We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Arbroath
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Stayed here on a golf trip to Royal Dornoch. The staff were very friendly and made our stay very comfortable, the food and the ambience of this historic building were first class.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanleyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    251
    84
    43
    18
See reviews for
109
464
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

4 golfers, stayed at the Castle for a night. The staff were very friendly and willing to have a laugh, Phil was more than willing to talk about his wine and whiskey selections. Superior room was very comfortable and what you'd expect in an old setting. Food was very good, well prepared and presented, a night in the bar with other traveling golfers telling stories rounded off a great stay, we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmgMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Inside and outside, the hotel itself has a very traditional Scottish castle feel to it. The bar has a very pleasant ambience with a log fire to help you unwind. The restaurant overlooks the gardens where traditional Scottish food is served under candle light in the evenings. Adjoining the hotel is a fantastic contemporary gift shop well worth a visit.

Within Dornoch Castle, the food was second to none. Rarely do I find myself being so adventurous when it comes to seafood but such was the quality.

And the service... the staff are to be highly commended, making you feel so welcome. Their knowledge of the food & wine and indeed Dornoch and the surrounding area was impressive.

We stayed in one of the castle rooms overlooking the gardens. Paid a little extra for a 3 day package, including dinner bed & breakfast and champagne on arrival, but this was very good value for money.

The room was spacious, well furnished and kept spotlessly clean at all times.

Dornoch itself is a beautiful, clean and active little village which gives you access to loads of other scenic villages in Sutherland and is only an hour or so from Inverness. The beach is magnificant and if you like going for nice walks, you will love Dornoch. Recommend you visit Dunrobin castle and see the falconry.

If like me you enjoy Golf, there is in my opinion one of the nicest courses in Scotland only a stones throw from Dornoch Castle - Royal Dornoch. You pay a wee bit more than usual but you will rarely get a chance to play on such a fantastic course so book well in advance.

It surprises me to see any negative comments for this hotel. Each to their own as they say - I say give it a go.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2009

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for our joint 30th birthdays for a long weekend. We desperately wanted a quiet getaway where we could relax, enjoy beatiful surroundings, eat good food and generally just recharge our batteries.

The hotel exceeded our expectations - amazing food, friendly staff, warm & welcoming atmosphere. Then there was our room - The Old Courtroom. We cannot possibly describe just how great it was in one review - you really just have to experience it to fully appreciate it !

There were also lots of "little things" that we really enjoyed like the small decanter of spirits topped up in our room every day (free of charge), the fresh fire that was built for us ready on our return to our room so that all we had to do was light it, and that you could sit be the open fire in the bar downstairs without being pestered to buy drinks (we recommend the fruit scones !).

The town is not exactly the liveliest, but that was exactly what we were looking for on a relaxing break.

We will definitely be back - hoping to make it an annual event !!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregandAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We had a wonderful New Year in The Dornoch Castle Hotel which is situated within a beautiful village which is very unusual for Scotland with it's light coloured stone buildings. We were superbly looked after throughout and the staff were exceptional. We stayed in the old part of the hotel and had a lovely room, which was charming and well equipped. The food was stunning and we thoroughly enjoyed the wine list!!! Dornoch is a lovely place to stay at new year as all the locals turn out to the street party, which includes the local piper at the top of the castle piping the new year in and there was then an excellent firework display. There are lovely walks including a fantastic beach and the scenery in this part of Scotland is very underated. A superb place to stay with welcolming fires and very friendly staff. We have stayed here before and will return as soon as we can.

  • Liked — The Charm & Character
  • Disliked — It's too far from home!!!!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

We have just had a wonderful Hogmanay break at the Dornoch Castle Hotel - and what a way to start the New Year!!
We arrived on Dec 30th and stayed until Jan 2nd, and from the moment we set foot in the castle until the sad moment we had to leave, we were thoroughly spoiled!!
The hotel is magnificent . The old building has been superbly renovated, and all the rooms and public areas including the restaurant and bar areas are of a very high standard and tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly and polite, helpful and hard working, and it is extremely well run and managed by the owners Ros and Col and their sons Simon and Phil.
The food in the restaurant was amazing and throughout our break we were given super choices with an extensive wine list to select from.
We loved walking out from the hotel straight into the little town of Dornoch and exploring the shops and streets, especially the Jail shop -an experience not to be missed.
Opposite the hotel is the old cathedral and only 5 minutes walk away is the golf course and the wide sandy beach which was a wonderful place to walk off the calories!!!!
We also had lovely short drives out , and explored the quiet areas around, including the Harrods of the North at the Falls of Shin, the Black Isle and the towns of Inverness, Ullapool and Dingwall.
The Castle Hotel has got us hooked, and we have booked again for February this year - we can't wait to return, and we have already reserved a room for next New Year.
We just loved everything about the hotel and location.

  • Liked — It was all wonderful
  • Disliked — Nothing bad
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DelLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2008

As a group of 4 people celebrating a 50th birthday, we would like to express how we thoroughly enjoyed this winter break. The staff were extremely helpful, accommodating and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant menu was superb and we felt the whole experience was wonderful We would love to return some time in the future and to reacquaint ourselves to this endearing, charming and nostalgic place. Thank you very much to all including Charlie the cat.

  • Liked — Very cosy and intimate for romantics
  • Disliked — Plug in sink was broken - only needed minor attention Not a complaint
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank simplyredEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
405 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
187 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
360 reviews
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Castle Hotel

Property: Dornoch Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dornoch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle is located in the historic town of Dornoch across from the stunning 13th century Cathedral, boasting stunning views of the town. The central position of the hotel makes it ideal for exploring Dornoch, home to the world famous Royal Dornoch Golf Course, which overlooks the breath taking golden sand beach. Dornoch is also well situated for those looking to explore more of what the Highlands have to offer. The historic Castle is built on the site of the original Bishop’s Palace of St Gilbert, who founded the Cathedral in the early 13th century. The building eventually sold on and in 1947 became a hotel after some extensive work, which maintain much of the character of the Castle as a stately, historic and comfortable home. The Castle boasts a total of 22 en-suite bedrooms situated both within the original castle and the modern garden extension. There is a variety of room types available including; standard, superior, deluxe and our award winning Old Courtroom. Due to the castle’s layout each bedroom has its own special ambiance, great care has been taking in creating a distinctive character in each bedroom. The Castle's restaurant has retained an AA rosette standard, through the exceptional work from the chefs. The malt whisky selection is second to none and can be enjoyed in the cosy stone-lined whisky bar with the roaring fire to protect you from the Scottish winds, in the summer the walled garden is the perfect setting to relax during the long summer nights. Coming Summer 2016: The Dornoch Distillery will be opening soon on the grounds of the Dornoch Castle Hotel producing 'Old Style' Whisky and Hand Crafted Organic Gin from scratch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dornoch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Castle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing