We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amalfi Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosslyn Villa(Dornoch)
View Hotel
Dornoch Hotel(Dornoch)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
138
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarelle and edwardb broyal dornochgolf coursewarm welcomehaggisgreat location for golfhomemade breadperfect hostsconvenient locationsurrounding townscomfortable roomeast coastlovely hometown squareplace to stayfour nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

When you visit Dornoch, call this lovely couple first. You will be very well taken care of. I have been here several times and this is our first option. We love the rooms as they are large and very quiet. There is great hospitality, great food and a very good location, close to the golf course and the town center. We never use our car once we arrive.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bjorn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Bjorn, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. It means a lot to us. Every time you leave here we look forward to your next visit! See you in a few weeks! Thanks again, Marelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A beautifully furnished room and a very warm welcome to ourselves and our dog :) The B+B is in an excellent location 5 minutes from a lovely beach and 5 mintues the other way from the town centre with its shops retaurants and pubs. Well deserving the 5 stars that we rarely give, highly recommend. Thank you Marelle and Edward.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaMcAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Anna, many thanks for your kind review! We are both very pleased we helped you enjoy your time in Dornoch, and I know Calico certainly enjoyed her walks! Thanks again, Marelle and Edward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Marelle and Edward know how to make their guests feel at home. We stayed there during the Carnegie Shield, and they were terrific hosts. Marelle and Edward go out of their way to make sure their guests have a great experience in Dornoch. The breakfasts were delicious and hearty, and just the way to start a busy day. The accomodations were very comfortable, and having the ensuite bathroom is very convenient. Amalfi B&B is a wonderful way to spend a night, a weekend or an entire week.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Trey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Trey, it was a privilege to have your company this year. Every morning at breakfast was such fun, and we were excited for you as you progressed to the final of the Shield.
A big sincere 'thanks' for your kind words, and for staying with us!
Marelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I have stayed at the Amalfi with Marelle and Edward several times. I had to change my timing this year but remained determined to make my regular visit. Marelle and Edward are perfect hosts; they are friendly and considerate and their mix of backgrounds and interests registers positively with a varied range of guests. All of the rooms I have used have been comfortable and the breakfasts have always been excellent. Dornoch is a great golfing town but that would not be the sole reason for making a visit there. There is much to see and do around this lovely old town and the location of the Amalfi is perfect whatever your interests. The friendliness and hospitality of Marelle and Edward, however, is what makes my visits to Dornoch very special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Golfer017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Jim, what can I say? Thank you so much for your kind review.
We too enjoyed your visit. Meeting so many different and varied people is one aspect of the job we really love.
Looking forward to your return! Marelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our hostess, Marelle, and her husband Edward, are delightful! We stayed during the Carnegie Shield tournament and could not have felt more welcome and at home! They were helpful and even though we had been to Dornoch several time, they introduced us to new places. The ensuite rooms are comfortable and large and the breakfast every morning is over the top fabulous! You must forget anything you think about haggis, and try theirs. I understand why the maker is a champion. We had a delightful time there and visiting with them. They go out of their way to treat their guest like good friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwilk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Kimberley, Many thanks for such kind words about Amalfi!
We really take great pleasure in playing a part in the 'Dornoch Experience', which for many people is a trip of a lifetime. We loved having you stay, and getting to know you over the week.
We hope we can welcome you back next year!
Marelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews