We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat hotel in a neat town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We experienced very good service as well as good food and booze. The hotel is right "downtown" so just about everything is within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again when in Dornoch.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigO8479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Thank you so much for such a lovely comment, all the staff are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we all work very hard to ensure that each guest has a memorable stay and visit to Dornoch.
We hope you are able to visit us again.
Warmest wishes from all the team at Dornoch Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

We visited Dornoch Castle Hotel while traveling in northern Scotland. Our daughter summed it up best when she asked "do we only get to stay here one night?"

The building really is an old castle in the heart of Dornoch. If you haven't been there, it is very much like a Cotswold village on the east coast of Scotland. It is very charming and the hotel is probably the most prominent building in town.

We were greeted in a very friendly manner on our entrance and the woman checking us in even gave me literature when I asked about the castle's history. We stayed in a four-poster bedroom with our children in an adjacent room. Although in an old castle, the rooms were warm and comfortable and the bathroom luxurious and modern.

We had a delightful dinner in the excellent restaurant downstairs. The bar is almost the ideal of a UK pub with a large assortment of single malt scotches.

There was ample parking in front of the hotel. Dornoch Cathedral (which structurally is akin to a large church) dominates the town center, and the stores included nice antiques and book stores.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

Many thanks for you very lovely comments, all the staff are delighted to hear such lovely comments and strive to make every guests stay a very pleasurable and memorable one.
We hope that you are able to visit us again in the furture.
Warmest wishes from us all at Dornoch Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed in the old court room for our first anniversary. Can't tell you how good it was. Loved everything about the room, hotel, staff and food. Will definately come back, worth every penny.
I recently popped into the castle for a bottle of single malt whisky
to give my husband and not havjng any idea of eht i was looking for, Colin was extremely helpful, thank you.
Our night in the old court room has to be the best hotel stay I have had and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmamacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments, we all agree that the Old Courtroom is a very special room and we are glad you had such a lovely and memorable time with us.
We hope to see you again in the furture.
Warmest wishes from all the staff at Dornoch Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed in July for 2 nights in the Tower room, really nice room with hand carved furniture, lovely views. its a bit of a hike as its on the third floor with no lift but well worth it.
The dinners in the restaurant were top notch as well, but what makes this hotel stand out for us is the staff.
They all know what they are doing and are extremely friendly at the same time. The Receptionists Ashley and Vicky are absolute gems and the 2 young chaps (owners sons??) who run the bar and restaurant ensure that you have a gret time and thanks to them for introducing us to whisky tasting - we are still recovering!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherokee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

All the staff really appreciate your lovely comments and are delighted you had such a wonderful stay.
We all work very hard to ensure every guests stay is a very pleasurable and memorable stay.
We hope to see you again in the furture.
Warmest wishes from all the staff at Dornoch Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This friendly hotel was chosen for its character and charm and it delivered both. Our pretty room had a view of the back garden with distant water views, calm and happy. The spotless bathroom was also appreciated.
In the bar is a glass display case filled to the brim with every type of whiskey imaginable and an enormous stone fireplace. The expert staff can recommend and explain the whiskey selection; they even kept handy the books and bibles of whiskey rating. (I do not have a good enough palate to appreciate fine whiskey, though)
The restaurant, a glassed veranda, offers views onto the gardens. At first, I was bewildered by how bright it seemed at dinner time... the sun doesn't set until very late at night! Glorious! Excellent food, excellent service in a beautiful setting. It is family run... so you get personal attention from the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bravo-cinzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

Thank you for such wonderful comments, all the staff really appreciated such comments and we thrive on ensuring a memorable stay.
We hope to see you again in the furture.
Warmest wishes from all the staff at Dornoch Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

First impression of this hotel was really positive. Huge room which was fabulous, 4 poster bed, vaulted ceiling, champagne on ice, bathrobes and slippers. Sadly let down by grey and frayed face cloths in the bathroom on the first day and really poor quality and outdated bed linen. It was spotlessly clean but clearly showing signs of it's age (from the pattern I would guess about 15 years old). When I checked the duvet again it appeared to be an ancient bobble polyester one. Not impressed given the cost of the room £650 for 3 nights)

Staff were really friendly and the evening meal was good value but again let down badly by outdated maroon polyester tablecloths and battered cutlery.

We only had breakfast on the first day and it was reasonable - nothing special, staff began to move tables ready for lunch sitting before we had finished eating and this really put us off.

There is some free wifi but for some reason it is limited to public rooms and only 30 minutes a day.

We probably wouldn't go back, it was just too expensive and we stayed in some fabulous B&Bs during our trip that far outweighed this hotel both in quality and value for money.

Room Tip: Look for a special deal, rack rates are expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kittybat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The Food was Excellent, the main mean was very well cooked and the breakfast was also excellent. The Staff were friendly, really nice barman.
The executive family room was superb and having two rooms with a "Jack and Jill" Bathroom was excellent.
I did explain that one of the beds in the kids bedroom had seen better days and they said that they would look into it.

Room Tip: there is no elevator so be ready for the stairs. Book a table early, as it was busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldial44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

Thank you for your comments, all the staff strive to ensure that every guests has a memorable stay while they are here.
We hope that you are able to visit again in the furture.
Warmest wishes from all the staff at Dornoch Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
234 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
201 reviews
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range: £126 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dornoch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle is located in the historic town of Dornoch across from the stunning 13th century Cathedral, boasting stunning views of the town. The central position of the hotel makes it ideal for exploring Dornoch, home to the world famous Royal Dornoch Golf Course, which overlooks the breath taking golden sand beach. Dornoch is also well situated for those looking to explore more of what the Highlands have to offer. The historic Castle is built on the site of the original Bishop’s Palace of St Gilbert, who founded the Cathedral in the early 13th century. The building eventually sold on and in 1947 became a hotel after some extensive work, which maintain much of the character of the Castle as a stately, historic and comfortable home. The Castle boasts a total of 22 en-suite bedrooms situated both within the original castle and the modern garden extension. There is a variety of room types available including; standard, superior, deluxe and our award winning Old Courtroom. Due to the castle’s layout each bedroom has its own special ambiance, great care has been taking in creating a distinctive character in each bedroom. The Castle's restaurant has retained an AA rosette standard, through the exceptional work from the chefs. The malt whisky selection is second to none and can be enjoyed in the cosy stone-lined whisky bar with the roaring fire to protect you from the Scottish winds, in the summer the walled garden is the perfect setting to relax during the long summer nights. Coming Summer 2016: The Dornoch Distillery will be opening soon on the grounds of the Dornoch Castle Hotel producing 'Old Style' Whisky and Hand Crafted Organic Gin from scratch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Dornoch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Castle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing