway ""getaway""

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornoch
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“no the best”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

the family went for a meal here one night the batter was tasteless and the chips were not even half cooked. we thought we might have caught them on a bad night so we tried the food a couple more times yet was the same result. we now find ourselves going all the way to tain for a chippy. not what dornoch needs to be honest

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank podge c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slaundrys, Owner at Castaway Fish & Chips, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
This business was taken over a while ago and is now an Indian take away as well and its more popular than its ever been. The town now has both chip shop and Indian take away, it's soon to be a fully licenced resteraunt which is open 4.00pm - 11pm every day serving excellent food.
The town wants and needs this facility, what it does not need is you and your outright lies. If the success of this business is affecting you then you need to up your game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invergordon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Products”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I use this chip shop regularly and cannot say enough how good it is. The fish is very fresh and the batter always crispy. I also recommend the pizzas and garlic bread that are made fresh in front of you. The restaurant is very pleasing to the eye and nice and modern.

The prices are very reasonable and they also do home delivery.

Overall I must visit if your in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexAndAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an excellent takeaway/cafe”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We visited at the end of October and when we stumbled upon Castaway, it was fantastic. One night we sampled a mixture of fish and chips, pizza and kebabs which were beautiful.
The next lunchtime we called in for their bacon roll and cuppa special. The bacon was out of this world, and the bread rolls were beautifully soft.
What really makes this place though is the people who run it. Wonderful people, very kind and a pleasure to talk to. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castaway Fish & Chips also viewed

Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Golspie, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing