We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Dornoch Hotel(Dornoch)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$238
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$476
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (831)
Filter reviews
831 results
Traveller rating
398
272
97
46
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
272
97
46
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedtower roomlog firewhiskey barbar areavenisonno liftmusselslovely hotelmalt whiskyreal alesuperior roomresidents loungelocal producedining roomone night staycooked to perfection
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 831 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This historic castle sits amoung other historic buildings in this small and elegant old town. We arrived at sunset when the castle looked old and grey, yet welcoming. The room we stayed in was very large with a big old 4 posted bed and old styled furniture (but with big and modern ensuite) which I loved. The castle floors creaked in the corridors which added to the spooky atmosphere.

The whisky bar downstairs had an amazing selection, including whisky dating back to 1900! They had the fireplace going which created a relaxed and warm atmosphere.

The restaraunt was simply decorated with no pretence, even though they are a fine dining experience with a great reputation. It was the best meal I had in Scotland - I really recommend the Scottish steak, medium rare, perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kym-and-Dan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Hello Kym-and-Dan74,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a lovely review of your recent stay with us.

We are very happy to hear that you consider your meal with us to be 'the best' you've had in Scotland. I will pass your comments on to the chefs.

It is great to hear that you loved the style of the room; each of our castle rooms is unique with individual furniture and unique characteristics.

Should you be in Scotland in the future be sure to pop back and visit us again!

Kind regards,
The Dornoch Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stopped off while visiting Dornoch for the day and enjoyed a delicious Sunday roast beef lunch in a very pleasant setting. The staff were friendly and accommodating, especially when my 88 year old grand mother asked for a smaller portion and they assured her it was absolutely no problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShariOverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Hello ShariOverseas,

Thank you for reviewing your recent Sunday lunch experience with us. Sunday lunch in the hotel is popular and attracts many customers each week. The chefs are always accommodating should anyone require a smaller or half portion of a dish from our menu.

The menu varies each week and also offers vegetarian options. The chefs are pleased to hear that you described the food as being delicious.

We hope to see you back to dine with us if you are in the area again.

Kind regards,
The Dornoch Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights here and were just blown away with the hospitality. Warm welcome on arrival and nothing was too much bother. Food was fantastic on both nights and as for Simon with the whisky tasting - well just bring me that "Rosebank". Fantastic experience, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the court room. Four poster and log fire - Mmmm
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbieGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our golf group were staying elsewhere in Dornoch, a huge mistake, but we had 2 sensational meals in the Dornoch Castle restaurant, and 3 wonderful nights sampling the local Cromarty ales and stunning selection of malts behind the bar. The food was of an extremely high quality, all local produce, with first class service. Simon & Phil behind the bar expertly talked us through the sampling of countless malts over the 3 nights and we'll definitely be back soon, but this time to stay as hotel guests. You learn by your mistakes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erchie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in the Old Courtroom suite at the Dornoch Castle and have to say it was one of our most memorable experiences. The room was stunning - a four-poster in an amazing room with a huge open hearth and oak panelling below solid stone walls. There was a whirlpool spa bath which we enjoyed and the whole experience was topped by wonderful dinners and great breakfasts. We would absolutely recommend the hotel and it's worth the extra to stay in the best room!

Room Tip: Go for the Old Courtroom which is incredible.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews