We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot of Lunch”

The Eagle Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in Dornoch
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Argyll
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Spot of Lunch”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Popped in mid week for lunch and the place was deserted apart from a few locals at the bar. Service was fine, food was average and not over priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jayceeArgyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    112
    38
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coylton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Last night of the hols”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped on on the last night of our trip. The bar was very busy, so we sat in the restaurant. Good choice of menu, good portion size and value for money. Waiter was very pleasant and the food was very tasty and freshly cooked!

Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We popped in for some pub grub and the football results on a Saturday afternoon. We got both and really enjoyed the food which was tasty and reasonably priced. It's a lovely clean pub with with everything you could ask for ....definitely worth a visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A shame”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A shame because the restaurant is close to home but or recent visit found the place virtually empty, lunch was not available untill 1.00 because "the Chef was not ready". The tables were unclean and very sticky, but the food was excellent and not really expensive. The place was empty when we left but the floor had two pylons warning of wet surface being slippy. Not a good greeting!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shocking ”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Went for a run up to Dornoch with a friend and some lunch, we decided to come here.

The decor was nice but the service was poor.

I had fish and chips, served on a chopping bored. The chips were frozen and the fish was non-existent, just covered in "beer batter"

Didn't even stay long enough to check the toilets, we waited 15 minutes for someone to come to us so we could get our bill, which we couldn't understand as the place was dead.

I can understand that this place is not a classy restaurant but a pub that serves lunch, maybe my standards are too high but I think they could up their game.

Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Macleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Eagle Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to The Eagle Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing