We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great new addition to Highlands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Links House at Royal Dornoch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dornoch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Links House at Royal Dornoch
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great new addition to Highlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

An exceptional investment with lots of attention to detail to fixtures and aesthetics. The home baking and fine dining is impressive and service from Michael is always thoughtful and attentive. We used the business as an exclusive meeting facility accommodating 16 people. Lunch was a delightful soup, seafood linguine and stew. Lots of coffee top ups and generous home made cakes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vix_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
63
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

What a wonderful gem of a hotel. Many top end highland hotels boast of being 'country houses' - but this really did feel like you were staying as a guest in an old friend's house. Attention to details was outstanding at every level, the staff were attentive and friendly and the food was some of the best I have found anywhere in Scotland. To add to the attraction, the front door is yards from the first tee at Royal Dornoch golf course! As both a golfer and a salmon fisherman, and with Links House placed amongst some of the best rivers and courses in the country, I have just found my new highland hideaway!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

A truly wonderful 3 night stay at newly opened Links House. Staff were exceptionally friendly and enthusiastic at making guest's stay as relaxing as possible. The ambition of the food and beverage team will make Links House a culinary destination before long; exceptional dining experience with chef discussing with guests the evening menu and sourcing everything locally. Great quality cellar and the 'honesty bar' is a nice touch. Royal Dornoch is next door and although golf is clearly high on the agenda, the ambiance and furnishings of Links House reflects its broader Highland location. Boutique (8 wonderful rooms) in nature, and whilst very new, this place is going to be talked about. Great to see the owner's vision has been accomplished in every regard; completely relaxing and our "other home in the Highlands"!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SandSOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penshurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is simply the best hotel I have ever visited. Every detail from arrival to departure had been thought out with care and attention. The service is personal, hospitable, and efficient. It is more like staying with old friends than visiting a hotel. The restaurant is excellent, with the chef coming to talk over his plans before and after meals.
Immense care has been taken with fittings, mostly traditional with a modern twist, and even the hotel's own tartan. The use and quality of timber is a work of art in itself.
Location is stunning, Royal Dornoch Golf Club is next door, and you can see the first tee from Links House own putting green.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
11.3 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links House at Royal Dornoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links House at Royal Dornoch

Property: Links House at Royal Dornoch
Address: Links House Golf Road, Dornoch IV25 3LW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Links House at Royal Dornoch 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Links House at Royal Dornoch combines luxury accommodation with the charm, grace & elegance of the world's finest hotels.Overlooking the first tee at Royal Dornoch Golf Club and with just eight bedrooms, a stay at Links House is like visiting your own country house. Each en-suite bedroom is finished with bespoke fabrics & every piece of furniture has been selected for its timeless beauty. Dinner served May - September 6.30 - 9.30pm Other months - 6.30 - 8.30pm Reservations essential ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Links House At Royal Dornoch Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing