We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dornoch Castle Hotel staff made our wedding day extra special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
joburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dornoch Castle Hotel staff made our wedding day extra special”
Reviewed 22 May 2010

The Castle hotel was recommended to us by Highland Country Weddings (a real gem of a wedding planner) as we were looking to get married in a 'small village in Scotland'. We could not have wished for a better location. Besides the castle hotel being just across the road from the beautiful Cathedral where we were married, it was just perfect. The staff were all friendly and accommodating (biggest bouquets go to Simon, Ashley, Marie and Harmony) and everything about the place was traditional combined with the modern touch which we all so love (good water pressure, warm comfy beds, tea/coffee, wonderful food). The staff rallied around on the wedding day and accommodated the wedding planner, the stylist, and photographer who wanted photos outside, inside and all about the castle. The wedding dinner was exqusite - the food was prepared, cooked and plated to pure perfection. We cannot have our wedding day over again but we can live on the memories and have vowed to return their one day to celebrate an anniversary!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigi-global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are all delighted here at the Castle that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed making your Wedding day special.

It is comments like yours that make it worth while. We hope you will be able to visit us again in the future.

Kindest Regards
All at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    245
    78
    41
    17
See reviews for
105
446
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We splurged and got the Courtroom for two nights, and I'm glad we did (because the other rooms looked sort of plain). Our room was really neat, with a fireplace and great view. We loved it. The restaurant was also some of the best food we got in Scotland. Service was also really great.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments. The 'Old Courtroom' is a truly beautiful room and we are glad that you enjoyed your 2 night stay here with us, we try our utmost to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay here at the Castle.

We hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.

All staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caithness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2010

i have stayed at Dornoch Castle Hotel twice a year for 5 years with work. The staff and so friendly, welcoming and chatty. The food is amazing and reasonably price and the rooms are amazing especially the old courtroom and struie. it is wonderful to return to the hotel at night after working and sit and relax beside a real fire with a drink with friends or alone. A stay a the castle is a must for anyone travelling north of Inverness. Experience true scottish and highland hospitality - also handy to the golf course, beach and lovely unique shops.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments. All staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel try their best to ensure that all guests have a memorable and enjoyable stay.

Also our head chef Mikeal prides himself on using fresh local produce and we are glad you enjoy our food when you stay with us.

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
All at the Dornoch Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

On the strength of ther reviews on this site we booked a weekend at this super hotel .Our superior garden room was comfortable and we had no problem with noise. The food was first class as was the service. Philip and Simon and their staff have succeeded in creating a friendly welcoming atmosphere. We must particularly thank Marie who suggested we visit Duncansbay Head. The views were stunnning.In contrast John o'Groats was rather tired. If you want a photograph under the signpost you will be disappointed. You have to phone a local photographer to bring his along!!. Needless to say we made do with the alternative signpost painted in the jetty wall.
A great weekend in a great hotel. We will certainly book another stay soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsLarbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in a Superior Garden room.

All staff try their utmost to ensure all guests have a enjoyable and memorable stay and our head chef Mikeal prides himself on using fresh and local produce.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again.
From all at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Having toured the Isle of Skye and then the mainland of Scotland this was the Hotel we were most looking forward to staying in. The Website and Trip advisor gave very good reviews. Our first impressions were well founded. The reception area was part of the old Castle. The staff were lovely and they showed us to a very clean well appointed room in the extension. The hotel isnt huge it has the restaurant/breakfast area in the conservatory which overlooked a lovely little garden area.

The room was a little on the small side but not uncomfortable, we did comment that the toilet cistern and water supply to the sink were a little on the noisy side. Dinner was lovely we had 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast. The staff were extremely friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Once we got to bed we soon realised that the room was quite noisy, floor boards creaking toilet flushing etc. After a broken nights sleep we decided to speak to the manager in the morning, we explained our displeasure with the 2 rooms our part had been given. The manager very quickly offered us an alternative room in the main part of the building.They were both lovely extremely comfortable, clean and quiet, we all slept like logs ! we did appreciate the way in which the Manager dealt with the issue even offering to carry our bags to the new rooms. I do think the way in which people deal with this kind of thing can make or break your impression of a hotel.

All in all we had a fantastic time at the hotel ( the village was lovely too ) i would definitely reccomend it but you may want to ask for a room in the main part of the building.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments. We here at the Castle try our best to ensure all guests have a memorable and enjoyable stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed your 2 night break and also that any matters were resolved quickly.

Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future.

From all the Dornoch Castle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

Although we didn't stay at the hotel we went for a meal. I cannot praise it too highly. The welcome was friendly and efficient. We had not booked but that was not a problem. The food was absolutey wonderful and the price very reasonable. We had been to a 'posh' restaurant earlier in the week for my birthday and paid twice as much for inferior quality compared to this restaurant. I cannot recommend it too highly. An absolute gem!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jintyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Dear Guest

Firstly thank you for your very kind comments. We here at the Castle try our utmost to provide a relaxing and enjoyable experience for our guests.

We hope you can visit us here at the Dornoch Castle Hotel again.

Kindest Regards
All staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We stayed two nights at Dornoch Castle and were thrilled with the entire experience. The hotel itself is gorgeous, on a small street opposite Dornoch Cathedral in a small quaint town. The staff were beyond helpful, sourcing vegetarian food for us in the restaurant and for our early morning breakfast on the go when we checked out. Our room was lovely, with heated towel racks and nice sea kelp soaps & lotions. We were delighted to learn of the eco-consciousness of the establishment, as they had recently transitioned to a new greener heating system, which worked quite well in the bitter cold of mid-February. The bar is a gem, as is Simon, the man behind it. He will enlighten you with his passion for whisky and introduce you to new tastes to broaden your palette. His advice and wonderful stories were a highlight of our stay. You can sit by the stone fireplace to warm up with your drink, or walk outside in the courtyard if the weather permits. I recommend visiting the nearby town of Tain and the Sunflower Cafe for their great Chip Bowls. And no trip to Highlands would be complete without a tour of the nearby Glenmorangie Distillery! If we're ever lucky enough to be out this way again, we wouldn't hesitate at returning to Dornoch Castle hotel. It's definitely worth the price if you want something truly special and out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aleka333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2010
Dear Guest,

After reading your kind comments we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your two night stay with us at The Dornoch Castle.

All staff try their best to ensure guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay, and its comments like yours that really make it worth while.

We hope that you will be able to visit us again in the future.

Thank You!
Kindest Regards

All Staff at Dornoch Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
23.9 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Castle Hotel

Property: Dornoch Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dornoch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle is located in the historic town of Dornoch across from the stunning 13th century Cathedral, boasting stunning views of the town. The central position of the hotel makes it ideal for exploring Dornoch, home to the world famous Royal Dornoch Golf Course, which overlooks the breath taking golden sand beach. Dornoch is also well situated for those looking to explore more of what the Highlands have to offer. The historic Castle is built on the site of the original Bishop’s Palace of St Gilbert, who founded the Cathedral in the early 13th century. The building eventually sold on and in 1947 became a hotel after some extensive work, which maintain much of the character of the Castle as a stately, historic and comfortable home. The Castle boasts a total of 22 en-suite bedrooms situated both within the original castle and the modern garden extension. There is a variety of room types available including; standard, superior, deluxe and our award winning Old Courtroom. Due to the castle’s layout each bedroom has its own special ambiance, great care has been taking in creating a distinctive character in each bedroom. The Castle's restaurant has retained an AA rosette standard, through the exceptional work from the chefs. The malt whisky selection is second to none and can be enjoyed in the cosy stone-lined whisky bar with the roaring fire to protect you from the Scottish winds, in the summer the walled garden is the perfect setting to relax during the long summer nights. Coming Summer 2016: The Dornoch Distillery will be opening soon on the grounds of the Dornoch Castle Hotel producing 'Old Style' Whisky and Hand Crafted Organic Gin from scratch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Dornoch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Castle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing