We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
421
282
108
50
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
282
108
50
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed tower room open fire whiskey bar bar area mussels no lift superior room residents lounge malt whisky steak dining room second to none bed and breakfast warm welcome courtroom sherry
Filter
Updating list...
442 - 447 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

From the first point of contact on this visit to the moment we booked out the next morning the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.
The service could not be faulted, nor could the cuisine, and as an unexpected bonus was the knowledge the bartender had of the vast array of malt whiskies on offer, which he guided me to the brand he thought I would appreciate, and was not disappointed.
Anyone looking for a quiet getaway to relax should certainly give this establishment a worthwhile consideration, we shall certainly be returning again.
For some the lack of lifts may pose a problem, but what would you expect from a building of this age and so much character

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

From the moment we arrived till the moment we left this proved a most enjoyable experience. Pleasant, friendly staff on arrival and delighted with the room in the castle part itself. We had room 2 appropriately called 'Royal Dornoch' given that we were to play this magnificent golf course during our time there. Back to the room. Adequately sized but with a 4 poster bed and one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. Dressing gowns and slippers just added to our enjoyment. This was a superior room so unable to comment on the quality of other standard rooms. The restaurant food was of a high standard although at this time of year the menu is somewhat restricted. Not the cheapest food we've eaten but it was good quality. Overall the hospitality was very good and if it appeals, the opportunity to try some of the whiskies available, should not be missed.

Room Tip: Get into the castle part of the hotel
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnybeeFifeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Literally just got back from a two night stay at Dornoch Castle. It was just fantastic. Dornoch had special memories for me as I spent holidays there 40 years ago. Dornoch itself was almost the same. Everyone was friendly and the beach was stunning. We got a deal for the hotel and stayed in a castle room (the Nairn) with breakfast and the whisky experience. My partner LOVED the whisky tasting and the time taken by bar staff to find a whisky that suited his tastes. All staff treated us like friends and we were very comfortable there. The room was large and really comfortable. Although its a really old building it was warm and had all the comforts and more that you would want. Really soft fluffy towels and all the toiletries you needed. The bed was soft and with the fresh air and beach walks, we slept soundly each night. Breakfasts were cooked to perfection. We ate at the hotel one night (we should have eaten here both nights) and can only describe the food as a perpetual taste sensation. There wasn't a great deal of choice on the menu, but I'd prefer that the food was cooked with the detail it was than have a wide range of choices that weren't very exciting. I had the beef fillet and my partner had the venison and we both agreed that we had never eaten better food anywhere. Other diners were complimenting the chef all night. Food and drinks in the hotel were reasonable and the food particularly good value considering the quality. We loved our stay at this hotel and will definitely return. We had forgotten how beautiful our highlands are. Thanks to all for making our stay so lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weequeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Good Evening,


Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Dornoch Castle.

Everyone is pleased to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Dornoch is a beautiful town with a whole lot of history! We were glad to hear that Nairn was to your liking – the views from this room are magnificent over the Dornoch Firth!

We all do our best to make our guests welcome and are glad that your partner was able to have some knowledge from the boys in regards to his Whisky choices! Scotty, Simon and Phil all love their Whiskies and stock over 200 bottles behind the bar!

The comments on your evening meal are very much appreciated as our chefs work very hard to ensure there is something for everyone’s taste. They have a rosette for their hard work and do their best to maintain this.

With regards to your room comments we are delighted that you enjoyed it. We are pleased you have a good night’s sleep and that the extra touches were to your liking.

It is brilliant to receive reviews like yours as it really boosts the staff and we do hope that you will return again for some more Scottish hospitality.

Kind Regards
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We took advantage of a two day deal from KJB, it was a long drive from Stockport but worth the effort. The reception we received was friendly and welcoming, being an old fashioned building the corridors are a bit like a maze, but it's all part of the fun. Our room was comfy, a bit on the small size but warm and clean. The bar and lounge areas, are so warm and welcoming, the open fire adds to scene, like taking a step into the past. If you like good whisky, you will be in heaven, the selection is endless. Part of our deal was an evening, and this was the icing on our cake,fantastic starters with delicious main and sweets, we had never experienced fillet steak done so perfectly. The town of Dornoch, is small, but very, very friendly. We went for several drives, and found some breathtaking scenery. If you get the chance, please try Dornoch Castle Hotel, a great big thanks to all of the staff, you are a credit to The Dornoch Castle, a great advert for Scottish tourism.

Room Tip: Would be worthwhile upgrading to a larger room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StockportBraveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Four of us stayed on a KGB Deal. We went up for my 40th Birthday. It would have been an 8hr drive, but we flew to inverness by Flybe from Manchester - 40 mins (recomended) for £60 return. The hotel is very nice and the staff are very friendly and do everything to make your stay welcome. The food is lovely. Our deal included £27 towards a 2 course meal but the main course itself was £24 for a fillet beef steak which was a little pricey but I have to admit it was really nice. The Scottish breakfast was also lovely and on the morning of my birthday the staff put candles on my breakfast plate for me to blow out! The bar area has a vast array of fine whiskies to try, ranging from around £4 a shot to over £500 a shot! So if u like a wee dram then this is your place. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discokidda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear DiscoKidda,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy your stay with us at a great price! It is most definitely worth flying if you are travelling from down South – goodness knows how many people manage the drive! We are glad that you thought the staff were friendly and welcoming – we try very hard to do as much as possible for all of our guests.

We were all very happy to hear that the food at the Castle was to your liking too! You will be pleased to hear that we now have a new menu in place with reduced prices and a larger selection for all palates!

It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will venture north again for another stay in the future.

Kind Regards
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews