We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard hotel”
Review of The Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Eagle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Well priced good accommodation in the centre of Dornoch, close to the beach. Hotel is Dog friendly in the rooms. A good comfortable stay. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. Great breakfast. We stayed in a family room.

Room Tip: dog friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julesbrown56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest Thanks for such a great review and I will be delighted to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here as a stopover on LEJOG Bike ride. 9 of us in total and they really looked after us. Food was excellent, beer also great. Lovely breakfast in the morning. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Would be happy to stay here again and can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for such a complimentary review which is greatly appreciated by us all at The Eagle and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Generally, the hotel should be called a pub. It is in desperate need of refurbishment and our very small shower room (we stayed in the Bruichladich room) is no exception. The cleaning of our room was sufficient but this did not extend to the shower room. Our sleep was interrupted by very noisy people at the bar until 12:15am one morning. The food was of a good pub standard and they served some excellent real ale. When using the rear entrance and outside stairs, you had to walk through a constant flow of extracted kitchen air. The rear area of the pub was very untidy and allowed space for 3 cars to park, although there is plenty of available space close by. The price of £99/night for 2 people is £50 too much! NO, we won't be returning!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bellx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest, I am sorry to read your negative review of The Eagle. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment during your stay. We do try to make it very clear on all our online advertising that we are not a hotel but are infact a pub with rooms and as so at the weekend it does get rather noisy. I must also apologise for your room, we are working our way through upgrading our rooms but this is a very slow process.

I was very pleased to see you enjoyed our food and real ale.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

More like a pub with rooms but excellent value for money. Room was great and the staff were really friendly. Located in a delightfull village(Dornoch) with afew other pubs to try.
Meal at night was excellent with our steaks done to perfection and the breakfast was ace.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thanks for your terrific comments about your recent stay. It is reviews like this that makes it all worthwhile. I will take great pleasure sharing your comments with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Whilst touring Scotland we booked this Pub/Hotel and if it had been earlier in the day when we arrived we would have walked away, The pub was fine and the booze was ok, evening meal and breakfast was pub grub but the room was awful, we booked a double and got a twin, cheap and cheerful beds and not comfy, the roller blind was broken in a downward position very tired and in much need of restoration - it served a purpose but not an enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

In response to your comments posted onto Trip Advisor on 19th May 2014 I do apologise that your visit to the Eagle was not as you would have expected.

I have investigated your comments and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

I do apologise for the blind being broken in your room and this should have been repaired before you arrived.

Once again thank you for bringing these issues to my attention and my apologies for the dis-satisfaction you had during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for a night and it served our purpose, the bedroom was small but had everything you'd need from a bed and breakfast. We had a meal in the bar which was lovely, we had to wait a while to be served as the lady was serving drinks from the bar while taking food orders and serving the food but it was worth the wait. The breakfast was perfect too. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest,Thanks for taking the time to write for what was for the best part a great review. However my apologies it took so long to be served. Many thanks and I hope you will return to The Eagle sometime in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have stayed here in the past several times while travelling north to work. We had not been in that direction for some time, so we were looking forward to staying there again. I think it has lost a lot of its character. It was always busy when we were there before, and that created a great atmosphere. Unlike one of the previous comments I actually miss the random clutter that was on the shelves around the bar. also the restaurant is now a pool room so you have breakfast in the bar in the morning. I have to say the staff were very friendly and attentive and the food was very very good. But the room was rather dismal. The window appeared to be parting company with the frame and the bathroom was very tired (the toilet roll holder fell off the wall onto my toe!) I must say that I did not feel comfortable about having a shower in that bathroom. It's a shame that the effort that goes into the food and service is spoiled by the accommodation.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank heatherad_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations further to your stay at The Eagle. I would have hoped, had we known about your dissatisfaction been able to move you to another room. I am happy to read that you had a good experience with our staff and enjoyed the food. Thank you for taking the time to review The Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.4 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
809 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tain
218 reviews
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range: £79 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle is a small 9 bedroom hotelsituated in the heart of Dornoch. The ambient setting is a wonderful starting point for any globetrotter looking to take in the spectacular scenery with breathtaking views. Close by is the award winning beach and the world famous championship Royal Dornoch golf course.The Eagle boasts great hospitality home made food real ales, craft lagers and an extensive Scottish gin and malt whisky collection with surroundings that have a modern take on tradition keeping true to its heritage. All of our en - suite rooms have recently been refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Dornoch
The Eagle Hotel Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing