We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of The Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Eagle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The eagle is a great wee pub, food is very good, but will agree with a lot of other reviewers, that you can go in, the place is half empty, yet they tell you you could have a long wait!
Is the kitchen too small to deal with the number of covers?
Are they short staffed all the time?
We've been on holiday in Dornoch the last two years, and both times we have noticed this, can't fault the food, but you could wait a while before it arrives, that's if they can take you.
Needs sorting out me thinks!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    56
    30
    24
    21
See reviews for
53
62
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was caravaning in Embro for a few days so happened to pass the eagle hotel .

The staff were fantastic very, very friendly with a smile which i find important all part of the service the bar seemed very busy so that's a good sign , the food was "exceptional" i had the fish & chips which have been the best since moving to Scotland 17 years ago , So many many thanks to the eagle & all the staff .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toonforlifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for such a fantastic review. I will enjoy sharing your views with my team who I know will appreciate your kind comments. We at The Eagle look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were given a twin room, the duvets on the bed were poor quality, no thicker than a sheet ! No pillow case on one of the beds and the blind fell down on closing, the pictures on web site do not give a true picture of this establishment ,we would never stay here again and would definitely not recommend to others - go somewhere else ! Definitely not worth £99 !! Maybe £50 at a push .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellers-2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest

Having read your disappointing review I can see quite clearly that you have been let down by our maintenance and housekeeping teams.
However I will use your feedback to assist us, as we at The Eagle continue with our aspiration for consistency across all aspects of our business.
Many thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dornoch hotels

Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for one night and was less than impressed. The hotel part of the building needs a total revamp/paint and overhaul. Breakfast (bacon roll) in the morning was OK, despite having to go to the local shop myself to get milk, as semi-skimmed hadn't been delivered. Don't know why the staff member I asked couldn't have gone prior to guests coming down for their breakfast! Also, why serve breakfast in the pub area rather than use the dining room. The lingering smell of alcohol from the night before is not the best whilst eating breakfast!

I'm sure if it wasn't for the fact it was in a lovely area of the country, the room rates would b a third of what I paid. Not impressed and I suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your views on Trip Advisor. I note your comments regarding the breakfast being served in the bar area and as such we have now moved it into the dining room. I apologize for the service at breakfast, the member of staff should have foresaw your needs and attended to them before opening.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments, we do constantly strive to improve our service and take action on all comments made
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

By now I go to the Eagle every time I pass through Dornoch on my way north. It has a lovely atmosphere, is always consistently good and.............where do they find such fabulous staff?! We dropped by for a late lunch on a busy Friday and were warmly welcomed, offered a seat (we chose to watch the Wimbledon quarter finals) and made ourselves at home. Brilliant service, an eye for detail and a waiter who commented on the tennis - fabulous! It was like being at home with someone doing all the work for you. Tasty tasty main courses of Chilli con Carne with tangy guacamole for me and a lovely dish of strongly smoked (local?) salmon and sublime creamy horseradish dressing (difficult to get right) for madame. Mine washed down with local ale and hers with a crisp Sauvignon. Bliss.

Room Tip: We've only been to the bar but that's worth a trip on its own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for the fabulous review and we at The Eagle all look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Well priced good accommodation in the centre of Dornoch, close to the beach. Hotel is Dog friendly in the rooms. A good comfortable stay. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. Great breakfast. We stayed in a family room.

Room Tip: dog friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesbrown56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest Thanks for such a great review and I will be delighted to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here as a stopover on LEJOG Bike ride. 9 of us in total and they really looked after us. Food was excellent, beer also great. Lovely breakfast in the morning. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Would be happy to stay here again and can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albar_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for such a complimentary review which is greatly appreciated by us all at The Eagle and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.4 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tain
204 reviews
11.4 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Hotel

Property: The Eagle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle is a small 9 bedroom hotelsituated in the heart of Dornoch. The ambient setting is a wonderful starting point for any globetrotter looking to take in the spectacular scenery with breathtaking views. Close by is the award winning beach and the world famous championship Royal Dornoch golf course.The Eagle boasts great hospitality home made food real ales, craft lagers and an extensive Scottish gin and malt whisky collection with surroundings that have a modern take on tradition keeping true to its heritage. All of our en - suite rooms have recently been refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Dornoch
The Eagle Hotel Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing