We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks the part but let down by lack of atmosphere!”
Review of The Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Eagle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Looks the part but let down by lack of atmosphere!”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Myself and my wife visited the Eagle at Easter (about a week after reopening after an extensive refurb). The first impression was very good. The new decor is very stylish and the bar is more welcoming than before.I'm afraid the service lets the side down. Some of the staff didn't look interested, and one of the girls was chewing gum, and walking around like she was in detention. One girl, called Hannah was very courteous, and served us our meal and drinks.
Unfortunately the food was disappointing. The Haddock Goujons (priced at £8.95) was a poor size portion, and not that nice, and the other meals were just OK. Not quite a main, not quite a starter size.
The only other observation is that the place completely lacks atmosphere, which is a shame, but it could be so much more than what it is.
We also went into another pub in the village of Dornoch and it was very lively and full of atmosphere.
If The Eagle could address these issues, it would be a very VERY nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MackenziesAviemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPI_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Hi, and thanks for your review. We always welcome feedback, good or bad, and especially welcome constructive feedback such as this.

As previous reviews would suggest, we recently reopened after some fairly major refurbishment works, and I'm glad you agree that the product looks good. We had some initial issues with music and TV systems not working which have now been rectified, which would definitely have accounted for the lack of atmosphere.

As far as the level of service you experienced, this is something we wholeheartedly agree with during the first week or so we were open. Brand new staff, tills etc all added to what must of been a frustrating time for a few of our guests.

The beauty of the feedback is that it allows us to address issues that customers experience but might not want to tell us at the time, and I am happy to say that the issues you have mentioned have all been addressed, including some fairly intensive staff training for our floor staff.

I hope you choose to return to our property, and see for yourself, what I believe to be a significant improvement.

Please feel free to say hello, and let us know how we did second time around.

Kind Regards

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    53
    28
    24
    19
See reviews for
50
54
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

was here at the eagle the same day as jane w from brora, we were in the eagle having returned again since the refurbishment, we remember the lady complaining to the manager davina, we remember her very well as she could not have done enough for us, we had to try and arrange a taxi to take us to the caravan park, but if you have been in dornoch you will know this is impossible, the manager davina offered to take us to the park in her own car and come back and pick the rest of us up, all eight of us and our luggage, my daughter managed to get one from tain to come and pick us up.
we know it was the managers day off but she was not going around in her jacket as stated she was very much so at work coming to and from the bar with our drinks and so on, when we comented about her having two girls to do the running around, she said i realy dont mind i like to be busy and she appolagised for wiping the chairs behind us as there had been work men in doing bits and pieces in the bar.
we overheard the conversation between the manager and jane w from brora and the manager could not have been nicer to her she asked what the complaint was and the woman said she wasnt complaining but thought she would give some feed back, the manager replied saying that they appreciate all customer comments and would speek to the girl in question, and appolagised for her playing with her hair, i must say this was inside the bar and not outside like she says.
the young red headed waitress was approached by the manager and they went off to talk, we found this womans words harsh as the young girl was so happy and very attentive and clearly works well with her manager who approached the woman in a very possitive and helpfull manner, the woman was sitting in the table next to us down from the window and she done nothing but critisise the decor, music, honestly we were glad when they left they were putting a dampner on what was a lovely start to our holiday, keep up the good work, proffesional manager and staff, from the taylor family we will be back

Room Tip: didnt sleep here but the service is excellent and welcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Btaylor25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPI_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Hello and thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to welcome you to the Eagle sometime soon!

Kind Regards

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Whilst staying at the nearby Grannies Heilan Hame caravan site we decided to eat out in Dornoch and having been recommended the Eagle Hotel we headed straight there.
Although fairly busy the staff were attentive from the start and although we hadn't reserved a table they managed to find us one. We enjoyed starters, main course and shared deserts. The food was good honest pub cuisine and we thouroughly enjoyed all courses which arrived at just the right time with a suitable time between courses. There was a good mix of locals and holiday makers (I recognised quite a few from the caravan site:-) ) within the bar/restaurant area which just added to the friendly atmosphere. All in all, good food at a sensible price with a nice warm friendly Highland atmosphere. Would definitely recommned to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markyeehah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We recently came to Dornoch for a week long holiday with our young children. Having decided to go out for dinner we struggled to find somewhere that was family friendly and served food at the time we need it. Having looked at several restaurants we decided on the Eagle as their menue was the most suitable. The restaurant has obviously recently been renovated as you can still smell the paint but it is modern and nicely furnished which was surprising as the outside made it look like a old traditional pub. If you are expecting a fine dining experience then this isnt it, but if you are looking for a good quality bar meal then this is great. The staff were friendly and attentive despite having a bit of a carry on in the kitchen which you could hear! In summary I absolutely would recommend it especially if you have children and will go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemac1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brora
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Decided to head to the newly re-furbed Eagle for lunch. First impressions weren't good when the dirty table was poorly wiped with what looked like a floor cloth, but the food when it came was actually pretty good. Shame the manager hid out back in her jacket throughout the lunch service, if she'd been in the restaurant she would have seen for herself how poor the service was especially from the younger of the two waitresses, who was more interested in re-tying her ponytail (without then washing her hands). When I went to find her to provide some helpful, constructive feedback, she couldn't have been much less interested. What a shame, some smart management could make all the difference here!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPI_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Hello.

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal with us, and I am disappointed that your first impressions were not the greatest - it is always hard to recover form a bad first impression.

In response to your concerns over the service and indeed the management at the time, I am happy to say that both of these issues have been addressed and rectified, including some significant staff training.

I hope that you will return to the Eagle soon, and please feel free to let us know how you feel second time around.

Kind regards

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dornoch hotels

DORNOCH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Sunday 29th April 2012. First time in newly revamped Eagle was very pleasant on the eye, but a bit sterile. Food could be better, a bit basic, we were not offered sauces and no place mats, plate sliding on table. Too much on menu and had run out of burgers. Bar area looked good but needs to up its performance on the food or repeat visits for meals may be rare!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

On Tues 17th April a group of friends decided to try a meal & cocktail at the revamped eagle.What a huge disappointment.
Some of us were really looking forward to trying a cocktail-We wished we had't bothered,only a very small selection,the cocktail was poured into ordinary glass with a couple of cubes of ice and a straw!!! all for £4.95. If you are going to offer cocktails do it properly or not at all.
Next problem was the service-absolutely dreadful,very very slow, we were not the only customers to complain. It took 40mins for a waitress to ask for our food order.
When the food did come it was acceptable but not the improvement that we were promised, just ordinary pub grub nothing special at all.
I will not visit to eat again and would not recommend it.
What a let down!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elchrisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPI_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Hello.

Thank you for your feedback. We always welcome feedback, good or bad and I am disappointed that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

If I could address the food service time issue, there really is no excuse for this so I can only apologise. If the kitchen was busy, then you should have been informed by your server. This is something we have addressed to ensure doesn't happen again.

In terms of the food quality, we have never promised anything other than freshly made, locally sourced, good quality pub meals. We are not a restaurant or a bistro, and have never tried to maintain that we are. The feedback on internal comment cards, and indeed review sites such as this is that the food we provide is good quality and value.

In response to your cocktail, I can only assume that we really failed on your visit to manage your expectations of our pub. We are not a cocktail bar, although we do offer a small selection of simple cocktails to people who want them. They are all served in the correct glassware, and yes sometimes the correct glassware is an ordinary rock glass. In terms of the price - I think that the £4.95 price tag is extremely good value for money for what would be equivalent to a double measure of spirit and a mixer. Most pubs charge well in excess of £6 for the same cocktails, and a double vodka and coke for instance would cost in excess of £5.

As I have mentioned in previous reviews, we welcome all feedback, especially the constructive kind, and will happily hold our hands up when we get it wrong, however I do feel that we should also be able to defend our product when the product delivered is nothing less than what we have promised and specified on the menu.

Kind regards

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.4 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
11.4 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Hotel

Property: The Eagle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle is a small 9 bedroom hotelsituated in the heart of Dornoch. The ambient setting is a wonderful starting point for any globetrotter looking to take in the spectacular scenery with breathtaking views. Close by is the award winning beach and the world famous championship Royal Dornoch golf course.The Eagle boasts great hospitality home made food real ales, craft lagers and an extensive Scottish gin and malt whisky collection with surroundings that have a modern take on tradition keeping true to its heritage. All of our en - suite rooms have recently been refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Dornoch
The Eagle Hotel Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing