We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (876)
Filter reviews
876 results
Traveller rating
418
281
106
49
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
281
106
49
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedtower roomopen firewhiskey barbar areamusselsno liftsuperior roomresidents loungemalt whiskysteakdining roomsecond to nonebed and breakfastwarm welcomecourtroomsherry
Filter
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 876 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We got married at this hotel so it will remain quite special to us. The food - phenomenal! We had dinner and breakfast at this hotel and were ecstatic with each meal. The food is presented so nicely and I found it to be of great quality. I took photos of our meals, that's how impressed I was! We stayed in the old courtroom and the staff left us some firewood for a cozy fire on our wedding night. The grounds were beautifully kept and the hotel itself is so charming. I also remember the price of our stay to be quite reasonable. Overall the experience was wonderful and we will be returning to Scotland in a couple years and will be staying at this hotel for a couple nights to celebrate our anniversary. Thank you Dornoch staff for the fabulous experience. It remains in our memory to this day! (Note: our stay was in September 2010)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on a tour of Scotland.

The hotel was lovely, with a good atmosphere.

The staff were all very friendly and attentive to all guests.

The bar was full of whiskey!!! Any make was available or seemed to be anyway!!

The food that was served up was unsurpassable. It was gorgeous, cooked to perfection. The venison was great, the steak was cooked to perfection.

It was very quiet for sleeping. The room was very clean and tidy.
The bathroom as well was very modern. In our room there was no bath, only a shower. This may put some people off.

Breakfast was freshly cooked in morning and was delicious!!

Well recommended to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rovership
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Good Evening,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Dornoch Castle hotel.

All of your comments are very much appreciated by all of us at the Dornoch Castle hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere and were happy with the service you received during your stay. We are also pleased that your meal was gorgeous and that you felt it was cooked to perfection – the chefs work very hard to make sure everything they send out is delicious and appetizing.

It is also great to hear that the room was to your liking and that you found it quiet. The Castle rooms are great for keeping out the noise with their thick walls and the annex is great too due to being away from the road.

We are glad that you mentioned that some guests may not appreciate that some rooms only have showers – we do try to stress that it is easier to let us know when reserving if a bath is preferred and we are more than happy to help!

We do hope you will return in the near future.

Best Wishes
All of the staff at the Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent 5 days touring Scotland and this was our very favourite hotel. The staff were warm and welcoming. The food was really good. And the open fire made for a lovely, cosy atmosphere.
We'll definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Dornoch Castle hotel.

Everyone at the Castle are delighted that during you 5 days in Scotland, we were your very favourite! We really appreciate that you found the staff to be warm and welcoming too – our guests always come first.
We are also pleased you enjoyed our love open fire in our old stone-work bar area. It is very relaxing and can be extremely cosy!

We are glad that you would visit us again and hope to see you soon!

Best Wishes
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Went for a light lunch today with my daughter .we had a cup of homemade potato and leek soup and choice of sandwiches it was delicious . The service was excellent and there was a lovely homely atmosphere . The meal was reasonably priced and there was plenty of choice . Our waitress cold not have been nicer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennerzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the Dornoch Castle hotel.

We are delighted that you were able to enjoy a nice lunch with a great atmosphere on your recent visit! The bar area is lovely and cosy, especially on a cold day or even if you just fancied a nice relaxing drink with friends.

Your comments on your waitress have been passed on and we are very pleased to hear you felt that she was friendly. We try very hard to ensure all of our guests enjoy their time with us.

We hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards
All of the staff at the Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here recently. The staff and management made us so welcome from the moment we arrived. The food was very high quality with service to match. Our room was lovely with one of the comfiest beds ever. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finnmcool9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Good Evening.

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Dornoch Castle.

Your comments are much appreciated by all of the staff, especially those in regards to the welcoming you received and evening meal you were able to enjoy. We are also glad that your room was to your liking and that you found the bed was comfortable! Our housekeepers do their best to ensure everything is perfection for our guests!

We do hope to see you again at the Dornoch Castle hotel.

Kind Regards
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews