We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottish Highlands Gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dornoch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Links House at Royal Dornoch
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 6-day stay at The Links House. It is a true gem: every inch is carefully thought through, from the beautiful paintings and furnishings, the outdoor fireplace and roaring fire in the dining room, the en-suite rooms with subtle yet rich decor and more. We came away rested and restored thanks to exquisite meals prepared by Darren from locally-sourced ingredients and from Beverly and Michael's attentive and thoughtful care. You will feel as if you have gone to a friend's country house with every imaginable luxury provided.

Room Tip: Each room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

We just returned from a stay at Links House at Royal Dornoch. The place is simply superb in every respect: large rooms with top quality furnishings and beautiful baths, several comfortable sitting rooms in the main house to sit with a scotch, and finally a beautiful dining room with a roaring fireplace for dinners and breakfast.. Chef is top notch too.
They even have a golf house for storing clubs after a round of golf...
One of the most enjoyable places we have ever experienced!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Links House at Royal Dornoch is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. The quality of fittings and interior furnishings were excellent, Beverley the manager of the property was extremely professional and knowledgeable and food for breakfast and dinner was always amazing. Although our stay was short, Beverley managed to help plan us a good tour, visiting Glenmorangie Distillery and a cashmere mill. The bedding was so comfortable none of us wanted to get out of bed in the mornings (if it wasn't for looking forward to breakfast, we probably would not have!!).

I will definitely want to go back again, location is also good for driving around the Dornoch area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YLChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley N, General Manager at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Because of the way our chef prepares his daily changing menus, we ask for advance notice to ensure that he can order in the local produce he needs as near to the day as possible. However, we do endeavour to make sure all of our guests are looked after and we are glad that he was able to prepare something for you on this occasion. We hope to see you back here again one day and thank you for taking the time to post the review

Beverley Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Links House at Royal Dornoch is a unique five star plus hotel set in the highlands and on one of the best golf courses in Scotland. The whole feel of the hotel is top quality throughout, including the rooms, showers, door nobs and beds that are (or feel) custom made. The service was outstanding with a personal touch that is hard to get in a larger hotel of the same quality. The food was also amazing and an after dinner drink (or maybe pre- and post- dinner) in the library is quite special. It is hard to replicate this type of experience in Scotland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley N, General Manager at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for such kind words. All of us at Links House aim to give each and every guest a memorable experience that is uniquely special. As a small hotel we hope that our attention to detail and bespoke service will allow our guests to relax and enjoy their stay in the knowledge that everything they need is attended to. We are also pleased that you enjoyed dining with us as we are very proud of our food and wine offering. We hope that you will all come back and stay again

Beverley Navarro - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This place is special: It has history. It is totally renovated with great attention to detail. You can walk to the first tee at Royal Dornoch. The rooms are very spacious and so comfortable. The bathrooms large and luxurious (great amenities). First class service offered by Michael and Beverly. Darren prepared us our own special meal. Delicious and prepared with great integrity. It's a great place to stay while visiting the area. Although our golf games were organized ahead of time, I am sure they too can get whatever you need.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley N, General Manager at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our service and also our proximity to Royal Dornoch Golf club. You rightly identify that we can arrange tee times for our guests at all of the local clubs and pre pay green fees so that they can be charged to the room. We are all very proud of the quality and service standards that we provide at Links House, thank you for making the time to comment on them and we hope to see you back again

Beverley

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Links House is an elegant jewel of a hotel tucked away down a lane in the pretty Highland town of Dornoch. Beyond the bright royal blue door you find a cozy library and living room traditionally furnished with incredibly good taste. Many beautiful paintings, handsomely framed, can be enjoyed during cocktails and an amuse-bouche. There is a riveting view through the dining room windows of the first Royal Dornoch golf tee, and on to the sea. We came for dinner which was definitely worth a long drive. Each dish, both the pork and the halibut, was full of intriguing flavors and creatively arranged on the plate. The desert, the crowning glory, was scrumptious. The staff was warmly welcoming and attentive. This hotel is an enjoyably civilized spot near the wild heather-clad hills.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Attention to detail unrivalled. Beautifully appointed with excellent service from all staff, what more could you ask for. We stayed for a full week and were looked after by incredibly attentive and friendly staff. Beverly and Michael made us feel like old friends visiting what can only be described as an impeccable hotel. Used the hotel as as base for playing golf at five local courses, each of which were excellent with the jewel being Royal Dornoch, on the doorstep of the hotel. Plenty of other interesting outings in the area which, as can only be expected of the Highlands, offers magnificent scenery.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.1 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
201 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
399 reviews
22.2 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#7 of 9 in Nairn
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links House at Royal Dornoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links House at Royal Dornoch

Address: Links House Golf Road, Dornoch IV25 3LW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range: £215 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Links House at Royal Dornoch 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Links House at Royal Dornoch combines luxury accommodation with the charm, grace & elegance of the world's finest hotels.Overlooking the first tee at Royal Dornoch Golf Club and with just eight bedrooms, a stay at Links House is like visiting your own country house. Each en-suite bedroom is finished with bespoke fabrics & every piece of furniture has been selected for its timeless beauty. Dinner served May - September 6.30 - 9.30pm Other months - 6.30 - 8.30pm Reservations essential ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Links House At Royal Dornoch Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing