We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable welcome or place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amalfi Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 18 Dornoch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here on 12th June. Only complaint is that it was not for longer. Edward and Marelle met me and my wife at the door for introductions. They have a great knowledge of the area and went through some of the options of places to visit. They even had the menus of local eateries. Comfort was of the highest order. Nothing was too much trouble for them. In the morning, the breakfast was immense. For the cooked part, I asked for sausage, black pudding and egg. By the end of Edwards smooth talking, I ended up with sausage, bacon, egg, tomato, black pudding, haggis, mushrooms and potato scone. He let me off with just having one slice of bacon. Everything was locally sourced. It was cooked to perfection by Marelle, (just in case Edward claims the glory. She even makes her own bread).

Edward and Marelle are exceptionally nice hosts. If you want a home from home, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words - it really means a lot to us when people take the time to put together a review.
We really enjoyed your company at Amalfi, and when we have lovely guests such as yourselves it makes our job feel really worthwhile.
We do hope to see you both again.
Marelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Amalfi House is a very nice place to stay if you are going to be in Dornoch. Marelle and Ed are warm hosts who make your stay warm and friendly. The location is perfect for golf at Royal Dornoch as it is less than a 5 minute walk to the first tee. The room I had was comfortable, although a little cramped with the best shower I encountered in two weeks of travel.

Since they are golfers, they understand that golfers have early tee times and need an early breakfast.

I'll be there again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John543212345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

John, Many thanks for taking the time to review Amalfi. The room you used is my smallest room, and I am planning a refurbishment to maximise the space. We very much enjoyed meeting you, and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Marelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

When you visit Dornoch, call this lovely couple first. You will be very well taken care of. I have been here several times and this is our first option. We love the rooms as they are large and very quiet. There is great hospitality, great food and a very good location, close to the golf course and the town center. We never use our car once we arrive.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bjorn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Bjorn, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. It means a lot to us. Every time you leave here we look forward to your next visit! See you in a few weeks! Thanks again, Marelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A beautifully furnished room and a very warm welcome to ourselves and our dog :) The B+B is in an excellent location 5 minutes from a lovely beach and 5 mintues the other way from the town centre with its shops retaurants and pubs. Well deserving the 5 stars that we rarely give, highly recommend. Thank you Marelle and Edward.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaMcAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Anna, many thanks for your kind review! We are both very pleased we helped you enjoy your time in Dornoch, and I know Calico certainly enjoyed her walks! Thanks again, Marelle and Edward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Marelle and Edward know how to make their guests feel at home. We stayed there during the Carnegie Shield, and they were terrific hosts. Marelle and Edward go out of their way to make sure their guests have a great experience in Dornoch. The breakfasts were delicious and hearty, and just the way to start a busy day. The accomodations were very comfortable, and having the ensuite bathroom is very convenient. Amalfi B&B is a wonderful way to spend a night, a weekend or an entire week.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Trey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Trey, it was a privilege to have your company this year. Every morning at breakfast was such fun, and we were excited for you as you progressed to the final of the Shield.
A big sincere 'thanks' for your kind words, and for staying with us!
Marelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I have stayed at the Amalfi with Marelle and Edward several times. I had to change my timing this year but remained determined to make my regular visit. Marelle and Edward are perfect hosts; they are friendly and considerate and their mix of backgrounds and interests registers positively with a varied range of guests. All of the rooms I have used have been comfortable and the breakfasts have always been excellent. Dornoch is a great golfing town but that would not be the sole reason for making a visit there. There is much to see and do around this lovely old town and the location of the Amalfi is perfect whatever your interests. The friendliness and hospitality of Marelle and Edward, however, is what makes my visits to Dornoch very special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Golfer017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Jim, what can I say? Thank you so much for your kind review.
We too enjoyed your visit. Meeting so many different and varied people is one aspect of the job we really love.
Looking forward to your return! Marelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our hostess, Marelle, and her husband Edward, are delightful! We stayed during the Carnegie Shield tournament and could not have felt more welcome and at home! They were helpful and even though we had been to Dornoch several time, they introduced us to new places. The ensuite rooms are comfortable and large and the breakfast every morning is over the top fabulous! You must forget anything you think about haggis, and try theirs. I understand why the maker is a champion. We had a delightful time there and visiting with them. They go out of their way to treat their guest like good friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwilk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Kimberley, Many thanks for such kind words about Amalfi!
We really take great pleasure in playing a part in the 'Dornoch Experience', which for many people is a trip of a lifetime. We loved having you stay, and getting to know you over the week.
We hope we can welcome you back next year!
Marelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
234 reviews
4.5 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
at No 9
at No 9
#1 of 18 in Dornoch
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fionn Lodge
Fionn Lodge
#2 of 18 in Dornoch
68 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Steading
The Steading
#6 of 18 in Dornoch
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 River Street, Dornoch IV25 3LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dornoch
Price Range: £81 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amalfi, a friendly family-run B & B, owned by a Dornoch native and the closest B & B to Royal Dornoch (300 yards) yet only 400 yards from the town square. The rooms are clean and spacious. The breakfast is wonderful, including fresh bread made daily. Your comfort and satisfaction are our priorities; we take pleasure in achieving that ‘home from home’ atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you to Amalfi, arriving as guests and leaving as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amalfi Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalfi Bed & Breakfast Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing