We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable five star experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dornoch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Links House at Royal Dornoch
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable five star experience”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for four nights and never tired of the service and setting. A very special place for sure. The staff's attention to detail was impressive. We changed plans a couple times (fishing, distillery tour, golf) and the staff made the difficult look easy. The rooms were state of the art with extremely roomy bathrooms and very comfortable rooms. And, being located a few steps from the first tee at Royal Dornoch, you want to play that legendary golf course over and over. Food was awesome and, of course, a few scotches in the library, next to the fire, was a memorable way to end each day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
74
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Fly fishing, golf, fine dining great rooms. Group eight golfers, who have been to Scotland many times. We had a very good 5 course dining experience. Sitting outside with a single malt. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 574Clydeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Had a chance to visit The Links House with some old school friends. Gracious hospitality, well appointed rooms and a Sporting Bothy for golf and fishing gear. We were impressed with the staff's graciousness - they really seemed to care about our stay and were very flexible when our schedule changed. Certainly a destination point for golfers but lots to offer for anglers, trekers and all manners of refined travelers. Was able to meet the owner who reached out to us during our stay. Very committed to the property and keeping it within the community standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It is rare to find a place which is tastefully restored with an eye to every detail and every comfort, has a warm and welcoming staff and which is perfectly located if you want to play golf, fish in or near the Firth of Moray or view the falconry at the spectacular Dunrobin Castle. The Links House offers you all of this and then some.

The Links House is a recently restored old stone building. It is immediately apparently upon entering that this restoration has been completed in impeccable taste and with first rate workmanship from the furnishings to the wood panelling and brick and mortar work. It is elegant and beyond the ordinary by a good measure.

The staff is friendly, knowledgable and professional. No request is too small or too large; after a few hours at The Links House it is a little bit like staying at home with good friends attending to you. The breakfast and dinner are excellent with a chef who understand the art ot presentation as well as the preparation of food.

The location is unsurpassed. I am a golfer and walked all of half a minute to the Royal Dornoch pre shop and first tee. My wife and I also enjoy history and cultural events and visited Dunrobin Castle with a spectacular falconry performance and a castle second to none in Scotland with a museum of Pictish stone carvings, which is not easy to come by.

The Links House is exceptional: do not miss staying there. It is an experience you will remember. We do and we loved our "Shin" room.

Room Tip: Ask four the Shin Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staffan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Warm and cosy fires in the fireplaces invited us into the comfortable luxury of the inn after a day of travel and wet weather. The antique fishing gear and art work featuring Scotish golf scenes and countryside landscapes heightened the anticipation of the next days activites. Skillfully created and prepared dishes were presented by a jovial Scotish waiter in traditional garb complete with kilt and a twinkle in his eye. The spacious guest room offered exquisite intimacy and privacy. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley N, General Manager at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Links House. I am especially pleased that you found the house inviting and cosy after a cold wet day out, this is exactly what we have hoped to achieve, somewhere that guests can feel they can relax without fuss. We hope that you return soon

Beverley Navarro
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed at this very beautiful little luxurious hotel not long after it opened. The room we had was as good as i've experienced. Very tastefully furnished and beautifully appointed. We were a very late booking and the restaurant was already fully booked, however the chef went out of his way to cook us an amazing meal just for the two of us. The food was spectacular. We had a great stay. We also enjoyed a spot of putting on the beautiful putting green.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Links House is a gem! New in 2013, it is the must stay place in Dornoch, especially if you are playing golf at Royal Dornoch. The rooms are large--as are the baths. All features are modern.
The staff, led by Beverley Navarro, is exceptional. The chef is truly outstanding. The ambiance of the common areas is cozy and inviting. Throughout, the owners' enthusiasm, commitment and attention to detail makes for a wonderful guest experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjb221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.1 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
361 reviews
11.2 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
297 reviews
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links House at Royal Dornoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links House at Royal Dornoch

Property: Links House at Royal Dornoch
Address: Links House Golf Road, Dornoch IV25 3LW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Links House at Royal Dornoch 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Links House at Royal Dornoch combines luxury accommodation with the charm, grace & elegance of the world's finest hotels.Overlooking the first tee at Royal Dornoch Golf Club and with just eight bedrooms, a stay at Links House is like visiting your own country house. Each en-suite bedroom is finished with bespoke fabrics & every piece of furniture has been selected for its timeless beauty. Dinner served May - September 6.30 - 9.30pm Other months - 6.30 - 8.30pm Reservations essential ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Links House At Royal Dornoch Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing