We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find.”
Review of The Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Eagle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

More like a pub with rooms but excellent value for money. Room was great and the staff were really friendly. Located in a delightfull village(Dornoch) with afew other pubs to try.
Meal at night was excellent with our steaks done to perfection and the breakfast was ace.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for your terrific comments about your recent stay. It is reviews like this that makes it all worthwhile. I will take great pleasure sharing your comments with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    53
    28
    24
    19
See reviews for
50
54
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Whilst touring Scotland we booked this Pub/Hotel and if it had been earlier in the day when we arrived we would have walked away, The pub was fine and the booze was ok, evening meal and breakfast was pub grub but the room was awful, we booked a double and got a twin, cheap and cheerful beds and not comfy, the roller blind was broken in a downward position very tired and in much need of restoration - it served a purpose but not an enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
In response to your comments posted onto Trip Advisor on 19th May 2014 I do apologise that your visit to the Eagle was not as you would have expected.

I have investigated your comments and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

I do apologise for the blind being broken in your room and this should have been repaired before you arrived.

Once again thank you for bringing these issues to my attention and my apologies for the dis-satisfaction you had during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dornoch hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for a night and it served our purpose, the bedroom was small but had everything you'd need from a bed and breakfast. We had a meal in the bar which was lovely, we had to wait a while to be served as the lady was serving drinks from the bar while taking food orders and serving the food but it was worth the wait. The breakfast was perfect too. Good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,Thanks for taking the time to write for what was for the best part a great review. However my apologies it took so long to be served. Many thanks and I hope you will return to The Eagle sometime in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here in the past several times while travelling north to work. We had not been in that direction for some time, so we were looking forward to staying there again. I think it has lost a lot of its character. It was always busy when we were there before, and that created a great atmosphere. Unlike one of the previous comments I actually miss the random clutter that was on the shelves around the bar. also the restaurant is now a pool room so you have breakfast in the bar in the morning. I have to say the staff were very friendly and attentive and the food was very very good. But the room was rather dismal. The window appeared to be parting company with the frame and the bathroom was very tired (the toilet roll holder fell off the wall onto my toe!) I must say that I did not feel comfortable about having a shower in that bathroom. It's a shame that the effort that goes into the food and service is spoiled by the accommodation.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank heatherad_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations further to your stay at The Eagle. I would have hoped, had we known about your dissatisfaction been able to move you to another room. I am happy to read that you had a good experience with our staff and enjoyed the food. Thank you for taking the time to review The Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Disappointing return to otherwise good wee hotel. Was given room over the bar, which has to be expected sometime,as it is a small hotel.Wasn't expecting door lock/jam to be half open with light pouring in, looks like it's been forced & not fixed properly, shook every time someone walked upstairs, 2 single beds in room with very thin duvet, pillows have seen better days. Front window shook very loudly when traffic passed. Staff friendly and food very good, but poor sleep over both nights.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Eagle, I am sorry your stay was not as good as your last visit. I have asked my maintenance team to address the issues you listed in your review which I am sure will benefit future guests allocated this bedroom.

It makes our day though that you found the staff friendly and the food very good.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments about The Eagle, and I hope we would live up to your expectations next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We arrived a little later than expected but the hostess was extremely helpful and kind. She notified us that they were currently having boiler issues and that we would not be able to have a bath. We had booked and paid extra for a superior room that included a whirlpool bath so that we may relax after our 5 hour journey so we were disappointed to say the least. Once inside the room left a lot to be desired. Not finished to a great standard, wall paint smudged, the bathroom tiles grouting all dirty, walls had be plastered over and not painted and a dirty bedside table. After a quick clean by myself and an inspection of the bed linen I was satisfied that it was clean. Over all not a bad stay although around 2.15am there were still ''guests'' I assume wandering around the halls, talking loudly and banging doors as well as people outside of our window talking loud all evening. Breakfast was of a good standard and made up slightly for the lack of sleep. I wouldn't rush back but I have had worse experiences. I do believe though that the rooms are overpriced for the quality of them.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSMacLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here with friends in December. Had a great visit. Room was spacious clean & comfortable. Meals in the restaurant were excellent & good value for money. The staff were all very friendly & helpful. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quine53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.4 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
11.4 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Hotel

Property: The Eagle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle is a small 9 bedroom hotelsituated in the heart of Dornoch. The ambient setting is a wonderful starting point for any globetrotter looking to take in the spectacular scenery with breathtaking views. Close by is the award winning beach and the world famous championship Royal Dornoch golf course.The Eagle boasts great hospitality home made food real ales, craft lagers and an extensive Scottish gin and malt whisky collection with surroundings that have a modern take on tradition keeping true to its heritage. All of our en - suite rooms have recently been refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Dornoch
The Eagle Hotel Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing