We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch accommodation in a special setting”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dornoch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Links House at Royal Dornoch
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch accommodation in a special setting”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Links House; so glad we decided to travel to the Highlands for our golf adventure. All exceeded my high expectations-golf at Royal Dornoch a truly special experience; fishing, touring, falconry exhibition at Dunrobin Castle were a treat; endless beautiful vistas; and the Links House stay was superior. The hotel is stunning to every last detail, and the staff could not be nicer or more effective. They attended to all of our needs-meals, transport for our outings, local info, etc.-with grace and efficiency. The breakfasts were bountiful and dinners a real delight. Hard to fathom that our rooms were literally a few steps from the first tee at one of the finest and most historically significant golf courses in the world. I truly hope to return the area and to Links House soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
66
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at the Links House in April and had an incredible experience from start to finish. Think of having your own house next to one of the best golf courses in the world, except you have a world class chef preparing you amazing meals, beautiful views of the firth and a putting green in your back yard - words can't do this place justice. I loved it - the service is perfect - feels like being taken care of by a relative. I can't say enough and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpmac79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I had an opportunity to stay at Links House for a few days of golfing and some local touring. I have done a fair bit of traveling and can say without reservation that my stay at the Links House will be among the most memorable trips I will have ever taken. The idyllic setting, the staff who worked tirelessly to make our stay as pleasant as possible, perfect accommodations, outstanding food, and a proprietor who tells captivating tales about Scotland...I truly did not want to leave and cannot wait to go back. If you have an opportunity to visit Links House, by all means do so. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-KSQPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
233 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I spent 4 absolutely wonderful nights at the Links House at Royal Dornoch. Candidly, I am not sure a hotel can get any classier or better. Links House was recently gutted and designed with impeccable taste. From the bedroom furnishings to the spectacular bathroom to the art-adorned walls, it is heaven in a heavenly place. The proprietors, Todd and Liz Warnock have spared no expense to build their dream hotel. And it is the guests that benefit. The food is nothing short of spectacular. The 4-course pre-selected dinners are 5-star. After dinner, adjourn to the library and Michael will bring you your favorite single malt as you enjoy conversations with other guests in front of the crackling fire. The service you get from Michael, Bev and the rest of the staff is wonderful. They never forget your name. And the location - Royal Dornoch’s first tee is a chip away. And if you want to spent an afternoon fishing, biking or touring a distillery or castle, just ask and it will soon be coordinated.

For the discriminating traveler who insists on the best, book one of the 12 rooms before it is too late and word spreads.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for four nights and never tired of the service and setting. A very special place for sure. The staff's attention to detail was impressive. We changed plans a couple times (fishing, distillery tour, golf) and the staff made the difficult look easy. The rooms were state of the art with extremely roomy bathrooms and very comfortable rooms. And, being located a few steps from the first tee at Royal Dornoch, you want to play that legendary golf course over and over. Food was awesome and, of course, a few scotches in the library, next to the fire, was a memorable way to end each day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Fly fishing, golf, fine dining great rooms. Group eight golfers, who have been to Scotland many times. We had a very good 5 course dining experience. Sitting outside with a single malt. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 574Clydeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Had a chance to visit The Links House with some old school friends. Gracious hospitality, well appointed rooms and a Sporting Bothy for golf and fishing gear. We were impressed with the staff's graciousness - they really seemed to care about our stay and were very flexible when our schedule changed. Certainly a destination point for golfers but lots to offer for anglers, trekers and all manners of refined travelers. Was able to meet the owner who reached out to us during our stay. Very committed to the property and keeping it within the community standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
176 reviews
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
13.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links House at Royal Dornoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links House at Royal Dornoch

Property: Links House at Royal Dornoch
Address: Links House Golf Road, Dornoch IV25 3LW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Links House at Royal Dornoch 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Links House at Royal Dornoch combines luxury accommodation with the charm, grace & elegance of the world's finest hotels.Overlooking the first tee at Royal Dornoch Golf Club and with just eight bedrooms, a stay at Links House is like visiting your own country house. Each en-suite bedroom is finished with bespoke fabrics & every piece of furniture has been selected for its timeless beauty. Dinner served May - September 6.30 - 9.30pm Other months - 6.30 - 8.30pm Reservations essential ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Links House At Royal Dornoch Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing