We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a delight!!”

Amalfi Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amalfi Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 18 Dornoch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a delight!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Warm welcome, beautiful and comfortable room, friendly and helpful hosts, personal service, fantastic breakfast - what more does one want when touring? Only regret was that we did not stay longer. Perhaps next visit.
Thanks Edward and Marelle.

Leela, Bellur

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Leela and Bellur,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments! We really consider ourselves very fortunate to be able to meet, albeit briefly, such friendly wonderful people like you!
I very much appreciate you taking a few minutes to do this review!
Thank you again for staying with us. Edward and Marelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
60
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

If you're planning a trip to Dornoch and surroundings for golf (or anything else ... but golf is what brought us here) and looking for B&B accommodations, I can't imagine doing any better than the Amalfi with hosts Marelle and Edward. Just two blocks from the first tee at Royal Dornoch and blocks from the center of town, the hospitality is warm, genuine, and lively. The delicious breakfasts take place around a large table where conversation is easy and enjoyable, with Edward helping on the introductions. Golf is a particularly popular and enjoyable topic, but Edward and Marelle are very knowledgable about any number of things, including local and nearby history and attractions. If you're lucky enough to be from some part of the world that has not been represented at Amalfi yet, you'll even get to witness a new push pin put in to one of the four maps that records the hometowns of all the guests over the years. Hope to be able to get back someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Barry, Many thanks for those kind words. Edward and I also very much enjoyed your company here. We are delighted to hear we contributed in some small way towards making your holiday more enjoyable!
Kind regards to you both, Marelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

What a nice experience this was! Warm welcome, beautiful room and great breakfast. Edward gave me a golf lesson over coffee in the living room and Marelle had made everything so comfortable. Couldn't fault it in any way. Wonderful. Bill Hickling

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Fudsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thanks Bill! We very much enjoyed meeting you. Hope the golf lesson was useful!
Marelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My wife and I read the lovely reviews of Amalfi and selected Marelle's home based on them. As complimentary as the reviews were, they don't truly reflect the warmth and hospitality shown to us.

We were on a four day break and had not previously explored the Dornoch area. Marelle was well versed on local attractions and was able to point us in the right direction to investigate the cairns and other neolithic sites nearby.

Each morning we feasted on butcher quality meats, including haggis and black pudding. The eggs were free range. Home made white and brown bread and freshly brewed espresso completed the repast. To say we didn't need a lunch would be an understatement.

We stayed in a twin bedded room that had been zip-linked to make a super king bed. What a treat.

We hope to have the good fortune to return. We know our welcome will be warm and most genuine.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you both so much - very kind words. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2013

For anyone planning a little golf in the north of Scotland, this place is a must. Marelle and Edward are gracious hosts and excellent cooks and go out of their way to make guests feel at home. Location adjacent to Royal Dornoch is ideal and Edward can give first-hand recommendations for other courses in the area. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Mr T, thank you so much for your kind words - we will be more than delighted to see you return to Amalfi! Marelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My son and I travelled north in Scotland to the lovely town of Dornoch, to play some local golf. We were greeted at the Amalfi B & B by the hostess. What a lovely lady, in a lovely home. She could not do enough to make our stay most comfortable and most enjoyable, including a wee dram. We will return to Dornonch and be sure to visit the Amalfi again. Thank you... :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
We were so please to have contributed to the fun of your holiday! We hope to see you back in Dornoch again - you will be more than welcome!
Thank you for your kind words. Marelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This was our second visit to the Amalfi and as usual, we had a really warm welcome. We have two collies, so were in the family room. Everything was spotless, and the breakfast was brilliant. My parents had the double room and that was lovely too. We all had a marvellous time, just not long enough. We will return again. Dornoch is a lovely base for a holiday, lots to see and do, and a very pretty setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you for your kind words! It was lovely to see you all again - Rosie and Gemma included!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
2 Quail Guest House
2 Quail Guest House
#3 of 18 in Dornoch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Bed & Breakfast

Property: Amalfi Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5 River Street, Dornoch IV25 3LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amalfi, a friendly family-run B & B, owned by a Dornoch native and the closest B & B to Royal Dornoch (300 yards) yet only 400 yards from the town square. The rooms are clean and spacious. The breakfast is wonderful, including fresh bread made daily. Your comfort and satisfaction are our priorities; we take pleasure in achieving that ‘home from home’ atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you to Amalfi, arriving as guests and leaving as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amalfi Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalfi Bed & Breakfast Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing